We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Always Remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 10 December 2008

This was our tenth visit to Olympic Lights. Why do we keep coming back? Maybe it is the beautiful setting in an historic farmhouse amidst gardens and fields with views of distant mountains. Maybe it is the comfortable rooms that help us to get a good night's sleep. Maybe it is the comfortable living room with a fire in winter. Maybe it is the warm welcome from the hosts, who offer every guest helpful advice about what to see on this interesting island. Maybe it is the South Beach, one of the Northwest's best, that is a five-minute drive, or twenty-minute walk, away. Maybe it is the delicious breakfasts made from fresh ingredients -- the eggs are from a henhouse on the property. Maybe it is all of these, which taken together, make for some of the happiest times in our lives.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Heiligenbrunnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2008

We spent three weekends at the Olympic Lights between June and October of this year. After our first visit we knew that we had to be back soon!

Christian and Leah have turned an old farmhouse into a magical place of beauty, peace and serenity. The Olympic Lights is located near the bluffs and one evening we could hear orcas breath in the waters nearby when we came back from dinner.

The rooms are cozy, very clean and furnished with love for detail. Christian and Leah are such wonderful hosts and the breakfast simply amazig: Leah’s variations of egg dishes with home-baked scones, accompanied by Christian’s creative compositions of freshly squeezed fruit juices.

We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandRSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Olympic Lights B & B for a two nite stay in September (two nite minimums here) and could not have been happier. Located about 6 miles out of Friday Harbor, on the west side of the Island, the B & B is a converted farmhouse owned by Christian and Lea. The setting is wonderful: 12 acres of farmland with a beautiful view of the bay and great sunsets. Outside, a few chairs are set up where we enjoyed a glass of wine and views of the property with its garden, bay views, bird feeders and their resident chickens. There are 4 guest rooms; ours was the “Ra” each with its own bath. Three are located on the second floor and one on the first. The rooms are tastefully decorated all white with ivory carpeting. No shoes are allowed on the second floor-makes a lot of sense. Baths are good size, updated and nice shower. Towels and linens were changed daily. The breakfast was served in their large country kitchen and excellent: bananas & cream with blackberries, spinach quiche with gorgonzola cheese and tasty corn muffins; plenty of coffee and juice. We felt right at home with the owners who were quick to give tips on the Island’s highlights and local eateries. There was plenty of reading material available as well. No TV and no Wi-Fi; not a complaint just be aware. From their location, it was an easy drive to Lime Kiln Point and American Camp, two scenic parks on San Juan. We are frequent travelers, and very highly recommend Olympic Lights.
Note: They do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We return to Olympic Lights again and again and have been staying with Christian and Lea for over 10 years. They radiate peace and serenity and are generous enough to give small pieces to their guests to take home with them.

The breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are comfortable and homey, the views of Puget Sound and the Olympic Peninsula are some of the best on the island.

We always work up an appetite (although who needs to!!) for Lea's blueberry scones with a pre-breakfast walk over to American camp National Park to see the foxes, bunnies and bald eagles.

We can't receommend them highly enough as both hosts and (now) friends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank horsesofcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Leah and Christian are about as wonderful, accomodating and friendly a pair of innkeepers as you could imagine. Our room (the "Ra" room) had a beatuiful view out a bay window towards the water and mountains. The whole inn was well-appointed and immaculate, and the breakfasts were incredible (be sure to ask Leah for her recipes!) They recommended restaurants, sea kayak tours and places to bike, all of which were terrific.

We were celebrating our first anniversary, and could not have chosen a better place--close enough to Friday Harbor for easy access, but far enough away to be incredibly peaceful and quiet.

We could not have imagined a better stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericsternbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We had just a couple of days to spend in the NW after attending a conference in Victoria. Olympic Lights was a beautiful place away from it all! The view of the ocean from the country kitchen window in the morning at breakfast was awesome for us, from Nebraska! We lingered in the garden and slept like babies in the lovely Garden Room. Lea and Christian were lovely, kind and generous hosts. And the food . . . never the same dish twice, though I wanted it again. Everything was delicious. The hearty portions gave us a good start for our day of exploring the island.

We will be back again, this time with close friends. Carlynn and Larry from Omaha.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryandcarlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We stayed at Olympic Lights in early spring 2008 when the nights were cool and the days were touched with the warming breeze and swelling buds of a new year. We've traveled a bit and stayed in several B&B's, and we can say this was one of our most pleasant experiences. The quiet country setting, the beautifully restored old farm house, and the magnificent views of the Olympic mountains were healing medicine for our souls. The bedroom and bathroom were tastefully furnished, comfortable, and very clean. And the sitting room, with its wood-burning heater, was delightful and inviting. But most of all, we appreciate the sweet and sincere attention our hosts, Christian and Lea, provided, along with elegant home-cooked breakfasts. Our next trip to San Juan Island will certainly include another stay at Olympic Lights.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank MuchasSmuchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
16.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
4.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 Starlight Way, 5.5 miles south of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7152
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range: £95 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Olympic Lights Bed And Breakfast San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing