We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, good value, great terrace on rooftop”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, good value, great terrace on rooftop”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is conveniently located 50 meters from the place the ferry drops you off so it is an obvious choice. The hostel is also all right - it is basic but clean and not too expensive. The rooms are really tiny and have bunk beds. One of the best features is the open air 3rd floor terrace where you can sit, read or chat in the evenings.

Overall nice place to stay in Ometepe, especially if you don't want to travel further into the island with all of your stuff and plan on one-day trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    49
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
5
46
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed in a dorm room for 4 nights. Six beds (three sets of bunks) to a dorm, plus a set of lockers made for a fairly tight fit, but not unreasonably so considering the cheap price. The mattresses were new, and of decent quality

It was the unrelenting heat, however, that provided the biggest obstacle to achieving a good nights sleep.With only one fan in the ceiling and few windows the room quickly became very hot in the evening. We resorted to leaving the door open and sleeping with mosquito repellent on instead.

Management was friendly and accommodating. The common areas upstairs had hammocks and tables, and a nice view. Downstairs the bar/restaurant area was handy for the free wifi and reasonably priced beer.

The landing hotel is a decent choice for a home base from which to explore Ometepe.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RandomPunter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review! We always appreciate hearing feedback as to how we are doing! Yes, May is the end of the dry season here in Nicaragua and it can be quite warm---especially this year. I do wish you had simply asked us for an additional fan as we would have been happy to try and help make your stay a bit cooler. Also, we have two rooms with A/C ($35/40 per night) and the private rooms on the second floor usually have a nice breeze at night. These rooms (w/private baths) are $15 per night for one person and $5 for each additional person. We also have hammocks that are in an area of the hotel that is open to the air and affords a large fan that guests can use.

Thanks again for choosing The Landing Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
813 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a private room for $18 per night for 2 people, which is a very decent price. Accordingly, the rooms are nothing special (even in the private rooms, they have bunk beds), but totally fine for that price and clean. The building itself was very niche building itself was very nice too, with a porch with hammocks and great views of the volcano or of the sunset over the lake.The staff was very friendly and professional, especially Juan. He is a wealth of information. We also met, John, the owner, who is also very nice and a font of information.

The location is good and bad at the same time: Your just a few steps away from the dock (great for catching an early ferry) and you can walk to any place in Moyogalpa, but it's also right on the main roads with the noisy buses.

I liked the artwork in and outside of the hotel. The back garden is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hi Luke!

Thanks for choosing the Landing Hotel and for taking the time to write your thoughtful review! Hope we see you again next time around!

John Tansey, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This place was our first pick in Moyagalpa, due to being nauseus from the boat ride over. It turned out to be a very nice place, and we ended up staying three more nights. The rooms are clean, have strong fans and windows are covered with mosquito net (so you can open them all the way to get some air in the midday heat). The hang out area is very nice, with hammocks and a beautiful view of vulcan concepcion. Both the rooms and the hotel are decorated with beautiful art. Our room even had a nice little candle holder on the wall.

The exellent service and friendlyness of the staff must also be noted. They also speak very good english.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are less gloomy. Avoid room no 1, as it had a stinky bathroom. We enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a private room for 20 $ per night for 2 people, which is a very decent price. Accordingly, the rooms are nothing special (even in the private rooms, they have bunk beds), but totally fine for that price and reasonably clean. The building itself was very nice too, with a nice porch with hammocks and great views of the volcano or of the sunset over the lake.The staff was very friendly.

The location is good and bad at the same time: Your just a few steps away from the dock (great for catching an early ferry) and you can walk to any place in Moyogalpa, but it's also right on the main roads, where trucks and buses rattle by as early as 4am. Also, there's some kind of crazy rooster in the neighborhood that crows at 2am and other crazy times.

Be aware - if you want your private room cleaned during your stay, you have to ask for it explicitly and turn in your key, but the staff will do it gladly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durin2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Most people aren't going to stay in Moyogalpa for more than a night or two. All of the best hostels are outside of Moyogalpa. That being said, The Landing Hotel is your best bet for a hostel in Moyogalpa. Only 100 meters or so from the dock. Great for those mornings when you want to get up and catch the 6 AM ferry. For a Nica hostel, The Landing Hotel is incredibly clean and well kept. The staff is great. One of the bartenders is fluent in English and French, and the other bartender is working his hardest on improving his English. Great chill area upstairs with hammocks and chairs. Free wifi and a killer atmosphere. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaseyLeFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Just a quick note to say thanks for choosing the Landing Hotel and for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to have served you and appreciate your very kind words! Hope to see you again in your future travels!

John Tansey, Owner
The Landing Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here two nights, one at the beginning of our Ometepe trip, and one at the end. The first night, we were in the private room right over the road, and it was a bit noisy with early morning traffic (both were weeknights, so we avoided the disco noise, thankfully). The last night we were in a room three back and it was quieter. The dorms are all placed farther back, so no worries there. The "hammock hotel" they advertise doesn't really seem to exist so far as I could tell - there are a couple hammocks in the communal area on the third floor, but those are being used by everyone staying there. The one thing that would really improve the place is more hammocks up there! We got to hang out in them the first night, but there were more people around the last night and the hammocks were much coveted. One other less-than-perfect mark: the last night, when we checked in around 4 pm, our room had not been cleaned. We're not super picky, but it would have been preferable if the cleaning staff had gotten to it before check-in time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 14 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
12.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#10 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Ibesa
Hostel Ibesa
#4 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#1 of 2 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 50 feet from the dock | Rivas, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Hotel offers a full range of accommodations. Our most affordable option is a bed in one of two dorms that each sleep seven guests (there is one full size bed and five individual beds per dorm). There are ample toilet and shower facilities around the corner from the dorms. We offer four rooms with private baths and a balcony providing comfortable seating for a sweeping view of the active volcano, Conception. We have an apartment, or family room that sleeps 4-5 with private bath. All rooms have fans. There is also a secluded cabin in the garden with a seating area, AC, queen bed, and private bath. We have designed the hotel to afford you the privacy you may be looking for or the opportunity to mingle with guests from all over the world. Our decor will immediately set you at ease and you will find we have some of the most comfortable seating on the island. Our hotel is the most conveniently located just a few meters from the dock on the left. When you arrive tired from the boat after a long day of travel, you don't have to walk far or search for The Landing Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing