We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view!”
Review of Esperanza Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esperanza Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Esperanza Mansion twice. The first time we stayed in the Diamond Room, which has a beautiful view of the lake. The second time we stayed in the Pinot Noir Room, which is on the second floor in the back of the hotel. I would recommend the Diamond room as it is in the front, has the best view and does not connect to another room. (The Pinot Noir connects to the room next door and we could hear our neighbors clearly)

As for the restaurant, we only ate lunch there on the patio. The food was good and the patio view of the lake was gorgeous.

I have never stayed in the smaller rooms located next to the mansion, but they looked okay. One thing to note, this is your typical bed and breakfast. While the rooms were very clean, they are not fancy sheets or bedding. It is an older quilt and dated, but lovely, era furnishings. Our rooms both had four post beds and beautiful armoires.

The staff is always very welcoming and kind as well.

As for things to do, I definitely recommend a day trip to Hammondsport. It's a great little town right on the lake. You can park and walk down and sit at the lake as well. There are cute shops, a nice bistro and some local bars as well.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the front of the mansion if possible, one with a view of the lake. The conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    23
    35
    21
    20
See reviews for
19
73
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just went to the Mansion for a wedding. The backdrop for the ceremony was beautiful. The room the reception was in was big and well decorated. Only issue was how they set up the table with the guest book and table assignments. Seems like a bad place as you had to do to the back of the reception area and go back through tables of people to get to our table. The room was quaint. The porch offered great views. Breakfast was so limited we went to another restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We recently had the displeasure of staying at the Inn at Esperanza Mansion, While the location on a hill overlooking Keuka Lake makes for spectacular views, that's about the only good thing about the place. Well, to be fair, the bathroom had one of the best exhaust fans we've ever come across, but the lighting in there was pretty bad. So if a great exhaust fan is a high priority for you, you'll like it here - otherwise, probably not.
The first thing we noticed upon our arrival was the indifferent attitude of the young man at the desk. They don't wear name tags so I can't give a name. Most of the women were more engaging but no one really stood out as seeming to give a damn.
Our room was quite a letdown. There were dust covered cobwebs in most of the corners, the headboard was not attached to the bed but leaning against the wall so that we had to stuff a pillow behind it to keep it from hitting the wall every time we turned over, the sheets had holes in them and we had to brush what looked like dried grass off them before going to bed. The carpet is industrial grade with no padding. We requested a roll-away bed and had to ask twice before Mr Personality said he'd see if one was ready. Well, that turned out to be a mistake anyway because I could feel every single spring in the thing. I think it must have been as old as the mansion. The bathroom counter was large - lots of space to put your things but you'll need to sacrifice a towel to stuff along the shower or it will leak all over the floor.
The internet was extremely spotty, although it did seem much better on our last evening there.
The phone message light blinked constantly and we were told "they all do that". No they don't - we were traveling with two other couples and ours was the only one of the three that did that. None of the speed-dial buttons worked.
Noise from neighboring rooms was evident and the TV was old and small but not awful. Another thing they really need to improve upon is the security on the doors. There is just the lock on the door knob and a deadbolt but no safety bar like most hotels have now. They also need to train the housekeeping staff to lock the doors behind them. We came back after a day of sightseeing to find our door open but the bathroom door closed with the lights and fan on. We thought someone was using our bathroom. No one was but when we complained to the desk clerk she just said "oh it was housekeeping, they must have forgotten to close the door." We figured it was probably housekeeping but that doesn't change the fact that they left all of our things at risk of being stolen. In the end they did give us an acceptable discount but they didn't seem to see it as any big deal to have left the door open.
Breakfast was also a disappointment. It consisted of bagels, croissants, some very tiny and too-sweet muffins, cereal, yogurt and some apples and oranges. On our last morning there were fresh raspberries which were very good. There was coffee but I didn't see any hot water for tea. Would it break the bank if they put out a few hard boiled eggs or maybe some little packets of peanut butter so there's a little protein?! I guess so.
The inn could be quaint with a major renovation but right now it's just dirty and run-down and not nearly worth what they charge for it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. I'm not sure there are any good rooms here. We stayed in the inn but looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hatessquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bluff Point hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed overnight at the adjoining motel of the Esperanza Mansion. The colors along Keuka Lake are beautiful in mid October! The motel offers rooms under $200 with access to the mansion. Most B &B s are quite pricey in the Finger Lakes, and we were happy to find one within our budget. But, as the saying goes, "You get what you pay for." Our room, and that of our traveling companions, was on the lower floor of motel. From the outside, it is charming, and the view of Keuka Lake is outstanding. The interior of the room, on the other hand, is ordinary, with a small table, a king size bed, an average size television, and a noisy refrigerator. A curtain covers the wide french doors that are only a few feet from the bed. Anyone with a degree of light sensitivity will need to bring a night mask in order to sleep. An obnoxious bathroom deodorizer might also be a problem to some. There is also an issue with the water. While our friend had just soaped up in the shower, the water ceased to flow. He waited, encased in soap, for 15 minutes before he could rinse. Another patron in the hotel had the same experience. The guests felt that the sprinkler system, which was running, might have competed for the water supply, but the management denied it. The management insisted that the problem was that the inn was at full occupancy and too many guests were showering at 8:30 in the morning. (I never imagined that there was an actual resevoir at a hotel that could be completely emptied!) Our friend was given a 10 % discount on his room rate. But, on the up side, the restaurant served high calibre food, mostly small plates of delicious gourmet appetizers. And, the staff were very accommodating and friendly. They more than made up for the lackluster rooms. After dinner, we relaxed in the library with a few games of cards. The continental breakfast in the morning consisted of muffins, bagels, cereal and juice. Anyone aspiring to a low-carb breakfast had to go to town. We recommend Wagners, serving delicious omelettes in Penn Yan for $5.35. If you go there, we recommend asking for the upper rooms that do not have french doors, and remember to shower before 8 a.m.!

Room Tip: Stay on the upper level of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amhers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Esperanza Mansion is an excellent place to hold a wedding or a quick get a way. They are very nice. The food is great. An excellent breakfast buffet. The scenery is gorgeous during the summer but especially during the fall season. The rooms have an excellent view of Keuka Lake.
We had a fantastic time while at the Esperanza and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing Keuka Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This mansion sits atop a hill overlooking Kueka Lake. We stayed in the historic mansion though there are modern rooms now available in the addition. We stayed in the Chardonnay room. It was beautiful though furnished historically so may not appeal to everyone. I loved it and we were very comfortable and did not hear any noise from below or the other rooms except when someone was in the entry. We enjoyed dinner on the terrace along with a bottle of wine. Food was excellent and the local wine is always good. Room was somewhat expensive but did include a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: I would choose a room to the front of the house as you ha e use of the front balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRADSHAWRS612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Roads
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a lovely mansion with exceptional views of Keuka Lake in the beautiful Finger Lakes. That being said, the real star is the delicious, well prepared food.

The menu for our Rolling Through the Finger Lakes group was well received by our hungary group of motorcycle riders. The entrees included Lobster Ravioli, Chicken Francise, and Pork Loin with raspberry sauce. The ravioli was the standout dish of the meal, tender ravioli filled with moist lobster and cheeses. This was the best lobster ravioli I have eaten. Very yummy.

The meal started with some light, buttery rolls. I think I could have eaten a basket by myself - too bad they ran out so quickly. Then we were served a small cup of a hearty vegetable beef soup oozing with a deep meat flavor and savory seasonings. The buffet line was well stocked with the entrees mentioned above plus salad greens, rice, and steamed vegetables. Everything was well worth our long wait.

The wait staff had a bit a problem keeping up with drinks and clearing tables, but they appeared eager to please. Frankly, I think we overwhelmed the small number of servers with our 75+ people.

This place is high on my list of places to eat in the Finger Lakes.

Room Tip: Order the lobster ravioli!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whittwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff Point
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
20.6 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
380 reviews
18.6 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza Mansion

Property: Esperanza Mansion
Address: 3456 State Route 54a, Bluff Point, NY 14478-9714
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Bluff Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperanza Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1838, the Esperanza Mansion has represented the highest level of Greek Revival Architecture in the Finger Lakes region of New York state. It has now been fully restored to its 19th century splendor. Guests may choose from 9 Mansion guest rooms and 21 rooms at The Inn at Experanza. The Esperanza Mansion offers breathtaking views of Keuka Lake and the surrounding countryside, making this the ideal destination for a relaxing Finger Lakes getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Esperanza Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Mansion Hotel Bluff Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing