We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned, stay here at your own risk...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly
Ranked #8 of 14 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Be warned, stay here at your own risk...”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Me and my partner stayed here last November. The place is nice downstairs, hammocks, a little restaurant. Basic rooms, but a good price. We were put in one of the rooms upstairs, which was unfinished- made of carton board- floors and ceiling, but clean so fine.

Had a couple of meals here and we found the food good value, tasty and the man (the older guy) very friendly and nice... until something went wrong.

After our first night's sleep, my husband and I woke up to go on a tour we booked the day before, of the island. I heard an almighty crash from the adjoining bathroom and opened the door to find my husband shocked and shaking- he had gently lain one hand on the sink as he was brushing his teeth and the whole thing had come crashing down around him, smashing into pieces and narrowly missing his foot. We were both really shocked that the sink had obviously not been cemented in and was loose like that. If it had smashed and hit his foot, our trip would have been over.

We told the owner and he didn't even apologise. In fact, he asked us to pay for the sink!! We tried to explain that we had paid for a room and in exchange should have been given somewhere safe to stay. It was not our fault that the sink in the room was unfinished. No one told us to be careful in there. The man disappeared and the cleaners were sent up to clean the pieces away. Then the man's son came up, barged into our room and started shouting at us and threatening us saying we had to pay. My husband sent me to go and get help from an english speaking tour guide, someone we had met the day before, who worked opposite the hostel. I went to get him and the son tried to block me leaving. I left anyway and the son and his mother said they were going to call the police. I said I would like the police to come, as I was genuinely afraid the son was going to hurt me and my husband.

The tour guide agreed to help us and came back with me to the hostel immediately. The police had arrived already- there were four of them standing around and talking to the owners and my husband. The police didn't ask us any questions at all and were generally completely unhelpful. My husband even showed the police and the owner a sink in a room next door to ours and the sink, again, wobbled like crazy as it also was not fixed in. Finally, our tour guide said the easiest thing was for us to pay something so we could get on with our trip. So we paid them for our night's accommodation (as we'd always agreed to do, in spite of the accident), and another $20 US for the sink. The guide told us to look everyone in the eye and say thank you and leave.

We paid, smiled, thanked everyone and left. I was pretty shaken by the whole experience and my husband was livid that we'd had to pay.

The tour guide told us that they don't deal with Hotel Aly because they know lots of people who have had various problems with the management. I even heard someone say the police get called there a lot and that their son has a reputation of being aggressive,

Obviously, we would not recommend this hostel. It's cheap- if you stay there and nothing bad happens, you'll be fine. But if something goes wrong, you're in trouble.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LilTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
3
11
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The Hotel is situated really well, close to the harbor, shops and restaurants in Moyogalpa.
They have two types of room, private with bathroom (10$ per person) and private with shared bathroom (7$ p/p). We stayed in the cheapest and the rooms are very small, very basic, not spotlessly clean, but ok. Its fine for the price.

The food at their restaurant is a little pricey, but the food is fine enough.

Laundry is 5Cordobas a piece.

At first the old man - dont know if he is the owner or....? - was so nice. Like a nice gran father and we had a really god impression of the place and of him.

But when the check came!! Horror!... We had had 4 drinks (doble, each 20C according to the menu), but they had charged us 12 drinks!!! They tried several ways to make us pay, first they said it was because the drinks were double, but the price for a double said clearly 20C in the menu, so that didnt work. Then they said we had asked for Rum Gran Reserva, when we had actually ordered the cheapest of all, and finally the man yelled at us really angry "they can just get it for free then!!" and then he left like an angry little child. In the end we just agreed for them to charge us two extra drinks (even though we HAD NOT gotten these drinks at any time). But the check was still wrong, the math was not correct, so we had to sum it up ourselves and then we finally paid.

We we left the old man did not even say good bye, he just turned his head. That is very very BAD service and a terrible business behavior.

We would still recommend the place, but watch out when they get you the bill.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emilowitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yazzaeu, Asistente del Gerente at Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Best friend,

First let me say that I understand your discomfort that had at that time.
We sincerely regret very much that situation. And we ask our apologies for mistakes. He called attention to the person to prevent this situation from happening again.
After reading your complaint, I proceeded to see what happened with regard to payment that was made to ask someone else and told me that you will check the bill again and consult him before charging if it was correct and you were agree.
So I think that you as client should also be honest and responsible to make your complaint. For my part I thank you for criticism which is well accepted, and for sure we will work to improve these drawbacks.
Yazzin Aly
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I have been to this hotel a couple of weeks ago. It is very close to the port of Moyogalpa. The hotel has a familiar style. The price is low and the quality matches this. The staff is friendly and helpful and they serve good priced meals as well. For the people who do not want to spend much money but still want their own room it is a good option. At this moment they are improving a lot as well with a tourism project.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman6687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I guess its ok...ish for $8 per person (for private room with ensuite), but having actually been in the room we´d rather pay more and have something nicer.
The cockroaches weren´t too bad, but the ants were everywhere (walls and unfortunately occasionally in the bed, were not).
If you´re there just one or two nights I think you can put up with it for the price...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yazzaeu, Asistente. at Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Google Translation
Nuestras disculpas si observo hormigas en nuestro hotel.
Nuestras habitaciones se limpian todos los días y de forma inmediata que se retiran los visitantes.
Lo que sucede es que algunos visitantes en vez de ordenar comida en nuestro restaurante o en vez de comer en las mesas que se encuentran disponibles en nuestro hotel: comen en las habitaciones y eso lógicamente y rápidamente atrae algunas hormigas. A muchos turistas les gusta mantener galletas azucaradas y algunas otras cosas que atraen a las hormigas como en cualquier parte del mundo. Es por eso que en nuestra política está establecido que no se permite comer en las habitaciones. Pero independientemente de eso, yo le aseguro en un 100% que nuestras habitaciones se limpian diariamente y de forma inmediata después que nuestro visitante se retira del Hotel. Nuevamente nuestras disculpas y muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moyogalpa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I should have looked a little bit more but i was convinced by the sign on their door: "There are no strangers here. Just friends we haven't met". Bad choice. The owner was too eager to get customers so he put me on one of their rooms upstairs... that were still under construction, unfinished and made of carton board so the bed would shake when someone would walk down the hall or come up and down the stairs. Lights wouldn't work properly. Water went off by 7pm and they had to put their tank on service but it had not enough pressure for the rooms upstairs. Electricity went off in the middle of the night. The fan wouldn't work properly. And on top of that, one of the owner's sons tried to have a conversation with me that ended up on marriage proposal after 4 mins, and his brother apologizing for his family's "errand" behavior.
Their location is good since it's close to the ferry but that's all i can point out as good in this hostal. Hope that once the rooms upstairs are finished they will be better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaramantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We paid $8 a person a night (my boyfriend and I) for a private room with a bathroom and fan. They need to run a broom through the rooms - there were spider webs and bugs in every corner, and just a quick sweep would have made the room a lot more appealing. When someone walked upstairs the whole floor shook, which was kind of annoying.

On the plus side, it is a few blocks straight from when you get off the ferry, which was convenient. And the owner knew someone who did tours so we were able to arrange tours through them.

The power and water went out twice in the two and a half days we were there, not the fault of the hotel but a problem on the island.

One thing that bothered me was that there was a sign that they accepted credit cards. My boyfriend and I wanted to pay for our last meal at there restaurant with my debit card because we need our last bit of cash to pay for the ferry/busses/etc. The lady did not know how to work the card machine and swiped it upside down, backwards, etc. She never did figure it out. The owner was clearly mad that we were using a card for the equivalent of $6-7 US and made it known loudly. If they don't want to accept cards, they shouldn't have a sign that says they will.

If I went back I would probably try and go somewhere else now that I am comfortable with the island. But for $16 for two people in a private room with a bathroom, it isn't a bad place, but don't expect anything luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfischm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in a room with 2 beds and a private bathroom out the back. Costs US$8pp for the room which wasnt bad. Its part of a restaurant which was very quite during our stay. We did have breakfast there which is reasonable (C50) and tasty. Staff were very welcoming and polite. Bed did have bugs in it, dont think they were bed bugs but still it was a little uncomfortable. There was a power blackout through the whole town during out nights stay which made things interesting. They lit candles throughout the hotel to give some light and the hotel's generator kept coming and going. Everyone staying the hotel just sat out the street in the breeze until the street lights went out and the rain came. Fortunately the electricity was back a couple of hours later.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moyogalpa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 14 in Moyogalpa
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#2 of 20 in Moyogalpa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nathaly Hostal
Nathaly Hostal
#6 of 14 in Moyogalpa
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Ibesa
Hostel Ibesa
#4 of 20 in Moyogalpa
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nicaraus
Hotel Nicaraus
#9 of 14 in Moyogalpa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly

Property: Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly
Address: Main Street Moyogalpa | Moyogalpa, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Hotelito and Restaurante Aly: We are located in the heart of the city of Moyogalpa, the port Moyogalpa, 1 block up on the left, High Street, Isla de Ometepe, Rivas, Nicaragua. This is a family hotel. Founded in 1980, our hotel is affiliated with CANATUR (National Chamber of Tourism) and also INTUR (Nicaraguan Institute of Tourism). The main services we offer are: Accommodation (16 rooms with fan, A / C, TV. Cable, Private bathroom and wifi), Room prices from U $ 7.00 P / P. Bar, Restaurant (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner), Laundry, Internet access (free for guests) and others wishing to dine in our hotel, Souvenir, Bilingual Guides, Income Motorcycle (Scooter and Mountaineering), Bicycles, Transportation Turistico (taxi) See section Tour Half Day or Full Day) and free information for all our visitors. Surrounded by an environment with nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotelito Y Restaurante Aly Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing