We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to flop”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing Hotel
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Travel planning on the fly has its advantages and disadvantages, and sometimes you have to take what you can get. We had a reservation in hand for this place, so when we got off the ferry in Moyogalpa in the late afternoon, we walked up the main street checking out the other handful of hotels. Most of them were full and none appeared any better or worse than the Landing, so we went back and checked in. I think we got about the last room available, a "suite". I call it that because it had four bunk beds, a kitchenette, and the bathroom. Plain and basic, no frills. No ceiling fan or AC either, but there was a plugin AC unit that, if the hamsters really got going, hit 78 degrees on the LED readout. It was about 12 inches away from the bed, so the moving air kept it bearable. One of our two nights there the power went out for about an hour, and it would have been a sweaty night of sleeplessness had it not kicked back on, as the humidity hangs thick in the air. The lobby area is a nice place to hang out, the front desk doubles as a bar, the staff is friendly, and the Wifi worked well in our room, always a plus in my book.

Room Tip: It's good to have a headlamp or flashlight, if the power goes out. A room in the back away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

When we travel we aren't looking for luxury, we are looking for a cheap, friendly, and clean place and the landing did the job. The community areas were really nice and we enjoyed the hammocks and hanging out and having beers on the 2nd and 3rd floors. The room was clean, and the staff was super nice

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrahleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

John (owner of the Landing Hotel) was most helpful in proving information by email regarding the rooms and about the island itself. While many hotels have poor email response rates at best, the fast response time made it easy to book a room with them. This alone made planning our trip to Ometepe that much easier. Keep up the good work. I will book here in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ElGringoCocoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Landing Hotel for 3 nights (originally planned to stay for 4 nights)

What we appreciate :

Location : it's close to the ferry, the restaurants and services of Moyogalpa

Staff : The Lady who operate this hotel is very nice. Big smile, helpfull, and friendly. She even found my wallet (that I forgot in the room after We left and kept it for us. Very honest. The young man who work there is really nice too.

Common Area : Very nice common Area. Lots of hammocks, chairs, 2 decks with Volcano View.
Service : They rent bike and offer Laundry service, for an ok price (not cheapest but ok)
Sheets: clean, smelled fresh and changed when ask

What we didn't like :

The rooms are small and needs to be updated and Renovated. The first room we had (before we got changed) had a broken Toilet Flush (plain and simple non-functionnal), a broken faucet (not working at all), a TV that wasn't working well. The second room we had a half-broken fan and the Tv wasn't working well either.

No computer (it's 2013, computer are a must)

No kitchen (for guest)

No place to wash your clothes yourself.

One of the problem of this place is that it is between 2 categories of accomodation.
It calls itself a Hotel (instead of Hostal), but the room are old, not very nice and need renovation and the service are basic (not hotel-like)

It has Dorm and Bunk-Beds, like a Hostal, but no kitchen for you to prepare and keep food, and no common computer for guest to use.

So I would say that the common area, the location and the staff are worth staying there for one or two nights max.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaume F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was very impressed with the common areas. Absolutely beautiful, relaxing and simply inviting.

But the private rooms are old, dirty and need renovations. Our bathroom wasn't clean at all. It was absolutely dirty. We arrived late, so the next morning I asked politely to clean our bathroom. The housekeeper, said: yes. However, when we came back later that evening, room was the same.

I doubt that mattress sheet was changed as well, since top sheets and pillow covers we received later. Also, floor and top bunk bed were full of tiny ants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vilijatau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel!

Our policy is to first confirm a writer's registered name and dates of stay so that we can investigate their comments and take corrective action. I have asked you on three occasions to send this information and you have refused.

Our hotel has been the target of a negative campaign that we believe is being instigated by our competition to drive down our Trip Advisor rating. We feel very strongly that any reviewer who has written a negative review about a hotel should be obligated to respond to the hotel's request for additional information or risk having their negative comments removed by TripAdvisor. When you look at our generally excellent ratings and suddenly see several in a row that are not complimentary, it does raise suspicion---especially because the writers of these reviews have refused our repeated attempts to confirm their occupancy.

We do our best to offer the budget traveler an excellent value for a fair price, but we are not perfect. Our staff is very friendly and we are proud of our customer centered service. Our location can't be beat--less than a one minute walk from the ferry landing. Our garden is one of the nicest in town and we have several spacious areas for our guests to relax and enjoy this secluded tropical island. True, our rooms are not very spacious and the amenities in the room reflect those of a budget hotel. However, our guests spend most of their time out of their room touring the island or enjoying a tropical beverage in our common areas or garden, our free wifi, our small gym area, and the lake and volcano views from our open air lounge.

When you write a negative review, please understand the damage that you can do---especially to a small hotel. If you have a problem, first ask to speak with the hotel's owner or manager. Any hotel should be given the opportunity to correct a problem before you use the internet to criticize. Trip Advisor is a valuable tool for the traveling public, but it can also be used by competitors to drive down the competition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the dorm style room for a few nights while in Ometepe. Price was good, free wifi, staff were friendly, and was quite clean. Location was also great, easy to get meals and such. They also have a small gym upstairs if you want to work out a bit which is nice after eating a few too many hamburguesas. Overall was quite a good option while staying on the island!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdndoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here over a year ago, thought it looked safe and better than other places you see around this area and very close to the ferry, i stayed down stairs i think in room 1, wifi was always on and off but what do you expect when your on a island, showers and toilets always seem to be clean. however i had a skirt and top stolen out of my luggage bag while i stayed there and also my sd card was stolen out of my camera i was never given a key to my room none offered to give me a key i also found out while i was staying there that items have been stolen from other tourist. it was over priced and never anyone around to make food seeing they have a kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandinghotel, Owner at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Unfortunately, TripAdvisor does not offer enough options for owners to deal with fake reviews. I have asked the writer of this review on three separate occasions to verify the dates of her "stay" with us a year ago and the name she was registered under. I have not received any verification that this person ever stayed at the Landing Hotel and find the claims in her review to be without any merit whatsoever.

Please understand that we are not a perfect hotel. However, we do our absolute best to make certain that our guests have a great experience here on the island. It is deeply offensive when a person uses a website (that is meant to help the traveling public get the best value for their money) to try and purposely harm a competitor. There are a couple of new reviews of the Landing Hotel that were posted this month that are very suspicious. I would like to get to the bottom of this as it actually started earlier in the year. My recommendation to TripAdvisor is when a "guest" leaves a comment, especially a very negative and damaging review, if they do not respond to the hotel's legitimate efforts to investigate the claims in the review (starting with verification that the writer actually stayed in the hotel), the review should be removed---no further questions asked. TripAdvisor makes it impossible to communicate directly with one of their employees as part of owner support. I hope that this can change as they are providing a valuable service---so long as the reviews are legitimate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
11.7 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#4 of 67 in Isla de Ometepe
253 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#2 of 23 in Moyogalpa
29 reviews
13.1 mi away
La Urraca Loca Hostel
La Urraca Loca Hostel
#1 of 3 in Balgue
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#3 of 3 in Balgue
107 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Coco's
Hostel Coco's
#5 of 23 in Moyogalpa
7 reviews
10.4 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Address: Feet From the Dock 50 | Rivas, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Hotel offers a full range of accommodations. Our most affordable option is a bed in one of two dorms that each sleep seven guests (there is one full size bed and five individual beds per dorm). There are ample toilet and shower facilities around the corner from the dorms. We offer four rooms with private baths and a balcony providing comfortable seating for a sweeping view of the active volcano, Conception. We have an apartment, or family room that sleeps 4-5 with private bath. All rooms have fans. There is also a secluded cabin in the garden with a seating area, AC, queen bed, and private bath. We have designed the hotel to afford you the privacy you may be looking for or the opportunity to mingle with guests from all over the world. Our decor will immediately set you at ease and you will find we have some of the most comfortable seating on the island. Our hotel is the most conveniently located just a few meters from the dock on the left. When you arrive tired from the boat after a long day of travel, you don't have to walk far or search for The Landing Hotel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing