We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Nice People”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing Hotel
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a private room for $18 per night for 2 people, which is a very decent price. Accordingly, the rooms are nothing special (even in the private rooms, they have bunk beds), but totally fine for that price and clean. The building itself was very niche building itself was very nice too, with a porch with hammocks and great views of the volcano or of the sunset over the lake.The staff was very friendly and professional, especially Juan. He is a wealth of information. We also met, John, the owner, who is also very nice and a font of information.

The location is good and bad at the same time: Your just a few steps away from the dock (great for catching an early ferry) and you can walk to any place in Moyogalpa, but it's also right on the main roads with the noisy buses.

I liked the artwork in and outside of the hotel. The back garden is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Hi Luke!

Thanks for choosing the Landing Hotel and for taking the time to write your thoughtful review! Hope we see you again next time around!

John Tansey, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

This place was our first pick in Moyagalpa, due to being nauseus from the boat ride over. It turned out to be a very nice place, and we ended up staying three more nights. The rooms are clean, have strong fans and windows are covered with mosquito net (so you can open them all the way to get some air in the midday heat). The hang out area is very nice, with hammocks and a beautiful view of vulcan concepcion. Both the rooms and the hotel are decorated with beautiful art. Our room even had a nice little candle holder on the wall.

The exellent service and friendlyness of the staff must also be noted. They also speak very good english.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are less gloomy. Avoid room no 1, as it had a stinky bathroom. We enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a private room for 20 $ per night for 2 people, which is a very decent price. Accordingly, the rooms are nothing special (even in the private rooms, they have bunk beds), but totally fine for that price and reasonably clean. The building itself was very nice too, with a nice porch with hammocks and great views of the volcano or of the sunset over the lake.The staff was very friendly.

The location is good and bad at the same time: Your just a few steps away from the dock (great for catching an early ferry) and you can walk to any place in Moyogalpa, but it's also right on the main roads, where trucks and buses rattle by as early as 4am. Also, there's some kind of crazy rooster in the neighborhood that crows at 2am and other crazy times.

Be aware - if you want your private room cleaned during your stay, you have to ask for it explicitly and turn in your key, but the staff will do it gladly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durin2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Most people aren't going to stay in Moyogalpa for more than a night or two. All of the best hostels are outside of Moyogalpa. That being said, The Landing Hotel is your best bet for a hostel in Moyogalpa. Only 100 meters or so from the dock. Great for those mornings when you want to get up and catch the 6 AM ferry. For a Nica hostel, The Landing Hotel is incredibly clean and well kept. The staff is great. One of the bartenders is fluent in English and French, and the other bartender is working his hardest on improving his English. Great chill area upstairs with hammocks and chairs. Free wifi and a killer atmosphere. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaseyLeFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Just a quick note to say thanks for choosing the Landing Hotel and for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to have served you and appreciate your very kind words! Hope to see you again in your future travels!

John Tansey, Owner
The Landing Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here two nights, one at the beginning of our Ometepe trip, and one at the end. The first night, we were in the private room right over the road, and it was a bit noisy with early morning traffic (both were weeknights, so we avoided the disco noise, thankfully). The last night we were in a room three back and it was quieter. The dorms are all placed farther back, so no worries there. The "hammock hotel" they advertise doesn't really seem to exist so far as I could tell - there are a couple hammocks in the communal area on the third floor, but those are being used by everyone staying there. The one thing that would really improve the place is more hammocks up there! We got to hang out in them the first night, but there were more people around the last night and the hammocks were much coveted. One other less-than-perfect mark: the last night, when we checked in around 4 pm, our room had not been cleaned. We're not super picky, but it would have been preferable if the cleaning staff had gotten to it before check-in time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astrokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is one of the most hospitable and nice places we've stayed in, in the whole of central america. After a cancellating of our boat trip back to the mainland the owner turned the world up side down to accomedate us, as the whole of the city was packed and overbooked!

We highly appreciate the effort you made, and we had a perfect night in hammocks in the back garden!

Tough we do regret that we did not stay here for more nights! This was an awsome spot, great view, great location as you are close to everything! We will stay at your place next time we come!

Service was excellent and top notch!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Torvald I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you're visiting the volcanic island of Ometepe, in Lake Nicaragua, be sure to stay at The Landing Hotel in Moyogalpa! It's only a block from the primary ferry landing on the island, making it a convenient place to start, end, or headquarter your visit to the island. It's also in the heart of Moyogalpa where you'll find the highest concentration of the best services on the island--restaurants, tours, banks, transportation, and more. And, the staff, especially the owner, are as kind, helpful and outgoing as they come.

The rooms are great, ranging from an apartment suite to private rooms to dorms. Prices are exceptionally affordable for the quality. The free wifi, garden and wide welcoming lobby and restaurant are fantastic, but the best part is the open air double deck on the roof--they have amazing views of the main volcano, comfy couches, tables, lounge chairs and hammocks for relaxing in a tropical paradise! By far, my favorite moment was watching the sunrise over the volcano each morning! Do yourself a favor if you're headed to Ometepe, and find your way to this lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Budget travelers will love the hammocks on the deck or dorm rooms; others will find the private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adamthornsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
11.7 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
252 reviews
13.1 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#1 of 3 in Balgue
11 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#2 of 22 in Moyogalpa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Finca Mystica
Finca Mystica
#1 of 63 in Isla de Ometepe
326 reviews
13 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#3 of 3 in Balgue
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Life is Good
Hostel Life is Good
#4 of 22 in Moyogalpa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Address: Feet From the Dock 50 | Rivas, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range: £12 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Hotel offers a full range of accommodations. Our most affordable option is a bed in one of two dorms that each sleep seven guests (there is one full size bed and five individual beds per dorm). There are ample toilet and shower facilities around the corner from the dorms. We offer four rooms with private baths and a balcony providing comfortable seating for a sweeping view of the active volcano, Conception. We have an apartment, or family room that sleeps 4-5 with private bath. All rooms have fans. There is also a secluded cabin in the garden with a seating area, AC, queen bed, and private bath. We have designed the hotel to afford you the privacy you may be looking for or the opportunity to mingle with guests from all over the world. Our decor will immediately set you at ease and you will find we have some of the most comfortable seating on the island. Our hotel is the most conveniently located just a few meters from the dock on the left. When you arrive tired from the boat after a long day of travel, you don't have to walk far or search for The Landing Hotel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing