We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hellifield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hellifield Peel Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hellifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely part of the world and a very comfortable place to stay. The interior of the castle is wonderfully eclectic, immaculately presented and the grounds peaceful and pretty. The breakfast area is beautifully presented. Although the bathrooms are modern and very nice, I agree with a previous comment that the water pressure was very poor however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there last month. We also thought the drive from there across to Robin Hood's Bay was absolutely picturesque. Of course I agree with all the other comments in regard to the owners - you can't help admiring their hard, hard work - an enormous achievement.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynde255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
185
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

after seeing this fantastic castle brought back to life by francis shaw on grand designs my husband and I promised ourselves we would stay there one day. well last week we did just for a night and what an experience it was. from the scenery around the castle to the brilliant breakfast, the large bedroom,(the hammerton) with the huge bed we couldn't fault it. we will deffinately be going back

Room Tip: just choose any you wont be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jj2hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After a long time in the planning (and waiting for some dates to open up ..) we finally got to Hellifield to share in the amazing world of Francis and Karen. All I can say is "it was worth it" .... the wait, the journey, the cost ... all well justified. The tranquil corner of Yorkshire overlooked by this remarkable structure is amazing.

Room Tip: ANy room is great - we had the Attic apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Second visit after 4 years, just as enjoyable as the first. Lovely location, beautiful castle and wonderful hosts. Old Bedroom - perfect, with everything we needed. Very much enjoyed the shortbread with strawberries, chocolates, wine and sloe gin. Bed is huge! Last time stayed in Square bedroom - also excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RFE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Peel Castle but it most certainly won't be our last. Like so many of the guests before us, the Grand Designs programme was the reason for us booking 2 nights in the Hamerton Room. On arrival we were welcomed by Karen who gave us a tour of the Castle showing us the other rooms all of which were immaculately presented. It was a lovely surprise to find so many little extra touches all to the same high standard as the accommodation. For me, the ultimate touch was having a cafetiere with fresh coffee available in our room - even 5 star hotels normally only offer instant! It was interesting to chat with Francis and Karen and hear about how they transformed what was an old ruin into the magnificant Castle it now is; they most certainly have achieved perfection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnmouth, Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Prompted to book the Penthouse Suite of this amazing property by a repeat showing of 'Grand Designs' on Channel 4 back in February, I'd waited 9 long months for this weekend, my other half's birthday treat. We were not to be disappointed.
It would be tedious to list all the reasons why this fully deserves 5 stars, it's not cheap but it's not hideously expensive either, so if you fancy a luxury treat you'll be hard pushed to better this. For what you pay you do in fact get very good value for money.
Francis & Karen are also lovely, very welcoming and interesting people with an amazing story to tell.
They do think they may move on in the next 4 or five years, so seeing how far in advance this is booked up for, I'd recommend you contact them sooner rather than later and marvel at what they've achieved here!

Room Tip: In for a penny...you've got to have the attic penthouse, with its stunning balcony on the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

There is very little that can be added to the other reviews. We stayed in the Attic Apartment for one night.The whole place is stunning. The views from the attic are stunning. We even saw a steam train passing in the distance! The cakes & chocolates etc. in the room are a very nice touch and the breakfast delicious. In the interests of balance....the water pressure in the shower was rubbish and some of floors very creaky (hope we didn't disturb the guest below too much) Knowing some of the trials and tribulations Francis, Karen and family had to endure to bring this fabulous building back into use just leaves you in awe of what they have achieved and an inspiration to others. Some of our fellow guests commented on how lucky they were to live in such a place..... luck played no part they deserve every piece of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellifield
2.2 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
13.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
5.6 mi away
Littlebank Country House
2.7 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#2 of 2 in Bell Busk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellifield Peel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellifield Peel Castle

Property: Hellifield Peel Castle
Address: Peel Green | Hellifield, Hellifield BD23 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hellifield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hellifield
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellifield Peel Castle restored from ruin to Castle and featured on Grand Designs in 2007. Four bedrooms with antique four poster beds are available for Bed & Breakfast and the "Attic Apartment" can be B&B or on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hellifield Peel Castle Hotel Hellifield
Hellifield Peel Castle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing