We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute "must" visit for food, atmosphere and service.”

​The Archer Public House
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Whitfield
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Due a change in ownership the Kitchen will be closing from this Saturday 26th September until the new owners take over with a view to relaunching the menu on the 26th October. Friendly Pub and Restaurant welcoming all. With excellent value and great tasting food, Live Entertainment. Free BT Infinity WIFI is also available.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute "must" visit for food, atmosphere and service.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I live in Aberdeen but have popped into this pub twice now when I have been in the area. Sam who served us was pleasant and helpful - the food was excellent and good value for money. A must is their Sunday lunch but don't forget to book. Vegetarians are well catered for. Will be back soon. Jackie Roy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knujdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    44
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very friendly, great atmosphere, great food. We were staying at Rolles Court The Archer was recommended and we were not disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dug89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food & drink”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We visited on Saturday 31 May whilst staying overnight in Dover before heading out to Calais the next day.

The pub was busy and friendly with a good atmosphere.

The food, burgers in our case, was really good & the homemade coleslaw and chips completing a great plate of food. All washed down with Guinness & Kronenbourg that was kept well in our opinion.

They put live music on the evening we were there, unfortunately we couldn't stay long enough to enjoy it.

Thoroughly recommended by us.

Helpful?
Thank Yamacati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another Great Pub in Dover”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This pub is in the heart of Whitfield and can be easily seen from the Whitfield roundabout (for those of you that are new to the Dover area of East Kent). Good beers and good food. A good pub for sport and has a good size car park. Good place for a quick pint before boarding the ferry to France.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Eating here was a pleasant surprise, to say the least. We had the garlic bread with mozzarella cheese for starters and then I had the homemade pie (chefs choice for stuffing) and both were really good. The staff was super friendly, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel7723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ​The Archer Public House also viewed

 

Been to ​The Archer Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing