We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta dos Cochichos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta dos Cochichos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We, two adults and one 2-year old kid, spent three days at the rural guest house beginning of November. The place is a great escape from the urban areas and concrete, and offers you a peaceful rest with a night sky full of stars featured with all luxuries of the modern life, e.g. pool, wifi, sauna etc. The facilities are newly renovated so there is nothing we can complain on. If you are not familiar with the region, then bring a GPS! We rented a car through www.farocar.com, the prices were correct, with no hidden charges and the full insurance is included. The hosts are great and if you enjoy nature, as I do, they will take the tame it takes to guide you through the whole garden with all kinds of mediterranean plants and fruits you can imagine which are available for the guests. Every building has a story which you can be told and if you just want to take it easy and do nothing the pool and the palm tree shade is there for you.
Tips: you will need more than three days if you want to avoid stress, i.e. if you want to be active. If you just want to take it easy on the farm, then three days could make it for you.
Do not miss the market in the nearby village of Olhao, especially the fruit offering from the local villagers or the fish market. If you like fish then eat it, since it is fresh and really tasty. Local sheep and goat cheeses are also a thing to try. Visit the chapel of Nossa Senhora da Rocha in Armação de Pêra and the fantastic sandy beaches that surround it. The beach of Faro (Praia de Faro) is also a loooooong sandy beach which is nice to visit if you like sun and sea. We also visited Tavira, which is another nice town on a river.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BK1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visiting Algarve as a couple during the month of October, looking for peace and quiet and plenty of exercise. Checking in at Cochichos Farm in Quelfes, certainly fulfilled all of our requirements and offered a great deal of local authenticity, far away from artificial resort life.

The first day, Mark and Paula took us to a nearby local restaurant in the middle of nowhere with the most amazing food and friendly staff. As this was off season and a lot of establishment were closed, we opted to have dinner there every night. The resturant kept the same high standard every time, serving simple but sublime locally produced food.

As we wanted to exercise we opted not to have a car, Paula helped us to rent bicycles, which enabled us to explore the surroundings at our own device. It is very feasible indeed to cycle to Olhao and back – only 11 km, even on the dirt roads. We sometimes took the local train from Olhao to visit the small charming towns by the Algarve coastline.

We enjoyed a week of utter peace in Casa da Nespera, located in a slightly secluded part of the farm. Our host certainly have put a great deal of time and efforts in decorating the flats which are spartanly decorated, with a personal touch and equipped with all modern facilities,

Every morning we enjoyed an amazing breakfast served by Mark and Paula on the doorstep with organic eggs from the farm, freshly squeezed orange juice or pomegranates and fresh herbs from the garden.

In spite of the weather, we found our stay at Cochichos Farm to be spot on what we were looking for, a piece of the genuine Algarve, great deal of rural charm and a warm and personal reception by our hosts.

We returned from our stay, relaxed, refreshed and with a very exotic images in our minds of the beautiful garden of Cochicho Farm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our Family (2 adult + 2 kids) stayed in Cochichos Farm for 1 week in September 2013. The owners have themselves been living in Central Europe most of their lives and are aware of the quality and things which central europeans like and appreciate to have. The rooms are spacious, clean and everyting is there from toaster to Microowen and our own bbq-grill :) Be aware that the location which is just outside of Faro is rustic and authentic. If you are more to the touristic scene (bars, shops etc..) this is not for you. We got a real sense of Portuguese life by venturing downtown in the harbour.
The pool as well kept and the children could move freely around the farm.
We recommend this place for families and couples.

Room Tip: We stayed at the "Figue Room" - perfect for a family of 4 pers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We (two couples and one child) stayed at Cochichos for one week. They have three self-catering apartments and breakfast is provided every morning. The apartments are bright and spacious. They have been recently renovated to include all modern conveniences, but the rural farm-style has been respected. There is a nice swimming pool right next to the apartments. The many beautiful beaches (Fuseta, Armona) are within easy reach by car.
What we really liked were the surrounding fruit trees and the (bio) vegetable gardens. They grow figs, almonds, lemons, etc., as well as tomatoes and peppers and other veggies. Moreover, they have their own chickens. This means that we could use all these organic vegetables and fruit as well as some eggs in our self-catering.
The place is charming and the owners are very welcoming. They speak Portuguese, English, French and Swedish!). Once a week they organise a BBQ for the guests. They were very helpful with recommendations of beaches and restaurants in the area. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the impersonal and overcrowded hotels of the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this organic farm during a week in July and it was just an amazing stay! Staff was beyond friendly and helpful and rooms nice and clean. There was a perfect little swimming pool and very close to Olhao where you can take the boats out to fantastic beaces on the small islands. We really enjoyed our stay and will sure come back again, and the fact that everything served for breakfast was organic doesn't make it worse either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quelfes
2.7 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#2 of 20 in Olhao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herdade dos Montes Bastos
Herdade dos Montes Bastos
#2 of 2 in Santa Luzia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta dos Cochichos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Cochichos

Property: Quinta dos Cochichos
Address: Sitio Ana Velha | Olhao, Quelfes, Olhao 8700-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao > Quelfes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Quelfes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta dos Cochichos is a family owned farm in a rural environment, but only 5 km away from the beach. We offer a comfortable accommodation in 3 independent self cattering cottages, in a natural and peaceful surrounding, framed by a big diversity of fruit and exotic trees spread over 1,5 hectares of land. During your stay, the farm is yours. Enjoy picking your own vegetables or fruit, for free.Only 4 km from the city of Olhão, and 12 km from Faro Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quinta dos Cochichos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing