We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
States Inn & Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tucker House Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
44
22
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
22
11
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2008

If you want to "get away from it all" this is the place to go. My partner and I came to stay to celebrate our anniversary. The owners offered peace and quiet and a chance for some stimulating conversation. While we were there their last ewe was due to give birth and the owners welcomed us to watch and learn. Neither of us had ever experienced a live birth so this was a special treat. Even more special was that th ewe had twins! Don't forget the carrots in the mini fridge for the Alpacas!
The beds were the kind you don't really want to get out of, the breakfast exceeded the expections of the most refined palate, and you just can't stay away from the endless supply of fresh baked cookies. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank C0pperfyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We are spoiled forever after our five-day stay at the States Inn and Ranch. The "fantasy" breakfasts were all made from scratch with many ingredients, grown on the premises. I especially appreciated their willingness to accommodate my food allergy issues. It takes a creative cook to come up with a gourmet feast for someone who cannot eat dairy, eggs and high fiber foods for breakfast. It required a lot of extra effort in the kitchen to prepare something delectible for me and at the same time, cook up a feast with other ingredients for guests without food allergy problems. Our stay at the ranch will go down as one of our most memorable experiences. We look forward to staying there again on another trip to San Juan Island.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bikingadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and loved it! The spacious, picturesque acres were thoroughly enjoyed in early morning walks when the alpacas, lambs and cows were just arousing too. Numerous blackberry bushes ( so big and sweet) were in bloom and we loved picking them and then storing them in the Inn's refrigerator for later consumption.

The breakfasts were sensational--individually served with great attention to presentation. Breakfast began at 8:30 each morning so all the guests gathered and sat together. Many great conversations and sharing of information, stories resulted. In addition, delicious homemade cookies and teas of all sorts were available throughout the day.

We stayed in the Nevada room which is the least expensive because it has no window. Since we were out all day or in the Inn's lovely windowed porch we did not mind and it was so comfortable for sleeping.

The hosts, Richard and Angel, were helpful and friendly but respected the guests privacy very well. A caring member of the staff took much time to help us with a minor medical problem.

We had our own car so it was no big deal being away from Friday Harbor. We really liked the quiet and serenity of the place.

It was a lovely, special time there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank community-builder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

The grounds need lots of maintenance. The Louisiana room was bright but small with no place to put luggage. The in-room bathroom was so impressively small you could barely shut the door when on the toilet. The sulfur water coming from the taps gave the place a funky rotten egg smell. I'd suggest Roche Harbor or Friday Harbor which are very scenic and where you'll need to go for food or fun anyway.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank sv_makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatesInn, Innkeeper at States Inn & Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2008

We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Ranch. Our ranch is a unique experience, a working ranch over 100 years old with completely remodeled rooms and suites. Our grounds certainly show that we spend more time cooking and working with our animals and vegetable gardens than our flower gardens. The Louisiana room is (as our web site states) a European style room with the sink in the room, and a shower and W.C. en suite. It is on the small side, to be sure. Not sure how to respond to the luggage comment, there is room for luggage, with a closet and luggage rack for guest use. Alas, our water does have a mineral content to it, and while it is wonderful for your skin, occasionally a guest finds it objectionable. We've had many people enjoy this room and request it upon their return. And sometimes people come to stay with us, only to find that they prefer the bustle of Fridy HArbor or Roche Harbor, that the natural peace and quiet here are not to their liking. We wish them well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Picturesque little farm in the middle of San Juan Island, perfect for getting away from it all. Very generous hosts who were there when we needed them, but otherwise left us in peace. The breakfasts are not to missed; the very best in home-grown and home-made cooking.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews