We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to base your siite seeing on Ometepe!”
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Ranked #1 of 21 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Was a little worried at first when booked reservation due to the fact that we were depending on a driver to pick us up at airport (set up by Soma) and drop us off at ferry then catch ferry and then find a ride to Soma. No problems at all!!! Soma reserved a driver for us and he was there on time. Ferry and getting to Soma was no problem at all. Soma is just a few steps out of main town and is much quiter than other places in town but still close to dining and nightlife. Javier has a great wealth of Knowledge and information about Ometepe history and sites... Breakfast was perfect start of the day and a quick talk with Javier to set up our tours for the day or advise us on where to eat. Perfect place to stay and all staff was friendly including Tricky! Rooms were neat and cleaned every day. Would reccomend place to everyone. Thanks Javier and sorry again about the scooter! HAHA!

Room Tip: For a little bit more $ request upstairs cabana with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagwood1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

I can not say enough good things about Hospadaje Soma, the host, Javier and his staff! I was greeted at the gate by Javier and quickly shown to my room. Immediately, I felt like a part of their quaint family!

My room was extremely clean and the property was beautiful... not to mention the hotel dog, Tricky, and the two cats that were here to keep you entertained when you're not out exploring the island!
Hosadaje Soma is just slightly outside of the main city of Moyogalpa. For me I enjoyed the quiet retreat after a long day of exploring. It is only a short five minute walk into town.

There are so many things to do on Ometepe, so make sure that you leave a sufficient amount of time to enjoy all it has to offer! I only spent 3 nights here and wish I had more time. I hiked the the Volcano Conception, visited, Ojo de Agua, Charco Verde, and Playa Santo Domingo. Ojo de Agua is a MUST see and getting to these places is easy. You can hire a taxi driver for the day, rent a motor bike for $25 a day or a bicycle for $5-$8 a day! There are plenty of ways to experience Ometepe,s beauty AND be active at the same time!! Javier or the host of Soma will help you to organize any activity that you wish to do!!

One Warning: Moyogalpa means "place of the mosquito" and they are not lying!!! Make sure you bring some strong mosquito repellent or you will not be very happy!!

Overall, I am planning on coming back to Ometepe, staying at Hospadaje Soma and leaving more time to experience everything this magical island has to offer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfingshakastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A wonderful place on this splendid island, Hospedaje Soma has a calm, relaxed ambience. The place is beautiful, clean and well-maitained, with a spacious garden - perfect for those who wish to unwind after a day of activities on the island. The staff here are also great. Javier is extremely kind and professional, and a great source of information regarding the various activities available on the island, and the girls that work in the kitchen are all friendly, adding to the whole welcoming vibe that the hotel provides. The hotel rooms and cabins are all spacious and comfortable and I thoroughly recommend you stay here. I planned to stay for just a few days and ended up staying for 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arran c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Beautifull and well maintained cabins and hotel rooms in gorgeous garden setting which is well kept. The cabins are spacious, clean and have a large porche where you can sit at night. The central area has internet, drinks and books to read. The breakfast is okay and essential, the good thing is you get a big bowl of fruit on top of your order of eggs or granola/yoghurt. In all, a good price/quality, and good restaurants around for your lunch and dinner. The downside is the distance to Altagracia y areas like Balgue and Merida.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLindhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Loved our stay here for 2 nights...the private cabin offered us privacy and the staff were very helpful with places to eat and activities...renting bikes from them was also a great value and the staff planned our bike trip for us...self serve bar with beer & soda were fairly priced...it's proximity to the ferry port makes it an obvious choice for Ometepe!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Ometepe is so tranquil and beautiful and Soma captures this entire vibe. Please only go there I'd you want to relax and enjoy your neighbors and surroundings. Javier was so kind. The honor system with drinks is great and the small walk from town makes it quiet and serene except for the roosters in the morning. We love this place so very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mersea1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was positively surprised about the Hospedaje Soma during my stay in Nicaragua !
Warm welcome and superb service, very spacious and clean cabana in a beautiful garden, delicious breakfast with fresh fruit.
The staff is very helpful to answer any kind of question, organize your stay on the island; on top of that they are very knowledgable about the area.
I can certainly recommend Soma to anyone who wants to visit Ometepe island.

Room Tip: Go for a cabana in the garden, they have a big terrace too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan_Poels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
22.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.3 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
418 reviews
9.2 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range: £6 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. We have a variety of accommodation types available to suit the needs of every traveler, including our spacious cabins, rooms with private or shared bathrooms and a 7-bed dormitory. Our rooms are placed throughout a lush garden setting, giving Hospedaje Soma a relaxed, tranquil atmosphere. All accommodations come with free breakfast served on our spacious communal terrace. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the mainland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing