We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan & Barry couldn't be more helpful if they tried”
Review of Chapel Farm B&B

Chapel Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hellifield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapel Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Hellifield B&B and Inns
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jan & Barry couldn't be more helpful if they tried”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

From the moment we pulled up in the driveway we were greeted with a smile and an offer of a pot of tea, excellent after being on the road for 5 hours. We had booked an evening meal and had a wonderful 3 courses, fresh local meat and vegetables and a superb homemade dessert!
We were walking the 3 Peaks starting at 6:30am the following morning with a group of 30, most staying in Settle, and both Barry & Jan were up at 5am to cook us a full Yorkshire breakfast. A great start to what was to be a challenging day. Everyone was envious when we said we had a full breakfast and they only had a breakfast box!
It is clear that both Jan and Barry are dedicated to offering their guests a first class service and you will not be disappointed.
To both Jan & Barry, thank you from the South of England.
Mike & Teresa

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MON0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We've been to this B&B twice a year since it opened and we intend to continue to do so. A warm welcome awaits when you arrive with a hot drink in the lounge. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable with large king size bed. Everywhere is immaculately clean and bathrooms have lovely big fluffy towels. Flat screen TV in room and tea/coffee making facilities which includes delightful little home made biscuits and fresh milk, in a jug. Fabulous views front and back over rolling countryside with the added bonus of Hellifield cattle in the fields and chickens roaming freely along with them. Barry and Jan are the perfect hosts and the breakfast (which is included) is something to behold. Everything is locally sourced and freshly cooked to order and the 'full Yorkshire' just has to be tried (although my personal favourite is poached eggs on toast with huge golden eggs from the chickens outside). If you choose to have the evening meal then you really are in for a treat. Again, with all local produce and all home cooked to perfection (including home baked rolls), this 3 course dinner is superb and extemely good value. An added bonus is the fact that you can take your own wine. There is a good selection of DVDs to watch in the evening and plenty of books to read and there are village pubs should you feel so inclined (although it's so comfortable there you won't want to go out!). The B&B is perfectly located for all types of day out whether it be a country walk or drive or a shopping day in Skipton or Harrogate and Barry will provide a packed lunch should you want one. The room rates are extremely good and all in all this really is the best B&B we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many. If you never try another B&B, you have to try this one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekender98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We decided to head up to the Dales on a whim a couple of weeks back. Hellifield is a small village perched on the edge of the Dales and has a local station on the Leeds Carlisle line. Chapel Farm B&B was a short stroll from the station. It is perfect if you are looking for somewhere very quiet, laid back and like a home from home. Rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable, with everything necessary for a weekend away (TV, en-suite etc). You can use the downstairs living room to chill out, watch TV and read the weekend papers. The breakfasts are superb, everything you could expect and more, freshly made to order. Evening snacks were equally good. We were even ferried back to the station when departing as there was a seasonal downpour. Lovely place and truly lovely hosts. Oh, great value too!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannybackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We had a lovely stay at Chapel Farm, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.
Unfortunately the pub in the village was not serving food the night we stayed but on returning to the guest house Jan & Barry kindly made us a toastie.
A lovely guest house, would like to return.
Others guests staying said the evening meal was fantastic - can bring your own wine too!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misternesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

A delightful guest house. Little touches like the owner leaving a jug of fresh milk out for us to make tea in the morning, so much better than those little pots of UHT milk.
We will certainly recommend the Chapel Farm B&B to our friends

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryBearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australians in yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. The rooms were delightfully decorated and very comfortable. The views of the green fields and the country feel of the location were a joy to our Australian souls. We looked forward to our home-cooked breakfasts, with eggs the colour of the sun and sausages from the local cows! Barry and Jan were the epitome of hospitality and we thought the tariff very reasonable. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthites_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Chapel Farm is easily the best B&B we've stayed at. We had a very warm welcome from Jan and Barry and a cup of tea in the tastefully decorated comfortable lounge when we arrived. Breakfast was hearty and beautifully cooked. You could have your eggs cooked any way you wanted and then watch the hens that laid them pecking in the field over the wall. A spotless, newly decorated room with relaxing king size bed and a delicious home cooked dinner will ensure we return again and again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellifield
2.5 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
The Black Horse Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hellifield
64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wigglesworth
296 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Farm B&B

Property: Chapel Farm B&B
Address: Chapel Farm Gisburn Road | Hellifield, Hellifield BD23 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hellifield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hellifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Settle and Skipton at the gateway to the Yorkshire dales. Ideal for romantic weekends,touring,walking and relaxing. Locally produced food freshly cooked for Full Yorkshire breakfasts and optional evening meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chapel Farm B&B Hellifield, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing