We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The American Cafe & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing stay on the island”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My friend and I found the hotel's address on the TripAdvisor website. Robert and Simone, the owners, are welcoming and resourceful about the activities and tour guides on the island. After contacting Simone by internet, we booked a room, without any deception. The American Cafe & Hotel is located steps away from the ferry, and easy to find. The cleanliness of the large room was perfect. Also, the hot water in the shower was great. The cafe attached to the hotel is useful, offering tasty food. As both my friend and I were sick when we got to Ometepe Island, Simone took over her to take care of us. She was acting as a real mom for us, caring for our health. With Robert and Simone's assistance to book a tour, we had been able to spend 5 hours with a local guide to visit 3 different sites on the island, on the Easter's busy weekend. We highly recommend a stay at the American Cafe and Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and around a quiet garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    36
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
70
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at Ometepe for 2 nights only.
Owners treated us like family which at times was a bit too much, but again treated us with care. As we were on our honeymoon and mostly in very nice places, this was surely the cheapest place we stayed during our trip and the stay wasn't something to write home about. Very simple room, no window curtains, ok shower, only 1 room had an AC, we didn't manage to get that room.

So service was good, the place is clean. but really don't expect too much - in general could be that Moyogalpa don't have much to offer and this might be the best place in this small town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My wife and I decided on making a last minute trip to Nicaragua after staying a week in Costa Rica. Our first stop was Isla de Ometepe. We had no plans. When we got off the ferry we just started walking down the main street when we were kindly greater by Bob the owner. He offered to show us the rooms he had available and informed us that they won't be the cheapest but will certainly be the nicest. The entryway of white tile was immaculate and we found the same to be true with the rooms. The two rooms we saw were pretty large. They both had private bathrooms with hot water. We were not in the rooms very much but rather out in the dinning/sitting area the majority of the time. Simone, bob's wife, took care of us as if we were her own kids. We decided to hike volcán concepcion at 7:20 in the morning with a group that was supposed to be leaving at 7:30. Within ten or fifteen minutes Simone made us breakfast to give us energy for the hike as well as two ham and cheese sandwiches all packed up for lunch. Bob was extremely knowledgeable of the island as well as multiple other fun facts. He gave great recommendations especially when it came to tour guides and dirt bike/ scooter rentals (Robinson's Bikes which also I highly recommend) Bob and Simone were extremely hospitable and a pleasure to stay with. I would recommend this anyone coming to the beautiful Island of Ometepe

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLAranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed here at Robert and Simone's place for a couple of nights and we had a terrific time. Our room was huge with high ceilings, spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and we had air-con for which we paid extra. What really made this place special were the owners Robert and Simone who were a constant source of information and amusement. They were more than happy to organise activities for us and Simone is an excellent cook. We loved her breakfasts. If you're in Moyogalpa be sure to go and eat a burger at Yogi's and enjoy an evening chatting with the owner Jerry. The food is great and the company is even better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The rooms in this place are absolutely huge and very clean, and the bathrooms have hot water with amazing showers - really powerful. Also, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay on Ometepe. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at the The American Cafe & Hotel in May 2011. The rooms are massive with mutiple fans to keep you cool. The bathrooms were spotless as was the rest of the room and hotel. The owners were very helpful, attentive and friendly. Breakfast was cheap and delicious. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

If you arrive from the ferry keep walking on main street and two hundred meters further you'll see American Cafe and Hotel. The front of the hotel doesn't look very inviting but the rooms are huge although a bit bare. The bathroom is one of the bests we had in Central America: HOT water (instead of just warm), really clean, big shower and room to move in. The beds are double beds, not too soft, not too hard. And it was very quiet during the night. The rooms do get very hot (well ours did) but they do provide a fan for each person on top of the roof fan. The owners are very helpfull and a good source of information. We had some Italian food and that was a nice change from all the rice and beans! Do try the homemade chocolate cake!!!
Although the LP mention not to stay in this town, we found it actually nice and peacefull. It is a great place from where to explore the rest of the island, by scooter or quad.
The only negative comment we do have is the price ... it should include free wifi or free breakfast or aircon ...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#1 of 20 in Moyogalpa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 6 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca Magdalena
Finca Magdalena
#4 of 5 in Balgue
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Cafe & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Cafe & Hotel

Property: The American Cafe & Hotel
Address: Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The American Cafe & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Cafe & Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe
The American Cafe And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing