We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Honeymoon Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“Magical Honeymoon Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This B&B is an amazing place. Peaceful and quiet in a beautiful location on the Island. The hosts(Christian and Lea) are wonderful people who genuinely love what they do. They create an exceptional guest experience. The house is kept meticulously clean while feeling very comfortable and inviting. The breakfasts were a delightful way to start our day. The hosts offer a delicious meal in a charming setting. They are very knowledgeable about the island and will make recommendations based on your interests. The Inn is very close to American Camp, a historic location on the island worth a visit. Special care is taken by Christian and Lea to make this B&B a unique destination. This was the perfect place to spend time together on our honeymoon and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The Heart room has beautiful territorial views and attached bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
108
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodinvile
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Thank Christian and Lea for a wonderful stay. We loved our little room (Olympic room). It overlooks the west side of the property with a lovely view of the garden, chickens and new barn with the Olympics in the back ground. Although the room is tight there is plenty of space in the walk in closet for day packs and luggage. Olympic room has a private bath across the hall which works out fine; just leave your shampoo etc. in the bath. There is plenty of relaxing space in the living rm. parlor and in the wonderfully bright kitchen which also faces west with beautiful views. There is ample porch space for outdoor lounging. We watched a lighting storm while on the back porch! Your breakfasts were wonderful. We will be making one of your baked egg dishes this weekend; thanks for the recipe!. I also appreciated the gluten free options. The B and B location is perfect. It is easy to zip west to Lime Kiln Lighthouse or the county park for whale watching. Trips back into town for dinner are 5-10 minutes. Oh and best of all after 4 days of looking we saw 2-3 DOZEN whales traveling up the west side from the county park right before we had to head back into town for the ferry. Perfect anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Bay, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to revisit San Juan Island on our 27th Anniversary as that is where we went for our honeymoon. The Olympic Lights was a must as we have stayed there over the years and really enjoyed the unique serenity of the Inn. It's so easy to relax in this setting. Flowers, scenic views and great wholesome breakfasts, the heart shaped biscuits and homemade jam are yummy. Christian and Lea are so knowledge about San Juan Island and the many things to do, if that is what you want. Just being there helps rejuvenates one's soul. You can just be and not have to do!! Read a book, take a nap, r-e-l-a-x.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own special appeal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

is the best way to describe Olympic Lights B & B. From the time you enter the gate, you find that you leave all the cares of your world behind. Harmony and balance is everywhere, from the stunning new barn, to the gardens, to the lovely calming furnishings within. Christian and Lea are master inn keepers and do everything to make your stay comfortable as well as memorable. My favorite spot is the huge farmhouse kitchen window that overlooks the beautiful gardens, the large chicken coop (for all the chickens who provide for the gourmet breakfast Lea and Christian serve) the many birds and dragon flies busy at work, and oh yes, the ocean and Olympics off in the distance. This is truly a place to renew your spirit and soul....I guess that is why I have been going back as often as possible since 1987. Lynnette

Room Tip: I really love the RA room because it gets the morning sun and is so cheery. If you leave the shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

After seven years' hiatus we finally made it back to San Juan Island, Friday Harbor and the Olympic Lights B&B. It was as if we never missed a beat. We felt at home at once. We first visited the island and the B&B in 1997 with our family. After that, just my husband and I would travel out to the island and stay at Olympic Lights. It became "our" retreat. We always marvel at how quiet and serene it is at the B&B. We are refreshed by the wonderful views of the mountains and waterways. Our hosts, Lea and Christian, are the epitome of graciousness. We can hardly wait for next summer so we can return. We will never let the years slip away again without a visit to the Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is by far the most private but all of the rooms have special features and all are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieka58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were first timer's to Olympic Lights and we will definitely be back! Lea and Christian have created such a welcoming B&B. They are so fun to talk with and the breakfasts were delicious. The other guests we met there were almost all return visitors and nice people we were grateful to meet. Everything about our stay was fabulous! Thank you for a special and memorable stay. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room on the main floor. I'd be more than happy to stay there again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

and our second stay was, if possible, even nicer than our first. The main house had been painted and generally spiffed up, there was a new, large coop for "the girls", the flock of fancy chickens who supply the eggs for Lea's delicious and healthy homemade breakfasts, and the garden is glorious, with Adirondack chairs set out for lazing about. The location, just across the road from American Camp is very much to our taste, well out of Friday Harbor, which has grown so much since we first came to the San Juan Islands. Horses grazed in an adjoining meadow. If you want some of the laid-back old island flavor, this is a great place to be. Lea and Christian could not be better hosts, and even entertained us, since we got to see them perform one evening with their marimba band. They are also very reliable guides to the island's restaurants and activities.

As in most B&B's, the rooms are devoid of modern "conveniences" - no phone or TV, though there is Wifi. In my opinion, getting away from those things is why we seek out places like this, and we hope to come back to more of the same.

Room Tip: If having a private, connecting bathroom is important to you, be sure to book the Heart Room, as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
4.9 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.6 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 146 Starlight Way, 5.5 miles south of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7152
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Olympic Lights Bed And Breakfast San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing