We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow at the Inn”
Review of Inn to the Woods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn to the Woods
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My friend and I rented a room here for 1 night on the way to the ferry we called and asked if they had another and were accommodated. When we finally arrived it was during a freak snow storm. Patty was upset we wouldn't get to see what she wanted to show me because of it. After we'd settled into the rooms and were looking out at the most beautiful view of the woods and lake out the french doors with great cup of tea let's see if if we can stay another night. When our host came to check with use on breakfast time he said yes we could stay another night, I grabbed my camera and shot dozens of pictures from the back deck because I wasn't leaving this night! The food was wonderful, the bed so comfortable and I loved the hot tub. The bathroom was a full size, rooms not crammed and full use of living area.

Room Tip: Forest room great view out all windows and doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a very quaint and quiet retreat. We are "city folk" and not used to a bed and breakfast (well, just one of us was and it exceeded that experience). Patrick took the time to give us a tour of our rooms (two). The rooms are decorated as if you were at home and not the "hotel" feel at all. Very comfy in this aspect. The rooms are warm and cozy with large beds and comforters and pillows. Direct TV is available for a sports nut like my husband who HAD to find the baseball game on tv when we got in the room. There is a Kuerig coffee maker in the common area (which has seats and couches to relax) as well as a mini fridge to use. Breakfast was served at 9am and was the best French toast we've eaten, complete with fresh squeezed OJ and fresh fruits. Our party stayed in two rooms--one was the Sasal Room which had the private hot tub in the woods. It was a "short walk" which was literally just 15 feet away up a small hill (slippery if you are barefoot). Hot tub in the woods on a crisp fall night. Very nice :) No sounds but, well, nothing. This was a wonderful experience. Only downside staying here was there was no cell service (but obviously this is not the fault of the hotel).

Room Tip: Go for the Salsal Room. The private hot tub in the quiet woods is worth it. Unless you are easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheodensQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nice location and our room was the largest( Forest Room) with very nice bathroom). Breakfast was good and nicely presented but not very unique. Inn keeper was fine but not very gregarious. A very good but not "great" place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We only stayed one night in the Salal room and enjoyed our stay there. The bed and sheets were very comfy. Spending the last night of our vacation in the private hot tub located just outside the room was perfect way to end it. The house was cozy and the host was great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our visit to Inn to the Woods was delayed because we missed the 5 p.m. ferry to Friday Harbor. I called Patrick from Anacortes to let him know we would be arriving late and he was very gracious and told us he would be awake and waiting for our approximate 9:30 arrival. As promised, he was waiting and gave us a nice tour of the common areas, reviewed the breakfast information and showed us to our room. Our room was the Arbor Room, separate from the main house, with a private balcony and hot tub (yum!!). The bed was comfy and the bathroom was very well-appointed with spa toiletries and guest robes. The common areas and the grounds were all very tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. We stayed two nights. Breakfast was amazing and totally different on each of the two mornings we were there. Patrick is also an excellent cook! His recommendations for dinner and tourist activities were spot on. He knows the island well!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the privacy of the Arbor Room. At night, we enjoyed our hot tub and the view of the stars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inntothewoods, Owner at Inn to the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! I really appreciate your taking the time to review the Inn, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Four friends visiting San Juan Islands shared two rooms at this cozy B&B. I really enjoyed my stay there. The living room was great to hang out when one's roomie retires earlier. Breakfast made by Patrick on two mornings was delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttshado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We found the Inn to the Woods to be a great find at a beautiful location. The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the food was delicious. We were able to sit outside on the porch which was very pleasant. The living room was very comfortable and stocked with many books for our perusal. The staff was very accommodating, and we felt welcome immediately. It was a little out of town, so it was very quiet which we liked. The only down side was there was poor cell phone coverage, but we were able to use the house phone for local calls. I'd easily recommend it as a great getaway.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a jacuzzi while the other rooms did. It was a little less expensive, so it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceandorbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
3.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
11.4 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
8.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
164 reviews
3.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn to the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn to the Woods

Address: 46 Elena Dr, San Juan Island, WA 98250-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range: £103 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn to the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn To The Woods San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing