We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating staff and great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sinnington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Thanks for trying to ensure our stay - from selecting the best suited room, to providing a (very) early breakfast (with hot food on two days, to providing information on walks to providing a really super evening meal. A great find.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodbadinbetweeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Pretty pub in beautiful village. Had a very nice meal here and was a little apprehensive after reading some of the earlier reviews but the owners were charming. We ate in the bar as we had our dog with us and after having a peek into the restaurant think the bar is the nicest place to be with or without a dog so I would request a table in here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Friendly and relaxing. Wonderful staff. Rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Food amazing! Enough said!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Fox & Hounds is easily found in the delightful village of Sinnington just off the A170. What a find! A lovely country pub atmosphere with a homely restaurant and shown to a comfy inglenook table - perfect for three.
The staff were very friendly and efficient, when I remarked on the beautiful 'hand thrown' ceramic jug for our water - before I knew it I was presented with a business card for the Fangfoss Pottery who made it. Picking up such attention to detail from a casual comment was exceptionally impressive.

The warm bread, oil and olives were delicious and then the beef briskett arrived with seasonal vegetables which was simply fabulous, expertly cooked and attractively presented -
in short - locally sourced food at its best.

The team were great, but Von in particular was so warm and friendly from the moment we arrived. We had endured a 48 hr powercut in our accomodation and came out in search of warmth and a hot meal. Clearly we were not the only ones and consequently the restaurant had been exceptionally busy - nonetheless one would not have known from the reception we received. A true hospitality professional, she smiled and made us feel so warm and welcome - an exemplar of real Yorkshire hospitality.

Many thanks Von and the team - we hope to return to Yorkshire in the future and will go out of our way to call into the Fox & Hounds again - added your postcode to Sat Nav favourites!

Kevin, Ina and Lucy Reid, Cheshire

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Director-Ness_Gdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We visited on a Saturday night having booked a table, the restaurant had a good atmoshpere and the tables were nicely spread apart, lovely large tables so plenty of room. Unfortunately the Rose wine list only has 2 different kinds on and not to my liking which is a shame.

The food was excellent although my steak was not nice but when I explained the staff could not do enough to replace the meal and the 2nd one was excellent!!

They have a seperate Gluten free menu and all staff were good at advising about different dishes and had knowledge of what was on the menu, the owner was lovely, she couldnt apologise enough for the meal that we sent back and offered free wine (which I declined but the throught was there)

I really look forward to visiting again as the food was good and the staff were so friendly and very good with the service, cant fault it at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Georginah766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We took a bit of a risk taking a group of discerning friends to the Fox and Hounds on the recommendation of another friend and other reports. How ever we had nothing to fear as all the group were more than deligthed with the weekend. The warmth of the welcome and the friendliness of the staff, coupled with excellent food and accomodation led to an excellent weekend thoroughly enjoyed by all. With 17 in the group we had the opportunity, between us over two nights, to sample all the dishes on the menu and we were not disappointed by any of them. The rooms were comfortable and of a standard higher than one would expect from a country inn. We ate in the bar on the Friday night and the atmosphere was most relaxing and convivial.

We will certainly be returning, as will other members of the group.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byworth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is our third stay at this lovely country inn. The owners and staff are very welcoming and we enjoy returning to good accommodation, relaxing atmosphere and outstanding food and wine. We hope to return very soon and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinnington
3.3 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
3.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
255 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
646 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brickfields Farm
Brickfields Farm
#2 of 8 in Kirkbymoorside
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Country Inn

Address: Main Street, Sinnington YO62 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Sinnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sinnington
Price Range: £79 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox & Hounds Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive 18th-Century former coaching inn in one of the prettiest villages in North Yorkshire offers a warm welcome the minute you arrive. A little loop road just off the A170 Helmsley to Pickering road on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors, Sinnington has everything a classic English village should; a maypole, a village green, a 12th century church and ducks feeding on the beck that gently winds its way through the village. There are pretty riverside and woodland walks nearby.Its cosy bar, open fire and hanging hops deliver a rustic and relaxing atmosphere. There's also a contemporary restaurant that boasts oak tables and attractive lighting - ideal for those looking for that slightly more intimate affair. But wherever you choose to sit, you can be assured of a delicious meal.This is a destination for people who enjoy good food cooked well. The three chefs source many of their ingredients locally, making the most of the area's fine meats and fish and home grown vegetables and herbs. The meat is supplied by BW & DJ Glaves of Brompton by Sawdon, Scarborough and all the fish is delivered daily from the east coast. The inn has an AA rosette awarded for culinary excellence which has been maintained for the past 15 years. Typical dishes such as a twice baked Lincolnshire poacher cheese souffle and a platter of fish cakes, little fish and chips, king scallop, salmon and aspargus salad are popular throughout the year. Other options include a Roast breast and leg of Guinea Fowl, sage crushed potato, asparagus and oyster mushroom cream or confit Duck Leg, chorizo, roast pepper and pea risotto, orange and watercress salad. Chefs specials are also offered for both lunch and dinner. Lighter lunches and an early evening supper menu are also offered daily such as a chargrilled minute steak, fries, pepper sauce and salad or onion rings or roast belly pork and black pudding, chive mash, apple sauce and crackling .All puddings are homemade and if you're struggling to decide what to choose, there is an assiette of puddings that has a little bit of everything - puddings change on a daily basis.Fresh bread is baked every morning and the chefs like to try different ingredients for evening dinners complimentary bread and olive. Flavours have included parmesan and chive or chorizo and sun dried tomato. Sundays bring traditional roasts with a range of different options - including beef, pork and lamb served with a Yorkshire Pudding and also a fish and a vegetarian dish. Accommodation is available all year round, and has been awarded 4 Stars from the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Fox & Hounds Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Country Hotel Sinnington
Fox And Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn Sinnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing