We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sinnington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
2 reviews
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Friendly and relaxing. Wonderful staff. Rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Food amazing! Enough said!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    70
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
69
163
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ness, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Fox & Hounds is easily found in the delightful village of Sinnington just off the A170. What a find! A lovely country pub atmosphere with a homely restaurant and shown to a comfy inglenook table - perfect for three.
The staff were very friendly and efficient, when I remarked on the beautiful 'hand thrown' ceramic jug for our water - before I knew it I was presented with a business card for the Fangfoss Pottery who made it. Picking up such attention to detail from a casual comment was exceptionally impressive.

The warm bread, oil and olives were delicious and then the beef briskett arrived with seasonal vegetables which was simply fabulous, expertly cooked and attractively presented -
in short - locally sourced food at its best.

The team were great, but Von in particular was so warm and friendly from the moment we arrived. We had endured a 48 hr powercut in our accomodation and came out in search of warmth and a hot meal. Clearly we were not the only ones and consequently the restaurant had been exceptionally busy - nonetheless one would not have known from the reception we received. A true hospitality professional, she smiled and made us feel so warm and welcome - an exemplar of real Yorkshire hospitality.

Many thanks Von and the team - we hope to return to Yorkshire in the future and will go out of our way to call into the Fox & Hounds again - added your postcode to Sat Nav favourites!

Kevin, Ina and Lucy Reid, Cheshire

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Director-Ness_Gdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-street
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We visited on a Saturday night having booked a table, the restaurant had a good atmoshpere and the tables were nicely spread apart, lovely large tables so plenty of room. Unfortunately the Rose wine list only has 2 different kinds on and not to my liking which is a shame.

The food was excellent although my steak was not nice but when I explained the staff could not do enough to replace the meal and the 2nd one was excellent!!

They have a seperate Gluten free menu and all staff were good at advising about different dishes and had knowledge of what was on the menu, the owner was lovely, she couldnt apologise enough for the meal that we sent back and offered free wine (which I declined but the throught was there)

I really look forward to visiting again as the food was good and the staff were so friendly and very good with the service, cant fault it at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georginah766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We took a bit of a risk taking a group of discerning friends to the Fox and Hounds on the recommendation of another friend and other reports. How ever we had nothing to fear as all the group were more than deligthed with the weekend. The warmth of the welcome and the friendliness of the staff, coupled with excellent food and accomodation led to an excellent weekend thoroughly enjoyed by all. With 17 in the group we had the opportunity, between us over two nights, to sample all the dishes on the menu and we were not disappointed by any of them. The rooms were comfortable and of a standard higher than one would expect from a country inn. We ate in the bar on the Friday night and the atmosphere was most relaxing and convivial.

We will certainly be returning, as will other members of the group.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byworth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is our third stay at this lovely country inn. The owners and staff are very welcoming and we enjoy returning to good accommodation, relaxing atmosphere and outstanding food and wine. We hope to return very soon and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent one night in this hotel. We were made to feel most unwelcome by the owner who was downright grumpy towards us. This tainted our otherwise pleasant stay as it was a nice enough place, the food was really good and the other staff were fine. Can't comment on the location as we couldn't get away fast enough the next morning after coming down to breakfast to find a bed sheet spread under our table to catch any food dropped by our toddler (this was done with no humour whatsoever) and being glared at while we ate. This followed my husband being given a telling off the previous evening for going through the wrong door and the owner refusing to crack a smile when we said hello. Feel thoroughly annoyed at giving my money to this snobby man. As with some of the other reviews on here, I would strongly advise against taking young children here as they are not welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Goatad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFoxandHounds, Owner at Fox & Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We own this country inn and live here. We take pride in keeping it to a beautiful standard and when parents allow their toddlers to drop 75% of their fish and chips on the floor it would be appreciated if they would offer to pick it up. There is a percentage of parents who take no responsibility for their children with either the mess or the noise they make.
On this occasion other guests found it incredible and my staff were so horrified they took a 'photo of the mess left on a brand new £3000 carpet! When no attempt was made to apologise for the mess or offer to clean it up we placed a freshly laundered sheet under the high chair ready for the breakfast time next morning. We were grateful we did it - there was porridge and jammy, buttered toast deposited on the sheet.
If parents can't see the mess their children make and the nuisance to other guests we will no longer accept children under the age of 12 years(unless they are known to us). Unfortunately the minority spoil it for the majority.
When a guest is shown the correct entrance to the restaurant but continually uses the staff entrance (3 times) they are asked to refrain from using the wrong entrance purely for health and safety reasons - it does state STAFF ONLY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We visited this establishment on 4th February having read mixed reviews. We were apprehensive as between us we had 3 dogs and had walked 3.1/5 miles. We could not have received a warmer welcome. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and there was a lovely log burning stove in the centre of the room which was instantly stoked up as we sat down.There was plenty of choice for a lunchtime menu and the food was very good. Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinnington
3.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
78 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
3.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
668 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Country Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Address: Main Street, Sinnington YO62 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Sinnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sinnington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox & Hounds Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive 18th-Century former coaching inn in one of the prettiest villages in North Yorkshire offers a warm welcome the minute you arrive. A little loop road just off the A170 Helmsley to Pickering road on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors, Sinnington has everything a classic English village should; a maypole, a village green, a 12th century church and ducks feeding on the beck that gently winds its way through the village. There are pretty riverside and woodland walks nearby.Its cosy bar, open fire and hanging hops deliver a rustic and relaxing atmosphere. There's also a contemporary restaurant that boasts oak tables and attractive lighting - ideal for those looking for that slightly more intimate affair. But wherever you choose to sit, you can be assured of a delicious meal.This is a destination for people who enjoy good food cooked well. The three chefs source many of their ingredients locally, making the most of the area's fine meats and fish and home grown vegetables and herbs. The meat is supplied by BW & DJ Glaves of Brompton by Sawdon, Scarborough and all the fish is delivered daily from the east coast. The inn has an AA rosette awarded for culinary excellence which has been maintained for the past 15 years. Typical dishes such as a twice baked Lincolnshire poacher cheese souffle and a platter of fish cakes, little fish and chips, king scallop, salmon and aspargus salad are popular throughout the year. Other options include a Roast breast and leg of Guinea Fowl, sage crushed potato, asparagus and oyster mushroom cream or confit Duck Leg, chorizo, roast pepper and pea risotto, orange and watercress salad. Chefs specials are also offered for both lunch and dinner. Lighter lunches and an early evening supper menu are also offered daily such as a chargrilled minute steak, fries, pepper sauce and salad or onion rings or roast belly pork and black pudding, chive mash, apple sauce and crackling .All puddings are homemade and if you're struggling to decide what to choose, there is an assiette of puddings that has a little bit of everything - puddings change on a daily basis.Fresh bread is baked every morning and the chefs like to try different ingredients for evening dinners complimentary bread and olive. Flavours have included parmesan and chive or chorizo and sun dried tomato. Sundays bring traditional roasts with a range of different options - including beef, pork and lamb served with a Yorkshire Pudding and also a fish and a vegetarian dish. Accommodation is available all year round, and has been awarded 4 Stars from the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fox & Hounds Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Country Hotel Sinnington
Fox And Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn Sinnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing