We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quelfes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pedras Verdes Guesthouse
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed in Pedras Verdes in 2005, again in 2009 and are preparing our next visit in May as well as in summer 2010. No need to tell how excited we are about this place : the rooms, the surroundings, the owners, everything is just wonderful. Waking up in a room-with-a-view, stepping into a spacious rain shower, getting a delicious breakfast and all the information you wish at the same time, taking a plunge in the pool, dreaming away in the hammack or on top of the roof viewing the stars... and all of this in peaceful surroundings, it really feels like paradise. Beaches are near, the "voyage" in the ferry is an extra romantic asset, restaurants are excellent.
The pedras verdes (green pebbles) do indeed bring you to a small paradise in the middle of nowhere, although not far from whatever your needs be. Owners are lovable people, friendly, helpful (even so much as to go and send our 8 kg of books by parcel post from the local post office). We regret the published review describing them as unfriendly, which in our opinion and experience, is impossible.
Highly recommended if you do not seek busy centers full of tourists, but peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girassol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed here a while ago and while the location, the rooms, the breakfast and pool were lovely, the service here was at best poor. The hotel is stuck in the middle of nowhere and you really need a car to enjoy your stay here. We unfortunately didnt have a car and were therefore reliant on the owners to provide a 'service' by ringing their bell during their stipulated hours. We kept this to a minimum as we felt uncomfortable asking them to do anything as their body language when we did made us feel like we were inconveniencing them. The worst of it all was on the last day of our holiday when we asked them to order a taxi for us to take us to the airport. As it was extremely hot in the mid-afternoon sun, we decided to sit by the pool (100 ft from the car park) until we saw the taxi and then grab our baggage from the foyer. And when the taxi did arrive we went promptly to gather our luggage. At this point however the owner (Andre?) came out and started to lecture us on the merits of time keeping and on the way we should treat people. He also told the taxi driver - who was embarassed and like us bemused by the whole situation - to charge us extra for having walked from the car park. We still to this day have no idea why he went off on this rant as we were max a couple of minutes late for the taxi. I have to say that this experience and this weird service completely ruined our holiday and we would recommend that you stay well clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazylazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This B&B is so welcoming and relaxing. The breakfast they provide was probably the highlight for me; fresh and varied, it was a fantastic way to start each day. Their hospitality extended to very clean rooms, good tips, and friendly dogs! The pool is another winner - we had it to ourselves one afternoon and it felt well worth flying over there just for those few hours of countryside relaxation. Andre also showed us that there are a number of small towns worth visiting to see the real local hospitality. However, if you're staying longer than a few days, I'd recommend a drive over to Seville in Spain for a more cultural experience. You definitely need a car to stay here - it's pretty remote but easy to find via the stones painted green along the tiny roads!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArdentGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My friend and I visited Pedras Verdes for a weekend mini-break. The accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The simple decoration and stylish flora and fauna provided an aesthetic delight. Andre provided ample information about what to see and do in the local area, though the driving directions were not particularly helpful. We had the pool to ourselves on the Friday and enjoyed lounging in the hammock and soaking up the sun. A little off the beaten track, the local towns were nice to visit but for some more serious culture a day trip to Seville would be required.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BisousCherryLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This is an amazing place. It is relaxed and you don't feel as a guest at a guesthouse. It feels like home. The owners are wonderful, sweet and very discreet. We had a miss-hap with our car and the owner took it upon him to help us, even made the connections for us to see a mechanic.
If you are looking for service and excellence this is the place to be!!!!
I can't wait to re-visit the place.

Emy Greece/USA

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luxurytraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We have just returned from a five night break at Pedras Verdes. We loved it. It was our last holiday before our first baby arrives in September, so we were looking for somewhere we could both properly relax. It might be the last time for a while.....Perdas Verdes was perfect for doing just that. A lovely little rustic guesthouse set in about 2 acres of land and run by a smiley dutch couple Andre and Muriel who renovated the building to it's current state with five (or
six) very tranquil guest rooms. In fact tranquility is what Pedras Verdes is all about. The overriding atmosphere is one of calm and quiet and serenity. Breakfast is served at your own little whitewashed table under the orange trees that dot the gardens. There's a good sized pool with a Buddha watching over it and whitewashed outbuildings have been brought to life with splashes of Fuschia.

In fact, the only sound that ever broke the silence was Indi, the owner's 'ball of energy' little puppy who could occasionally be seen sprinting around the gardens eating things..

As the guest house doesn't do lunch or dinner, you do have to drag yourself away from the pool and eat somewhere nearby but Andre and Murial provide handy maps and suggestions. We ate in Olhia a lot. It is a surprisingly un-touristy Portugese fishing port about ten minutes drive away. The food was fantastic. We have never eaten so much beautiful fresh fish in our lives. And the prices were all so reasonable too.

There are also great beaches within easy reach. You can borrow umbrellas for shade when you are out. All in all, we had the restful stay we so needed. We will be back. But I don't think we'll bring our
baby....

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
14
Reviewed 10 January 2005

Stayed here with my girlfriend in August. The rooms are all unique, and our was really nice. The rooms are basic, but quite spacious and the shower was a lovely big walk-in.

The scenery is wonderful and you really do feel like you are staying somewere special.

The service was excellent, the Dutch couple who run the hotel make you feel very welcome, and there are nice touches like the great home-made breakfasts.

We did not have a car. We thought this would be a problem, as it is in the middle of nowhere and driving distance from the nearest towns. It all worked out fine though, as they were happy to arrange taxis for us, which would even pick us up in the wee hours to take us back to the hotel!

would definately recommend spending the day by the lovely pool, slipping from pool to hammock...

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quelfes
12.8 mi away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#1 of 7 in Olhao
103 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
524 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
292 reviews
10.3 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
20.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedras Verdes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras Verdes Guesthouse

Address: Sitio da Boavista | Cp 658 T, Quelfes, Olhao 8700, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao > Quelfes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Quelfes
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4 Km from Olhao and 20mn drive from either Faro or Tavira stands Pedras Verdes Guesthouse. The house is typical Algarvean architecture as its best, well proportioned and wholly sympathetic to the calm surroundings. The real "pieces de resistance", though are the bedrooms; so simple, but quite sensational. They are all the same size in proportions (all with air-conditioner, safe, TV, fridge and its own private bathroom), but each has an individual theme: Baroque, African, Asiatic, Zen, Arabic or blue "Tricia Guild style." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pedras Verdes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing