We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good starting point”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The American Cafe & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you choose Moyogalpa as your base in Ometepe, then this is definitely your best bet. It’s an easy walk uphill from the ferry. The owners are really nice, and they were very helpful in organizing transport around the island and onward transportation from San Jorge. And they make good breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location of this hotel is right on the main strip in Moyogalpa, yet all of the rooms are set back away from the street so none of the noise travels in. The rooms themselves are very large, clean,comfortable, and have lots of furniture for lounging around. The bathroom was nice and included hot water and a TP-flushing toilet(!!!). The couple that owns the hotel were super helpful, informative, and engaging. For the price, I'm not sure you'll find better. The only downside would be the flock of birds inhabits the tree just beyond the last room -- they can be a bit loud in the morning but not terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The room was large and pretty and there was hot water and flush toilets. We didn't have air conditioning, which was OK. There were two or three good fans and windows to the outside. It was nice talking with the owners who spoke English about the island and they helped us arrange an excursion for one of the days. There was Internet, but it didn't reach to our room so we had to use it in the common area. The door locking situation was a bit strange, but we generally felt pretty secure. The lock was just a push button on the knob and it didn't really work, so we just hoped for the best. Also, you were not allowed to take the key off the premises, so you had to give it to the owner or watch guard while you were gone. On the plus, there was always a guard, but on the minus, it seemed like anyone off the street could have said they were in casita 4 and he would have given them the key....
All in all it was a good place to stay and we didn't have any security issues so I would recommend it. You can always bring a lock to leave on your suitcase.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back are near a tree with REALLY loud birds that start chirping at 5am so mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The location is fabulous if you are arriving on the ferry from San Jorge. Rooms are huge, clean, and come at a very reasonable price, plus I slept really well during my four nights here as they are at the back of the building, even though it's on the Main Street.

It's a good base for exploring Ometepe, with a nice selection of bars and restaurants nearby when you return at night.

You don't really get to immerse yourself in the local culture, though, as the American owners don't seem to like speaking Spanish, which is a pity but that attitude seems to be common to many North American ex-pats in this part of the world.

I didn't try the food here during this visit, as I ate out with friends who stayed elsewhere.

But it was a very relaxing place to stay and the local security guys were very friendly at night.

Room Tip: All five rooms are at the back and the area is very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaran77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The American Hotel and Cafe is a welcoming place with the husband and wife owners. Had fun trying to guess the nationality of Simone. I'll leave that to you to guess when you meet her. Both have an engaging way about them, no doubt.

We stayed one night and wanted to go the Merida for the waterfall and the kayaks. Bob and Simone helped arranged a driver - the amazing Bolivar - to get there. The roads were pretty rough as this is the rainy season (which, coming from Vancouver, has a new meaning). But we got there and had an amazing time with the kayaks.

I would recommend the American Hotel and Cafe for the owners, the convenience, the big rooms and the value. The information that Bob and Simone provided was priceless!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The price of the rooms in the hotel are worthy. I tell you every penny. You can compare the price with "the best hotels" in the Island. So you can find good bed, fresh towel and good attention to you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we were on the island to look at property and unfortunately missed the last ferry out. this left us stranded with no place to stay. we chose the American Cafe & Hotel and it was the best decision we made that day. run by an American couple (Simone and Bob) it is clean, safe and the food is cooked to order. it's an open air cafe. the rooms were big for the price and we felt pretty lucky to have hot water as an added bonus since many places do not offer hot water.

the next morning we went down to eat before the ferry ride and discovered Cal didn't have his blood pressure medication used also to regulate his heartbeat. since we hadn't planned on staying the night we didn't bring any meds with us. this wouldn't normally have been a problem but that day Cal started having palpitations, became weak and felt really ill. we needed help fast. it was Sunday and of course if there were any pharmacies around they were closed. Simone thought quickly and took us to a pharmacist's house to see if they had any of the drug Cal needed. it was very early in the morning but Simone kept banging on the door until she woke up the pharmacist. she was also our translator because without her, even if we did find a pharmacist we wouldn't have known how to tell her the drug we needed. Cal was getting worse by the minute and now panicked because he thought he was going to have a heart attack. the pharmacist gave us - and i mean literally gave us without charging us for anything - the meds Cal needed. we walked back to the hotel, Simone gave him some orange juice, fixed me something to eat (i was a wreck) and he finally started feeling well enough to leave.

this is just one example of the people in Nicaragua. some places were not what we were looking for but everywhere we chose to stay was really great. if i ever go back to the island of Ometepe, we will definitely stay at the American Cafe & Hotel. i have to add the husband and wife who run this hotel are hilarious...the man has a great sense of humor and is very happy to be there. the atmosphere is very light and the accommodations are simple yet relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbiCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
0 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
0 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#8 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#13 of 22 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
0 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
326 reviews
0 mi away
Hospedaje Bullshark
Hospedaje Bullshark
#3 of 8 in Altagracia
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Cafe & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Cafe & Hotel

Address: Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
The American Cafe & Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe
The American Cafe And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing