We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming Pool & covered Verandah & sunbathing terrace, new shrubs added for privacy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool & covered Verandah & sunbathing terrace, new shrubs added for privacy
South Facing rear garden & private screened private balcony area at night Full equipped Kitchen & Utility room with an extra fridge/freezer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
Swimming Pool & covered Verandah & sunbathing terrace, new shrubs added for privacy
South Facing rear garden & private screened private balcony area at night
Full equipped Kitchen & Utility room with an extra fridge/freezer
One of two Ground floor twin bedrooms
Comfortable lounge area, 40' flat screen TV, DVD & X-box 360
Games Room in basement
1st Floor large master bedroom with en-suite, bath, shower bidet & toilet
Breakfast bar in fully fitted kitchen & Utility room (extra fridge/freezer)
Heated swimming pool 1.3mts to 2mts deep with Colour changing lamps
Sun shaded verandah with BBQ & seating area
Ground floor King sized bedroom with en-suite
Also luxury tiled bathrooms throughout
Fully Equipped Kitchen & utilty room with extra fridge/freezer
Olhao sea front with fantastic restaurants
Local beach at Fuseta
Lounge & dining room from stairs to 1st floor private master bedroom
Swimming with the dolphins at aquamarine
Large King size 1st floor bedroom with private en-suite/safe & private balcony
Swimming pool &  sunbathing area with covered Varandah
Boys holiday in the sun
Covered Eating area with Solar lighting & pool heating
Large Dining area seating 8-10 people
Manicured frontgardens
Spacious lounge/Diner
Built in fire into fire place
Grassed rear garden very safe for chidren
Manicured front gardens & new Palm trees
Play area for children
Local beach @ Pedras Del Rei, Isle of Barril
King sized down stairs bedroom & en-suite With Baby cot
En-suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Quelfes, Olhao, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Based on the details given on the Owners Direct and HomeAway websites we were expecting a luxury villa with all the incumbent amenities and comforts.  What we found fell far short of this!

These details stated 4 ensuite bedrooms, but only 2 of the bedrooms are ensuite, in the advertised "modern kitchen" kitchen cabinets and microwave are held together with tape, cabinetveneers veneers are peeling, bar stools are held together with plastic tie wraps and the hob did not work.  Furthermore there were no pantry items and no tumble dryer. The websites also advised the provision of bathrobes, a garden hammock and a fitness room/equipment, none of which were in evidence.

On reading the (clearly out of date manual) it quickly became clear that the air conditioning was on a timer and not active until 8.00pm. however with the inevitable and frequent power cuts this was not the case.  So during the 30+ degree afternoons we were not able to cool off in comfort inside. The water heater, also on a timer, also failed!  I guess we should consider ourselves lucky that Brian (across the road) was in residence and such a handy man. He was able to rewire both the hob and the water heater. There was, however, nothing he could do about the missing and damaged tiles in the pool or the pool losing water or the dirty and rusty unusable BBQ.

As for cleaning - the villa manager advised that she would be back after one week to change the sheets and (indoor) towels but wouldn't be doing any cleaning.  We each had one hand towel, one bath towel and one pool towel to last the first 7 days and one fresh hand and bath towel for the next 9 days with no access to the linen cupboard.

The villa manual stated that Daniel the pool man would visit on Wednesday and Saturday - we never saw him and the pool was never cleaned during our stay.

So, in summary, we did not get what we paid a premium price for.

The details on the websites have been updated to reflect some of my comments following an email to the owner, but I have had no response from him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather
Liked least: The villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Janet

I have just responded as I was away on business, and did not know of your mail.

As a form of Apology I will be returning to you a refund for you to enjoy a meal on us.

My sincere apologies, the Owner

(all the items have now been rectified)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an incredibly well laid out villa that works well for inside/outside living”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we've holidayed at Villa Castelos. We went with another family of four, so eight in total.

Whilst I've read and understand some of the frustrations from the negative reviews, none (in our view) are deal breakers.

After villa holidays for the past 20 years, what this villa has that none others have is a fantastic lay out. The open plan sitting and dining area meant we could all relax and eat together. A large dining table and 8 chairs (most villas have only 6) allowed us all to sit and eat together comfortably. The kitchen, sitting/dining room all have access out to the patio area which has table and chairs and the bbq. All overlooking the pool. From kitchen to bbq is 10 foot so ideal for moving food back and forth. So many villas have these areas but spread out, this has everything in full view so perfect for keeping an eye on the children regardless of where they are.

Yes, there were some niggles whilst we were there but the service we received from Sue (Villa Manager) was prompt and professional.

Eastern algarve and the local village of Moncarapacho (2 mins by car) is relatively untouched and very traditional offering incredibly good value compared to the west. Silves, Tavira, Olhau, the islands in the nature reserve - very Portuguese (fantastic) & well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and area
Liked least: reversing up the drive out of the villa
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a terrible Villa”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Having stayed in 5 star villa's all over the world and particularly with an English owner, I was extremely disappointed in the condition of this villa. I feel the photographs are very misleading as they bear no resemblance to how the villa is now. The kitchen in particular is appalling. The cupboard doors are all damaged / ageing from my photographs attached ( and shared with the owner). The villa internally was not clean. The basement very wet and dirty, as were some of the down stairs bedrooms. All the bathrooms where heavily lime scaled and not attended to - having worked in the manufacture of ceramic sanitary ware for over 34 years all you need to do is buy a proprietary cleaner obviously no thought has been given with this.The wi fi only worked as my wife insisted before we arrived. The satellite TV does not receive BBC etc. Only an IPTV system which we received during the visit having missed the Wimbledon final.The outside area had large amounts of rubbish and detritus everywhere at the back. There were very sub standard additions - outside pipe for a shower which didn't work plus pipework all over the sitting area with no thought to hide it from view. The flooding of the basement was due to sub standard work on the heat recycling system. The outside table had a large lump broken out of it. There was a graveyard of broken plastic furniture right to the back of the property. The property was over run by wild dogs in the evening. The villa is also part of an unfinished development since the crisis of 2007/8. The roads are not finished and also a large number of villa's in the same condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention of the agent who did her best. The Eastern Algarve is beautiful.
Liked least: It wasn't as advertised. Value for money wasn't acceptable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Hi Judith

I have already responded to your previous review.

Sorry you were disappointed in July when you visited our villa.

A lot of the defects have already been rectified by our maintenance team, and as I will be visiting the villa very soon myself personally, all the other issues will be corrected then.

The PS2/360X-box units were damaged by the water flooding into the villa when the Pool filter tank split open, and these have already been discarded by the maintenance team. I was not aware of this the last time.

I will contact you directly when I return from Portugal, and discuss this further and hope we can come to an amicable agreement.

Best regards

The Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quelfes hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: outside environment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JCVW
hull
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing villa”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at villa Castelos with our3 adult children for 2 weeks in July , the villa bore little resemblance to its description . It was difficult to find , we booked a taxi at the airport to take us there , the local taxi driver couldn't find the villa easily . The villa is located in a half completed urbanisation ( work stopped in 2006 ) there are numerous abandoned and half built. Villas , the roads are not finished , and stray dogs and cats roam about , none of this was advised in the listing .
The villa was not very clean , especially external patio and BBQ area ( BBQ full of ash )the bathrooms were not clean stained WCS and shower .
The "luxury kitchen" was in an appalling state , the cupboard doors were veneered which was peeling off and secured with masking tape .
The garden was overgrown and unsecured , stray dogs were wandering through.
The garden furniture was in an appalling state the table was broken , with mismatched chairs .
The listing advised 4 bikes , ps2 , X box , none of these were available . There was no English tv until 5 days into our holiday , missing World Cup and Wimbledon that we were looking forward to watching .
We feel that we were charged for a luxury villa ,,which was not what we received . I would not recommend this villa to anyone .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Hi recent visiter to Villa Castelos

Sorry you were not happy in our villa, we had the main pool filter tank split open, and totally drain the swimming pool, 3 days before you arrived, and I think the maintenance team did an exceptionally good job in opening the villa up in time for your arrival, as you can understand this caused no end of other problems.

The taxi driver must be new to the area, as the site has been there since 2000, so I can only assume he is not from the Algarve area. The 4 sets of directions I sent to you should be used to access the villa from the airport.

The roads and site I cannot do a lot about, this is down to the local council to improve, and in the present day they are not spending any resources at all on maintenance.

The cats & dogs are not owned by ourselves and again not really a lot I can do apart from to blame the inconsiderate owners who do not look after them, and let them roam around.

The villa is cleaned every time before a client arrives and during their visit, the area is a hard water and all the toilet bowls scale up, these are not dirty.

I cannot understand where the X-box, PS2, bikes have gone I will investigate this to see if they have been removed or stolen, I was not aware until you told me, thank you.

The English TV & Wi-Fi was reconnected as soon as the fault on the phone line was repaired, sorry caused by the pool filter tank splitting, and causing the phone line to break down.

I hope this can be taken as some form of apology as this is not the way we like to feel clients who have visited our villa feel after their holiday, this is the first review we have received, which has not been 5 stars.

Thanking you

The Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing