We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lonesome Cove Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Juan Island
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed with some friends at Lonesome Cove this fall.
The cabins are quaint & right on the water with an absolutely gorgeous view. It was nice and quiet and would have also made for a great romantic getaway.
There were six of us and we had 2 cabins, one 1BR and one 2BR. On the 2BR deck there was a gazebo with a large table & chairs and another uncovered picnic table . The kitchen had everything we needed to make great meals. We all gathered there to eat outside one evening under the gazebo. It was a bit chilly but perfect for a small dinner party.
Our cabins both had wood burning fireplaces and the firewood was provided.
The caretakers were very helpful with recommendations on restaurants, groceries, hikes and other things to do like whale watching. While they were not hovering over us, they were around whenever we wanted something or had a question. We had many! They lent us a pair of binoculars so we could see the animals on Spieden Island across the water. They also encouraged us to visit their library, which is a small building with books, games, and other fun things that you can borrow.
All in all, we loved our stay. On top of everything else, the cost was much less than anywhere else we looked into. Especially any accommodation on the water with such an incredible view. The sunsets were amazing. I know this trip will be the first of many. What a find! We can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 has a great outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psulligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We chose Lonesome Cove because we had a boat that we wanted to moor and be able to use every day for fishing and whale watching. From that perspective the resort couldn't have been better. It is a great location on the island for quick access to fish and whales. The boat slip was literally feet from our room.

Our main discomfort, and the reason we probably wouldn't return, is the size of the rooms. They are very cramped. The closest thing I can describe is that we felt like we were living in a boat cabin. That is not necessarily a complaint, but coupled with the expensive prices I thought it diminished the value.

The only other gripe is that we stayed the two nights before they changed their rates. I tried repeatedly to negotiate with them but they held firm to their high season prices. That is totally within their rights to do and of course I had the choice not to stay there. That being said, I was a little annoyed that they couldn't compromise a little given the situation.

On a positive note - the staff was excellent. They were super helpful and knowledgeable about the local region. They pointed us towards the best fishing, gave us good information and contacts for whale watching, and we witnessed them help a number of folks with issues well after-hours. Can't say enough about the service.

All in all it is a nice setting and great location. Clean with friendly staff but cramped and not a great value for the money. You can probably do better unless you have a boat.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on a free standing room (like the boat house) instead of a room that shares wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Arrived with a large family after my son asked that we all get together and visit San Juan Island once again. Most of us have boated throughout the San Juan Islands for years but this would be a land stay. Have to say that I was so impressed with the cabins, location, huge decks and decor. Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful spot and relaxing place to be. One brother brought a boat so the private dock was a real plus if you want to fish.
Will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The setting is beautiful and peaceful... the cabins are quaint and clean. However for our family of teens, I don't think it's the right place for us or anyone who's considering a large family reunion or celebration (like a milestone birthday).

We stayed in the boat house and felt like we were constantly being watched by the owners/management. Our family travels together on vacation often and we've never felt so "watched".

If you want to quietly read a book and enjoy the scenes - then you'll probably love it here. I'm pretty certain I won't come back as there are so many other places in the San Juans to check out that are probably equally beautiful and more family friendly.

By the way, cellphone reception is almost non-existant (at least with Verizon)...if you stand on the dock, you may get a call through.

This place could be a good choice for a couple who want isolation and solitude. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

As we drove out the long dirt road surrounded by evergreen and cedar trees we remembered our camping trips from our childhoods. When the road opened to the resort we were met by the caretakers Kim and Karl with their friendly dog Otis. Not only is this a beautiful place to vacation but you can tell Kim and Karl truely enjoy their position there. They are both very knowledgable of the whole island and its attractions...not just the ones in the pamphlets. The cabin was perfect. Reminded us of history books of of the early 1800's. ( Converted to electricity of course). The fireplace was very romantic. Watching the ocean with the fire crackling behind you is awesome.
We have recommended LC to everyone and plan to stay there again soon.
Thank you Kim and Karl, for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

For 10 yrs we've travel to the San Juan Island to decompress from our crazy lives. We have found there is nothing better for the soul and spirit than stay Lonesome Cove.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

After being a regular visitor to Lonesome Cove Resort for about 18 years, I was a little unsure of what to expect when our wonderful host, Larry, retired in December. No Worries!

We arrived as usual and were welcomed by our new hosts, Kim and Karl Bruger and their silly dog, Otis. The Cove is still the same peaceful retreat it has always been. Newly painted sills and cabin names brighten the log cabins; Karl is busy planting a garden for herbs and other goodies that can be enjoyed by guests; and the grounds are beautiful.

On our last evening there, we were visited by Larry and Trudy and old and new joined together to sip a glass of local red wine and enjoy the wonderful view.

It was a great trip and, as always, we are looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Velvet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.3 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonesome Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Cove Resort

Property: Lonesome Cove Resort
Address: 416 Lonesome Cove Rd, San Juan Island, WA 98250-5511
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonesome Cove is a quiet 5 acre property located on the north end of San Juan Island. Our accommodations consist of 6 waterfront cabins that sleep from 2-6 persons. We pride ourselves with the most amazing views here on San Juan Island. Our emphasis is not to wow you with amenities but to create an atmosphere for you to unplug from the outside world & totally relax & connect with nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lonesome Cove Hotel San Juan Island
Lonesome Cove Resort San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing