We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
States Inn & Ranch
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in San Juan Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lonesome Cove Resort(San Juan Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
44
22
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
22
11
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We had a delightful experience at the States Inn. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, with the only downside being a very small bathroom (admittedly, we could have had a bigger one if we chose another room). The hosts were very accommodating and friendly, full of little attentions (such as freshly baked cookies when we arrived), and the breakfast was amazing. We got to experience the ranch as much as we wanted too, taking a stroll on the property, interacting with the animals (feeding the alpacas was quite fun). Everything about the Inn was genuine, fresh, and homey.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfish604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is one of the best B & B values on San Juan Island. It is in a pleasant farmlike setting. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are gourmet. It is located close to the British Camp but still only a short drive into Friday Harbour for restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomarDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

The inn is really comfortable and away from the bustle of Friday Harbor, though it is a short drive. And since we were at the island to kayak, it was a great way to relax and get a view of the island that wasn't necessarily on the water. It was a pretty area, quiet, really get-away-from it all kind of place.

The rooms are small but comfortable. I don't like feather down pillows, and they have them there, but the beds were really perfect. The decor is not my taste, but for a countryside inn style, it's fine, and really serviceable. There are some nice touches. People feed the alpacas (not my thing), but it's nice to wander around the grounds and look at them. There's hot water for tea and cookies in the foyer, and a nice sun room that is also a good space for either breakfast or hanging out in the evening. There's a cute little garden and a small area to go for a walk. Conveniently, there's a laptop with an internet connection in the foyer as well.

The owners of the inn are very nice and helpful. They directed us to a good restaurant for dinner, and arranged for late check-in.

Breakfast was fresh and delicious, though one of us is a vegetarian and found the portions small.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

My wife and I have vacationed in the San Juan Islands each year for about ten years now. It is 'close' but gives you the feeling of being in a different country. "Island Time" I believe is what they call it. But I digress. Each year we stay at a different B&B, so this was our first visit to The States Inn and Ranch. It is on one of two main county roads between Friday Harbor and Roche Harbor. If you want to be able to just step out your door for a good meal and some night-life, then this is decidedly not your place. If you enjoy tranquil pastoral scenes, the sounds of birds, the ability to see deer, fox, alpacas, sheep, bald eagles and the smell of country air, then I would highly recommend the States Inn. The Inn itself is a somewhat rustic structure with comfortable common areas, nice rooms and a relaxed feel about them. One reviewer mentioned the water. The water used for bathing is from a well. The water is very "soft" and occasionally has a sulphur smell to it. Anyone raised in the country would recognize it for what it is. City-folk.... well, you are so accustomed to smelling chlorine in your water that you probably react to anything that is not remotely similar. Trust me when I say that the water IS safe but is something you have likely not experienced before. They do have purified bottled water for drinking and cooking purposes. The food is excellent, full breakfasts featuring local in-season fruit, egg dishes from the ranches' own chickens and many other items either made on the ranch or bought locally. My wife and I both enjoyed our breakfasts. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone seeking a quiet place to stay while seeing the San Juan Islands.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JollyGreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

On the positive side the breakfasts are as good as people say and the highlight of the stay. Also the owners are very friendly.
The setting is very nice although the owners have let the grounds/gardens go, and they need a lot of maintenance and are not child friendly.
We had the Southwestern suite as we were travelling with twin 10 year olds. I think they are stretching the ‘suite’ terminology as we had a collection of rooms upstairs that we not securable from the rest of the inn i.e. there was no door stopping anyone walking in to the suite seating area, bathroom or locks that worked on one of the rooms. This may not be a problem for you but left us feeling a bit vulnerable.
The Water. As has been mentioned in other reviews the water does smell very heavily of Sulphur due to it being from a natural well/spring. This can be very off putting when taking a shower as the smell lingers on your body for a while. It is, however, very soft water and makes your skin feel good.
In conclusion the Inn could be an even better place to stay with a bit of updating and some grounds maintenance. Would we stay there again? Probably not, as I don’t think it’s good value, even for the San Juan islands.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete-and-Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatesInn, Owner at States Inn & Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2010

Thanks for your comments, we try to do our best and appreciate learning where we need improvement.. For your family, and for other readers, we have a few comments regarding your review.

We have good news on two points. There is a new water filtration system and the smell is gone! The Sulphur is being filtered out of the water.

This year we have hired a full time grounds keeper and are recovering and replacing many of our 20 year old beds. We have a new deer-proof cut flower garden just going into operation. Hopefully if you stop by again you will see that things have improved.

Most children love the ranch. We are sorry if your family did not find it so. We have chickens, eggs to gather, sheep and lambs, vegetable and herb gardens to view, alpacas to feed, and even pigs to watch. As well as walks for small and larger children alike. There are picnic tables for sitting outside. We are a working ranch so there are no Jungle Gyms or play sets. And we have no television, only books and games and the outdoors. That does pose a problem for some children.

We recognize the security concern with the suite entrance. The suite is up a private set of stairs with a sliding door at the bottom. While that door does not lock, each bedroom and the room have locks, providing security and privacy. We have been trying to figure out a locking mechanism that the fire marshal will approve on the sliding pocket door, but so far no luck.

As far as being a good value, the suite is one of our most popular units. There are no extra charges for up to 5 people. When you factor in the full breakfast, it is quite a bargain compared to a smaller suite in a local chain hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews