We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Heaven on Earth....”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the tree lined road to the charming 1895 farm house, to the gracious host, Christian and Lea, this was a wonderful start to our 10 day vacation. There was nothing I could or would complain about. Christian and Lea were most helpful with places to see and eat. We even got to see them perform in their Marimba Band, what a treat!! There were fresh bouquets in our room and bathroom everyday. Breakfast was wonderful. Lea is such a great chef...fresh eggs, fruit, fruit juice and home made biscuits every morning. We stayed in the Olympic Room overlooking the gardens and with a view of the water. We had our own bathroom that was very nice. The kitchen had the original wood burning stove and other unique furnishings throughout the house. I could go on and on about what a wonderful place this is and how Christian and Lea made everyone feel so a part of their family. I hope we will make this a yearly trip. Ron & Sylvia

Room Tip: Our room,The Olympic Room, was the smallest but had the best view. Even though it was the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
112
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Olympic Lights is beautiful in every respect. From the physicall beauty of the inn and the surrounding land and panoramic views, to the spiritual beauty that eminates from owners Christian and Lea. This is our second visit to Olympic Lights for my wife and I. We just decided that we are going to come back every year forever. Everytime we are at Olympic lights we feel welcome and well cared for. Christian and Lea's warmth and hospitality combined with the spectacular natural environment creates a sense of personel well being that should not be missed. Olympic Lights embraces you as you are, and you are free to soak up as much of the warmth as you desire. We were able to experience the company of our hosts as well as the splended guests that Olympic Lights attracts. We also had as much peace and quite as we desired. We have been to many different types of b@b establishements and small lodges but Olympic Lights is in a league of its own. Our stay was an experience of pure joy and beauty that we were able to carry back to our daily lives when we returned home. See you next year, Olympic Lights.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a distinct character and view. Read the descriptions on the web site to find th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time on San Juan Island. After looking at the other B&B's and vacation rentals in person that we had considered while looking online, we concluded Olympic Lights was the perfect place. We weren't disappointed - Christian and Lea are extremely hospitable and knowledgeable about activities and sights on the island. We stayed four nights; every breakfast was fabulous and egg dishes were prepared with fresh eggs from their chickens. We would love to stay again on a future trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heart Room, which has its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Christian and Lea are the most hospitable owners. I felt so taken care of by them and there place emanates love from when you walk in to when you leave.
Lea is a dynamic chef and healthy too. All homemade goodies. She even straightens up your room and changes the towels and we were only there for 2 nights. I didn't expect that to happen. Christian is very delightful and will share all the interesting places to visit around the area.
The grounds are delightful. The garden and paths through the property were fun to walk. Seriously a great haven. Some don't like being away from town but it is truly 5 minutes and worth the experience. I can't say enough about the whole experience. I'll be back, thank you both.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a hidden gem on San Juan Island! The bed and breakfast is located down a tree-lined lane at the south end of the island, by American Camp. The property is beautiful, with open fields, multiple flower gardens, and a chicken coop. Tons of hummingbirds around because of the bird feeders. :)

The house was renovated and in great shape. The rooms were clean with soft sheets and the bathrooms were very modern (ours had double sinks, always a plus) with good water pressure in the shower.

Last of all the hosts were super nice and accommodating. This was a great place, highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is the only downstairs room so I imagine it would be the most private. Our room (The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenwen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I first visited Olympic Lights 6 years ago. We've been aching to come back since and it was our pleasure to do so recently. We fell in love with this special place from the moment we turned down the tree-lined dirt road all those years ago. The setting is something out of Better Homes and Garden magazine with lush green grass, an immaculate garden and of course, a beautiful old victorian farm house that is the B&B. 'Old Johnson Farm' has so much charm and mystery with lovely little surprises at every turn. The rooms are quaint and cozy and it's very easy to feel right at home. One of our favorite traditions is to sneak out before breakfast and walk along the property laced with dew drops and wild raspberries along the road.

Then there is the breakfast! Lea is an awesome cook! She and Christian are very conscious of shopping local, and using high quality ingredients, several of which are from their own garden. They even have a handful of chickens on the property which provide fresh eggs for Lea's many delicious egg dishes. Truly the breakfast spread is all handmade right down to the biscuits and scones and is second to none.

While the scenery, food and house are all amazing, what really makes this place special are the Innkeepers, Christian and Lea. Olympic Lights is the longest running B&B on the island and Christian and Lea are masters of their craft. They pay extremely close attention to every detail to ensure an optimal guest experience. They're also very knowledgable about the island activities, stores and restaurants (they have menus on hand for most and have even called to make reservations for us!) But we're more privileged to call them our friends. You'll be hard pressed to meet two more generous, caring, and conscientious people. We have yet to find a better B&B in any of the many countries we've visited. Olympic Lights and the San Juan Islands will always have our hearts.

Christian and Lea if you happen to read this, thank you for your friendship and the magic you always help create for us on the Island. We love you both and are looking so forward to our next visit.

Frank and Meg Lowery

Room Tip: Some rooms have attached bathrooms, others have shared. If this is important to you it's somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegL0wery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If this B&B had an ocean view I'd give it five stars. But with ocean all around, a view was not necessary and their gardens were a delight. Excellent healthy breakfasts. Congenial and interesting hosts who, unlike some places, were not intrusive. But when we talked, it was quite interesting. We are experienced in the San Juans and observed how very helpful they were to newbies by plotting on a map key sight locations and routes. Enough good things have been said about OL B&B that need not be repeated here. They are observant and did many little things that were appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room; modest in size, nicely appointed, en suite bath, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
4.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
461 reviews
6.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
157 reviews
4.6 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
353 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
4.9 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 146 Starlight Way, 5.5 miles south of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7152
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Olympic Lights Bed And Breakfast San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing