We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas with the folks...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Always loved the location... Awesome service by the service staff in the restaurant... Limited food selection...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. firstly we could only check in at 3pm after arriving at 11am, due to room servicing. this was different to other hotels where the room was made ready on arrival. our original room was a double bed room where we booked a twin bed room 5 months in advance. so the two of us got split up into different rooms, mine being the room for disabled persons.

this room is hardly ever used and before i moved my bags into the room it appeared that the room was used by the maids as a beauty touch up area. after the maids moved out i moved in. the rooms were very well equipped with great finishes.

finally the next day a twin room was available and after the rush of moving bags from my room to the new one, i left my sunglasses on the bed side table. I wouldnt expect to find them there after realizing where i left them 2 hours later but it would have been nice if one of the cleaners had handed them in. especially after seeing me move out when they came in to clean the room.

the food was very good, although a little expensive if you eat at the restaurant. the beach is about a 1km walk and it has a wonderful atmosphere and the waters are clean, being a Blue Flag beach.

overall, the stay was quite pleasant but definitely not "4 star" quality. the resort lacks the final touch to make it worthy as a 4 star hotel in terms of service and infrastructure (we had to ask for soap and towels for the last night) and this inconsistency was a let down because of the price we paid for our stay.

the caterpillar in my salad was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: rooms 400-410 are nice and quiet room 316 is next to the servicing room, very noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Our annual holiday we usually go to Mauritius but because we have a 5 month old baby we looked for a similar experience in South Africa. We found Mondazur [It is a Peermont Hotel and in the much sought after San Lameer estate] Subsequently we made arrangements well in advance [at that stage the Hotel was only 30% booked] for the 8 night stay and selected the half board option. We booked for 2 adults, 1 toddler and 1 infant. Because of the baby the Hotel arranged that they will allow us access to the hotel mircowave for the sterilisation of the bottles. The Hotel also indicated that a camping cot will be supplied for the baby and an additional mattress for the toddle. The Hotel also indicated that a free shuttle service run between the beach and the hotel as the hotel is not "to close" to the beach. Seeing that we have a 3 year old and a 5 month infant it made perfectly sense and because we do not see the see that often our intention was to spend most of the days there.

We flew from Johannesburg to Durban and drove down to Margate and the Hotel fetched us from the Margate Avis car hire.

Upon check-in the realisation set in that the sales talk and reality didn't match up:

1) The hotel booked us in a room which is quite small and have rather high and small steps to the bedroom. The Hotel suggested that the baby sleep on the bottom section with us and the toddler on the top section. If our girl, which is 3 years old, wanted come to our bed during the night she would have had to manage these steep steps. I think it was room 307..
They moved as to room 204 or 210 after they realised that their intial placement might have not been optimal. The size of the "new" room left much to be desired. If the cot and the bed for our toddle was made up there were *no* space left in the room. After raising our concern the Hotel put us in room 101. [first they indicate that we need to pay for the upgrade but the same time indicated that they can move the honeymoon couple into our room. This didn't made sense as why would we need to pay for the upgrade if it was easy for them to move the honeymoon couple into our room. Was it really an upgrade then....? They also suggested an inter-linking room. One adult with the toddler and one with the baby. What a holiday that would have been?
2) In order to get to the beach you have to hire a golf cart for R280 per day. The shuttle service they indicated is *very* infrequent as it is mostly used to fetch and return guests from outside of the estate. This expense - to get to the beach - would have added another R2240 to our holiday expense. Getting there the we realised that the beach is more than 1km away and not an easy walk
3) Going to swim in the swimming pool and thereafter dinner we realised that it is impossible to use the pram. There are so many steps that you have to carry it 90% of the time.... We believe this should have been communicated to us. Assume the Hotel accommodate a person with an injured leg or back it will almost be impossible for him/her to get around the Hotel.
4) At dinner we realised that we will only stay 1 night and cancel the further stay -- even it is mean that we fly back to Joburg and plan another holiday and go there instead. The Fillet was 2 pieces of rump on top of each other but the cherry on the cake was the Fruit Paflova.. It was meringue with jam on top......

Needless to stay we found accommodation -- after extensively searching high and low --and we were very, very glad to have left the Hotel. It resulted that we end up in a self-catering accommodation and we had to rent a car for the rest of the period but the cost greatly exceeded the benefit.

I believe the Hotel should have told us that it might not be suitable for us:
1) You need to have own transport [they fetched us from the car hire and hence did they know we will not have any]
2) It will be very difficult to use the pram at the hotel
3) The rooms are to small to fit the size of the family
4) No see view and not close to the beach

The accommodation at San Lameer leave much to be desired and it is in much need of renovation/maintenance.

Please note: it is not a hotel but rather a couple of flats converted into a hotel. Check out their website; all the pictures are blurred to give a non accurate representation.

I have raised my concerns to Peermont and San Lameer but I only received that generic email "we strive to be the best and thanks for the feedback...."

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
13  Thank AndriesHuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and was not that impressed at all.On arrival we were put in the wrong room, the air-conditioning and the safe did not work. The maintenance staff explained that they knew the air-conditioning was not working but they still put us in that room. We were moved to the room type that we were supposed to be in, in the 1st place. The rooms are nice, modern and the beds are very comfortable.
The restaurant is not good at all, the food selection is limited and the quality of the food is not what you would expect from a 4 star establishment. The only good thing about the restaurant is the breakfast.
What struck us most at this hotel is the lack of management, we never saw any management and it seems like staff were just doing what they want. We will definitely not stay here again and would not recommend it, there is much nicer and more affordable places in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Golfpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nts at the start of a rugby tour & loved every minute. We had a hotel room which was very spacious & modern. The balcony overlooked the water & was so peaceful.

The breakfast buffet was excellent but our choices at dinner were limited, due, I think to the size of our group. We had a buffet on the first night which was ok but the other nights we went to the beach restaurant which was amazing value for money.

The complex is beautiful and although we didn't play golf, plenty of people on our tour did & were delighted. There are plenty of paths for walking round the complex & access to the stunning beach. Security is very good, being surrounded by high electric fence & checkpoints at all entry points.

On site there is a very good library with internet access, a small shop & coin operated laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank excraftybakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I've been going to San Lameer for the last 28 years or so, and you can imagine, I think it's a pretty incredible place! I know that my thoughts may be subjective, but after reading the last horrible review of it, I thought I HAD to write and give my view.

San Lameer is a relaxation haven away from the world. For those a little nervous of visting SA, this is a very safe place, and a place you would feel comfortable letting your children wander around and discover on their own.

It is made up of a central hotel, and then lots of villas dotted around the place. They are only allowed to develop about 40% of the vast plot of land, so much of it is lush greenery, some as part of the 18 hole Golf course or 9 hole mashee course, the dune walk, or around the lagoon. As part of or near the hotel complex there is a restaurant which is ok, 2 pools, a Spar mini-supermarket, a clothes shop, a library, a children's jungle gym, a bar and various available sports (tennis, squash, a gym, pedalos for the lagoon).

There is a huge amount of wildlife that share the space with you including buck (impala and duikers), lots of monkeys, legovans, dassies and a huge range of birdlife. One of my favourite pastimes is to listen out for the kingfishers and try and take a photo of them catching fish from the lagoon :)

I agree that some of the accommodation might be dated, but some of them are brand new and outstanding with incredible views out onto the sea. And yes, there are cockroaches - but this is a lush area, and I think it would be near impossible to eradicate them. Saying that, I didn't see any on my last visit either. So...make up your own mind. They are well furnished normally, so you can eat in easily or at restaurants either in San Lameer or outside (there is a nice fish restaurant on the beach, although it is rather pricey for what it offers).

The beach is beautiful, and is a blue flag beach, so has standards to maintain. There are miles of gorgeous beach to walk on and I've never had any problems walking around there. The swimming conditions aren't perfect, but quite fun for jumping in and out of the waves, and there are also shark nets (for those who are a little nervous swimming with sharks!). There is a tidal pool for those who want a proper sea water swim and fantastic rock pools for children (and adults!) to explore - I've even seen a Ray in one of the pools!

Basically, this is a place that you come to regenerate your batteries. It is peaceful, natural and well equipped for coming and not moving for a couple of weeks. It is great for all ages - I loved exploring it as a child and love to go there now to relax and get away from it all. I hope that if you go, you can enjoy and love it even just a little as much as me!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank puppy4paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
96
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLameerHotel, Assistant General Manager at San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbroom
10.3 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
245 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
320 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
97 reviews
19.5 mi away
Oribi Gorge Hotel
Oribi Gorge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Port Shepstone
72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: R61, Lower South Coast Main Road | San Lameer, Southbroom, Margate 4277, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbroom
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa is situated on the iconic San Lameer Estate near Southbroom on the KwaZulu Natal South Coast. The hotel itself is situated on the banks of the tidal Umhlangamkulu Lagoon and Guests have direct access to pristine Blue Flag Indian Ocean beaches. The intimate hotel offers 40 rooms and suites elegantly decorated in contemporary Indonesian style. In this exclusive and secure beach and golf coastal reserve, guests are surrounded by beauty, luxury and tranquility. The centrepiece of San Lameer’s magnificent domain is the 18-hole championship golf course which has recently hosted the SA Womens Open. For the non-Golfer there are a myriad of facilities and activities on the estate to keep you occupied, not least of all the award winning Camelot Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondazur At San Lameer Hotel Southbroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing