We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God but could be better”
Review of States Inn & Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
States Inn & Ranch
Ranked #19 of 24 San Juan Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2009

On the positive side the breakfasts are as good as people say and the highlight of the stay. Also the owners are very friendly.
The setting is very nice although the owners have let the grounds/gardens go, and they need a lot of maintenance and are not child friendly.
We had the Southwestern suite as we were travelling with twin 10 year olds. I think they are stretching the ‘suite’ terminology as we had a collection of rooms upstairs that we not securable from the rest of the inn i.e. there was no door stopping anyone walking in to the suite seating area, bathroom or locks that worked on one of the rooms. This may not be a problem for you but left us feeling a bit vulnerable.
The Water. As has been mentioned in other reviews the water does smell very heavily of Sulphur due to it being from a natural well/spring. This can be very off putting when taking a shower as the smell lingers on your body for a while. It is, however, very soft water and makes your skin feel good.
In conclusion the Inn could be an even better place to stay with a bit of updating and some grounds maintenance. Would we stay there again? Probably not, as I don’t think it’s good value, even for the San Juan islands.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete-and-Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatesInn, Owner at States Inn & Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2010

Thanks for your comments, we try to do our best and appreciate learning where we need improvement.. For your family, and for other readers, we have a few comments regarding your review.

We have good news on two points. There is a new water filtration system and the smell is gone! The Sulphur is being filtered out of the water.

This year we have hired a full time grounds keeper and are recovering and replacing many of our 20 year old beds. We have a new deer-proof cut flower garden just going into operation. Hopefully if you stop by again you will see that things have improved.

Most children love the ranch. We are sorry if your family did not find it so. We have chickens, eggs to gather, sheep and lambs, vegetable and herb gardens to view, alpacas to feed, and even pigs to watch. As well as walks for small and larger children alike. There are picnic tables for sitting outside. We are a working ranch so there are no Jungle Gyms or play sets. And we have no television, only books and games and the outdoors. That does pose a problem for some children.

We recognize the security concern with the suite entrance. The suite is up a private set of stairs with a sliding door at the bottom. While that door does not lock, each bedroom and the room have locks, providing security and privacy. We have been trying to figure out a locking mechanism that the fire marshal will approve on the sliding pocket door, but so far no luck.

As far as being a good value, the suite is one of our most popular units. There are no extra charges for up to 5 people. When you factor in the full breakfast, it is quite a bargain compared to a smaller suite in a local chain hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2009

This bed and breakfast was awesome. The rooms were nice, the entire place was clean and quiet. The service was also great. But the best thing about it was the food. Homemade cookies on the table all the time and the homemade ranch breakfast was like being at a 5 star restaurant. This is a great place for a single traveler, family or couple.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinj35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Stayed for 3 nights, with my wife, uncle and 2 children 2 & 5. I could not have wished for a better place for us. The kids loved the farm animals, the place is quiet and nicely located to Roche Harbor and English camp. The house is very nice and Angel, Richard and their team made the stay one of the niced B&B experiences we have had so far.
But be warned, the scones at breakfast are truly addictive!!! and then you leave and get withdrawl syndrome. Great place, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

After a really rocky start trying to get to San Juan Island, this cute little bed and breakfast really turned our island visit around. First, the people that run this inn are amazingly nice. We missed the ferry that would have gotten us there during the requested check in time and when I called to let them know that we were going to be really late, the owner was soo nice. She was really reassuring and made us feel very welcome despite our late arrival. We had the Rhode Island room which was cute, cozy and had an amazingly comfortable bed. The only minor issue would be that the water had a bit of a sulphuric smell to it. I wouldn't advise drinking it from the tap, but they do have a water cooler near the kitchen if you wanted a drink of water. I doubt that there's anything that could be done about that, but in all honesty, it's a very minor thing when you consider how wonderful everything else is. The absolute best part of our stay though was the breakfast. These people are some of the most amazing cooks that I have ever come across and the breakfast alone would have made our stay worth it. We had freshly picked strawberries with cream, the best scones I have ever had in my life, fresh juice, an amazing quiche, thick bacon, and very tasty potato wedges. All of the guests congregate at the same time to eat, and it's a very nice and comfortable setting to get to know everyone. I only wish that we had been able to get there a little earlier to truly enjoy the grounds to their fullest. If you love the bed and breakfast experience, you will truly love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP79DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

this place is wonderful, nice and quiet,comfy beds,polite and knowledgeable staff. we rented the cottage(as we had a 16 month old and 6 adults) and found everything to be to our liking. the food is excellent and wholesome,made from scratch. nothing commercial here and we love that!... we are defintly going to come back again and again. we loved frrding the alpacas and the sheep. they are friendly and are very happy here. the cinnamon rolls are to die for as is the rest of the food here. the ranch is about 10 minutes from friday harbor so if you need something its not far to go. i reccomend trying to shop at the local farmers market(wednesdays and saturdays in friday harbor) to get incredibly fresh produce and meats. this place is so great we dont want to leave....and cant wait to come back...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliFlowerchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

The States Inn is a real home from home. After meeting Richard we felt comfortable right after we arrived. Our expectations were exceeded. we went to states to celebrate and to get away for a while. We wanted to stay at an authentic B+B and the States is just that. Hard working hosts and staff. down to earth and clearly made us very welcome.
The montana room is ideal for a couple, quaint and roomy enough to unwind. The Inn is situated in an ideal location for exploring.
If you want gracious hosts, real cooked food and inspiring countryside then i reccomend the States Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My wife and I came up from Seattle for a long weekend at the end of May and had a lovely stay at States Inn & Ranch. Our hosts were very pleasant and accommodating, the grounds were interesting, and the location was just perfect. We stayed in the California room. It doesn't have real drapes (just sheer privacy curtains), but the stars at night and the view across the ranch made up for a little early AM sunlight.

Though we didn't see any whales on our whale watching tour, there were plenty of critters at States Inn to help ease our pain. In addition to the alpaca, chickens and sheep on the farm, there were lots of birds at or around the ranch. Breakfasts were first rate and made to order, so don't hesitate to tell the owners of your likes or dislikes. The States Inn & Ranch is just a short drive from the ferry terminal at Friday Harbor. The water is a little sulfur smelling, but it felt great on our skin and didn't seem to be used for coffee or anything, so it was not a problem for us. If you go, prepare to relax, enjoy your trip, and say hi to Lambo!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkeelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan Island hotels
5.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
6.2 mi away
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Earthbox Inn & Spa
#8 of 11 in Friday Harbor
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inn to the Woods
Inn to the Woods
#7 of 24 in San Juan Island
60 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to States Inn & Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about States Inn & Ranch

Address: 2687 W Valley Rd, 7.1 miles from Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8164
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the only Working Ranch and B&B on San Juan Island. Meet our Alpacas, Sheep, Horses and Chickens. Breakfast is a delight, featuring fresh local foods and our pastured poultry's eggs. 9 rooms and suites with private baths, also a two bedroom cottage with full kitchen. In our Country Store you'll find fresh baked bread, cheeses, Cornish pasties, fruit pies, ice cream and gifts, all local, all natural, all handmade from scratch. AAA ** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
States Inn & Ranch San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing