We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are very satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Southbroom
Ranked #9 of 12 Southbroom B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We are very satisfied!”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Barbara and David magnificent duet both in life and in work. The rooms are very good quality, stunning ocean views, delicious breakfasts and of course very kind and helpful attitude towards guests. Near a huge choice of places for entertainment and sports. nearby are restaurants High luminance level. We liked the "Flavours" real French cuisine, I recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PashaVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pahl, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Of hundrets of accomodations that my friend and I (49 + 45, Germans) have seen during our travels all over the world, thiss place was without no doubt one of our top adresses. We've stayed about two weeks and not a single day was beyond superb. Dave and Barabara are really super friendly and helpful hosts and became good friends. Breakfast outstanding, swimmingpool clean, silent air condition, always warm water, clean rooms, great view etc. etc... No doubt, an absolutely MUST! Christian &Theresa

Room Tip: Every room is unique. The front side rooms are bright an right at the pool, the blue room is quit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiansworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluehorizonkzn, Owner at Blue Horizon Southbroom, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review that you gave us. It was wonderful meeting you both and we are so glad that you had such a wonderful time here in Southbroom. Our best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was traveling by car through South Africa with two other senior women and attempted to stay at a B & B in Ramsgate. They were full. They suggested Blue Horizon. Were we ever lucky! We had had a long drive and arrived at their beautiful home. David and Barbara were most welcoming and friendly. Our rooms were delightful and very comfortable. The beaches in the area are magnificent. We all had a wonderful time and only wished we could stay longer. The breakfast in the morning on the patio was the perfect beginning of the day. We couldn't have asked for a more fabulous place to stay. I only wish they weren't so far away!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeves_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our hosts David and Barbara gave us a lovely warm welcome on arrival, and instantly made us feel at home.
The local beach was wonderful, so quiet and great for long walks. The golf course in Southbroom is a short walk away and was amazing. Beautiful views and welcoming for a novice like me, as well as quite challenging for a regular player like my partner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt wonderfully relaxed within no time. We have already booked up for our second visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluehorizonkzn, Owner at Blue Horizon Southbroom, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you here and we really look forward to your return. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

What a wonderful place to stay and fantastic hosts.
We were enjoying ourselves so much we stayed an extra night.

The bedroom was beautiful, it was great to have use of the large guest lounge and sitting by the pool looking at the "Blue Horizon" in the evenings was so relaxing.

Breakfast was so tasty, huge and great variety, I had something different on each of the three mornings.

Babara and Dave accomodated all our needs fantastically, even arranging a takeaway for us and heating up plates one evening when we didn't fancy going out for dinner! I have never seen such service in a B&B. Thank you for such a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2trav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluehorizonkzn, Owner at Blue Horizon Southbroom, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is always so nice to hear from guests that they have really enjoyed staying with us. We would love to welcome you back here whenever you are passing. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Blue Horizon is in a wonderful, quiet location with fantastic views over tropical forest and the Indian Ocean. The rooms are very clean and spacious, with everything you could need to enjoy your stay. Our hosts, Dave and Barbara were wonderfully warm and welcoming and helped out with golf and restaurants in the area (there are some very good golf courses and restaurants close by). Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Blue Horizon was the last stop on our journey from Cape Town to Durban; it was simply THE best. Barbara & David gave us such a welcome – with tea & cakes would you believe!

The newly purpose built accommodation was absolutely superb, luxuriously furnished with immaculate taste and beautiful views. Blue Horizon’s breakfast is probably the best in South Africa, offering an enormous variety of flavours with each course (we always had three courses - but sometimes just couldn’t resist one or two more.

Southbroom is a lovely secure location with lush scenery & a beautiful beach. I think it boasts about ten golf courses within 20 minutes drive, but what made it for me were that four of the best restaurants in South Africa were within a 10 minute drive!

David & Barbara were exceptionally lovely hosts; we couldn’t have been looked after better; anything they could do to make their guests more comfortable they did. They were always happy to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbroom
2.3 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 24 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunny Rock
Sunny Rock
#7 of 12 in Southbroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Tree Colony B&B
Coral Tree Colony B&B
#1 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf House Guest House
Golf House Guest House
#3 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Southbroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Southbroom

Property: Blue Horizon Southbroom
Address: 11 Churchill Road, Southbroom, Margate, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Southbroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Southbroom 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a very warm welcome at Blue Horizon where our ethos is to give you a holiday or short stay to remember. Our luxury en-suite bedrooms are designed to offer you all that you require to enhance your experience with us, comfortable king size beds, doubles and singles with premium quality bedding. Each room has HD TVs, DVD players,air con, personal fridge, beverage tray and WiFi. Sliding doors lead out onto your own personal patio area with table and chairs. Guests can relax in a spacious lounge, on the covered patio area overlooking the large pool and with views of the Indian Ocean or recline in the comfortable loungers in the extensive gardens. Our famous breakfast is included in the room rate. Southbroom village has its own personal charm and provides wonderful walks through the local bushbuck trail or along the many Southbroom beaches positioned between two lagoons. You can play tennis at the local club or perhaps tee off on any of the seven nearby stunning golf courses. We can arrange very competitive golf packages for up to 6 players. There are a range of facilities within the village that offer yoga, pilates, powerplate and hair and beauty salons. Dinner can be enjoyed at one of the many international restaurants nearby. All activities can be arranged for you by your hosts including safaris at Hluhluwe/Imfolozi and Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Horizon Southbroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing