We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Landing is Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Landing is Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you're visiting the volcanic island of Ometepe, in Lake Nicaragua, be sure to stay at The Landing Hotel in Moyogalpa! It's only a block from the primary ferry landing on the island, making it a convenient place to start, end, or headquarter your visit to the island. It's also in the heart of Moyogalpa where you'll find the highest concentration of the best services on the island--restaurants, tours, banks, transportation, and more. And, the staff, especially the owner, are as kind, helpful and outgoing as they come.

The rooms are great, ranging from an apartment suite to private rooms to dorms. Prices are exceptionally affordable for the quality. The free wifi, garden and wide welcoming lobby and restaurant are fantastic, but the best part is the open air double deck on the roof--they have amazing views of the main volcano, comfy couches, tables, lounge chairs and hammocks for relaxing in a tropical paradise! By far, my favorite moment was watching the sunrise over the volcano each morning! Do yourself a favor if you're headed to Ometepe, and find your way to this lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Budget travelers will love the hammocks on the deck or dorm rooms; others will find the private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamthornsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    48
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
44
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great value. Rooms were clean, the lobby was comfortable, and had free wi-fi. The food (breakfast, Lunch and Dinner) was really good. The third deck had beautiful views of the lake and the volcano. The garden in the back was relaxing, and the hammocks were a great place to relax after touring. The staff was very friendly and the owner was hospitable. Coming back next year.

Room Tip: Great Value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjkearney15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed here for a night in the dorm.
Very nice setting, hammocks were comfortable
the dorm was OK, but cant complain. The private rooms looked nice and comfortable a bit tiny
But it was cheap.
Staff friendly and helpful.
The only annoying thing was the karoake bar next door that kept blaring music till the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! Glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the music next door. Just so you know, we called the police that night as this situation is not typical at our hotel. We are in the process of filing a formal complaint with the municipality to make certain that this establishment is not granted special party permits in the future. Sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the neighbor. Hope to see you at the Landing Hotel when you visit the island of Ometepe again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our stay at The Landing Hotel was fantastic. The hotel is very attractive--with art from local artists--our room was comfortable, the food was delicious, and the staff made us feel like we had made new friends. John was the perfect host--introducing us to people and places on the island. It was a great base for our explorations of this beautiful island. We'll be back!

Room Tip: like the upstairs rooms--nice breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPokela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The staff here were amazing! Lenny and Juan Barrio were so kind to take the time and teach us spanish. The private rooms are really nice with double bed bunk, tv and clean towels. It is a comfortable place to stay if looking for somewhere in the dock town before or after getting the lancha.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Many Tour offers, good informations. Friendly owner John gave us a lot of informations about the island. There are many things to do on the island, they helped us a lot to use every day as good as possible! The Rooms are nice and clean and the prices are fair.
Before we stayed at an other place left it and changed the hostel. There is a big difference between those places. We were really impressed as got landing hotel. If you ask me the best hostel in town!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

This place is a travellers dream, for every type of stay, this hotel has an option, the mix of visitors makes it a very dynamic and relaxing place to start exploring the island from!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan_imcostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 11 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Ibesa
Hostel Ibesa
#4 of 14 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 4 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.5 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 36 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Omaja
Hotel La Omaja
#1 of 3 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 50 feet from the dock | Rivas, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Hotel offers a full range of accommodations. Our most affordable option is a bed in one of two dorms that each sleep seven guests (there is one full size bed and five individual beds per dorm). There are ample toilet and shower facilities around the corner from the dorms. We offer four rooms with private baths and a balcony providing comfortable seating for a sweeping view of the active volcano, Conception. We have an apartment, or family room that sleeps 4-5 with private bath. All rooms have fans. There is also a secluded cabin in the garden with a seating area, AC, queen bed, and private bath. We have designed the hotel to afford you the privacy you may be looking for or the opportunity to mingle with guests from all over the world. Our decor will immediately set you at ease and you will find we have some of the most comfortable seating on the island. Our hotel is the most conveniently located just a few meters from the dock on the left. When you arrive tired from the boat after a long day of travel, you don't have to walk far or search for The Landing Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing