We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back”
Review of Bach Wen Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clynnogfawr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bach Wen Cottages
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely coming back”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the chapel & took 5 dogs. The living room was nice and big (enough for the dogs), bedrooms were lovely, nice kitchen & utility room. It was an added bonus to have to extra w/c.
The whole cottage was perfect, if I had to change anything, it would be to have a tumble drier. I would love to come back in the winter, as it is situated in a beautiful place that would be fab in all seasons.
A big recommendation from me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Car381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chippenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just returned home after our week in The Granary at Bach Wen. The two boys (9) were able to run freely from the play area, to the field on to the beach totally safely. The area is Truely dog friendly with enclosed gardens for all houses and the fields at the front by the sea for them to run around and chase rabbits!
The cottages have been "done up" and are very welcoming, well equipped and warm.
The location is excellent for sight seeing. You do need to use the car but are not far from some fabulous locations..Snowdon, Anglesey, Canaerfon, Bedgelert and so on. We stayed and sun bathed at the site it was so beautiful and barbecued on the beach.
The bar area is running now, which is fun to use and meet the other residents.
Helen and Jonny are extremely welcoming and helpful. Hearing their plans this place will only get better and better. Will definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Two adults, two children and a big dog stayed in The Granary. Although we had a spare room it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nicola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just come back from a week at Bach Wen Farm, we stayed in Brockwell, nice 3 bedroomed cottage with open plan livingroom/kitchen and dining room, cottage had everything we needed, including nice big garden, pity the weather wasn't up to us sitting in it....but you can't have everything.
A car is essential as the local shop only stocks the very basic's but there s a Tesco just a few miles up the road, so its not a problem.
The owners Helen and Jonny are a very nice couple and very helpful, they are new to the game but seem to be doing a grand job, they are in the process of converting the barn into a residents bar/cafe/lounge and tho it isn't yet finished, it looks very nice, so if your up for a "staycation" give Bach Wen a try, don't think you will be disappointed......the cottages are dog friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nellybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Mill Cottage with friends and our dogs for a week between 16/02/13 and 23/02/13.
Between the four of us we have stayed at Bach Wen for maybe 8 out of the last 10 years and have been very satisfied with our holidays here.
I agree to some extent with the poorer and older reviews in so much as the cottages have "slipped" or have been in need of some attention as the years have gone on but this has not spoiled our stays. Yes they may need a lick of paint in places and I totally agree that if you are paying this amount of money you expect to be warm and comfortable no matter how cold it is outside.
What I can say is that the new owners do appear to be tackling these issues and there were definite signs of improvement (paintwork and new mattress)
Improvements that could be made given the price would include: cookware, eg casserole dish. Fit for purpose pans and knives. Controls for the cooker and hob are worn so it was guess work so these need to be replaced or repaired. there was no tumble dryer or washing line to dry walking clothes or dog towels. DVD player was new but the instructions related to the old one and so we could not watch films.
The new owners were extremely friendly and outwardly enthusiastic towards us and their intended improvements to Bach Wen.
On our arrival we soon realised we had left our dog's medication at home. They were extremely helpful and assisted me in contacting the local vet in order to arrange emergency supplies!!!! Excellent service in our opinion as they definitely went the extra mile to help us.
A previous review mentions the lack of walks and the owners lack of knowledge of them. I would say this is an isolated and beautiful location and yes you do need a car to get to places to explore, but if you do a bit of research and get out there you can find some wonderful walks with sandy beaches. In their defence and having spoken to them, the owners are new and may not be from the immediate area but are genuinely interested and appear to be making an effort to learn more about the surrounding area. For example: we stumbled across the "lost village" (Nant Gwrtheyrn) by bumping into an old man on a walk near Trefor who told us about it!!!! We shared this with them and they were genuinely interested. Definately a place to visit but not for the feint hearted on the twisting road down to it (but a nice cafe for a brew and cake before the drive back out!!)
In summary we love this place.... It is dog friendly which suits us... You do have to be prepared to go out and explore in the car.... The views are stunning... The cottages are improving as a result of the new owners.... We will be returning and would highly recommend you try it for yourself

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

;What a beautiful place to spend a holiday! Cottage was very comfortable and ideal for a week away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives.

Superb location with stunning sea views.

Can't wait to get back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds.UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We love bach wen...found it by chance when trying very hard to find dog friendly places...So glad we did - we first started going when we had just our dogs (who love this place like you cannot imagine) have since been with our daughter who is now 3 (and would probably like to never leave here) - the freedom the paddock gives is wonderful. the pebble beach /rock pools and water. And most of all the wonderful couple who always go out of there way to help & accomodate us.
there are amazing beaches near by also perfect for never ending running (dogs & children)
Oh the sunsets - like your on the edge of the world :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojonbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I love this place...and so do my dogs..what a wonderful place for a doggie holiday......the beach is a little rocky, but with care, it is fun...and just the convenience of it being on your doorstep is a bonus, and the sunsets are beautiful from here. I have stayed here four times...in various accommodations....up to now, the 'Stables' has to be my favourite.
highly recommended, even though perhaps a lick of paint is needed here and there...but who cares...the location is wonderful..
I hope the new owners are as accommodating as Barry was ...I shall definately be returning later this year, and I hope all is as good...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellieted12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clynnogfawr
9.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
373 reviews
9.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Eisteddfod Country House
Bryn Eisteddfod Country House
#1 of 1 in Clynnogfawr
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nefyn
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glan Morfa Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bach Wen Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bach Wen Cottages

Property: Bach Wen Cottages
Address: Clynnogfawr, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Clynnogfawr
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Clynnogfawr
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bach Wen Cottages Hotel Clynnogfawr
Bach Wen Cottages Wales/North Wales - Gwynedd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing