We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short family break in Dover”
Review of Ramada Dover

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Dover
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitfield
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We got a last minute deal on Last Minute.com and managed to secure two double rooms joined. Got this for the great price of £60 per night for both rooms. This was a great result but, to be honest, if I'd paid much more I'd have marked the review down more. The hotel was fine and clean but the rooms were very cosy with the beds taking up nearly all of the room. The breakfast was extra for us but was reasonable enough at £10 per adult and £5 per child. It was a pretty good breakfast with the only omissions being breakfast cereal.

In summary then - it was fine but nothing exceptional. Had a feeling of a hotel geared towards over night stays for folk travelling on the ferries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picardwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks nice from the outside, and the reception area is pleasant. The breakfast in the morning was great, although I can not vouch for the restaurant (The Olive Tree) as I did not eat there.

My room was small, dirty and shabby. Pipes were exposed in the bathroom, and the headboard of the bed was loose. The TV remote was cracked open and the bathroom door was scratched to bits. All of this gave a terrible impression. The bed wasn't too comfortable either!

I am not one to complain unnecessarily but people should know that this is the kind of quality they should expect if staying in the Ramada Dover. Perhaps it was just my room (#250), as the reviews on Tripadvisor seem to be mostly positive. However, I would avoid if I were you. Not impressed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Matthew

Thank you for taking the time to leave me your comments following you recent stay. I am truly sorry that we didn't leave you with a good impression, however, your constructive feedback is welcomed. We have started a refurbishment program for all the bedrooms and the decor issues you highlighted are being resolved as part of the refurbishment.
Once again, I appreciate your feedback and if you are in this area again, it is my hope that you will be able to give us another chance so that you can see the improvements that are being made

Kindest regards

Neil Lomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed just the one night before getting an early morning ferry.
Perfectly splendid. Nice and quiet and friendly.
The wifi was a bit hit & miss; worked fine in the reception area, but not so reliable in the rooms even though we were VERY near reception.
2 gripes. We ate in the Octagon. Food was good, but I thought a bit pricey, And. the radiator is under the window, but with floor length curtains, so unless you fold the curtains up, the heat goes up between them and the window. Chop a bit off them!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefertari2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was a perfect pit-stop....stayed in a large room with all facilities provided (tea/coffee/hairdryer, etc). It was clean and spacious. Friendly staff, large reception area, plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KezHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank johnmleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PrabhavGupta, General Manager at Ramada Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitfield
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
3.8 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Dover

Address: Singledge Lane, Whitfield, Dover CT16 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > Whitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitfield
Price Range: £48 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Dover 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4-star hotel set alongside the A2 Dover Canterbury Road. The Ramada has 68 well appointed guest rooms, 2 conference rooms and a Grand Marquee for banquets and weddings. The facilities include the Olive Tree Restaurant, Octagon Bar showing Sky Sports on a big screen, Costa coffee lounge and mini gym. WiFi internet access and car parking are free . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Ramada
Ramada Dover Whitfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing