We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town, and only steps from the ferry.”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing Hotel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The best place in town, and only steps from the ferry.”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I make it a policy always to walk past the first places I see. Well, I had to walk all the way back to this one. I poked my head in, and have yet to emerge. Great place, great people, great food, great service, great rooms. I'll use it as my base of Ometepe travels, and have the ease of walking a block downhill to depart. Many & various people here, from grungy backpackers to more refined folks staying in the lovely private rooms. I've strung a hammock in the 3rd floor, and feel like I'm the king of the world.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerusFarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    50
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
5
47
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Look for the sign just off the boat.
Great cozy rooftop patio with hammocks and cable tv.
Beautiful restaurant with great food.
Looks expensive but it's not.
Disco next door but closed at 10pm
Newly renovated totally

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternCanadaKoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

After deciding to visit the island we hadn't really planned on a place to stay. As we walked up the street, with our bags, we were greeted by someone advertising the hotel. Usually we just ignore these people but while passing the building it looked really nice. Traveling on a budget, nearing the end of our few month trip, places like this are usually skipped. The sign out front made me hesitate. It had everything we wanted and for a good price. So we figured "why not get these heavybags off and give it a look. The room was a standard double. The perks were the tv candles if power goes out.. And amazingly good water pressure! The extremely friendly and helpful staff gave us a discount for staying more than one night, and were very informative and friendly. Glad we decided to have a look. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balloon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Staff was warm and friendly and had great advice on where to go / what to see / what to be wary of. Felt more like staying with a doting relative than in a hotel and you can't beat the price for this area. Will definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

What an amazing place! I came to Ometepe for three days on my way through Nicaragua and after checking out several other hotels, I decided to stay at The Landing Hotel. Boy did I luck out! The staff was incredibly friendly and so accommodating. John, the owner, was very nice and you could tell just by talking to him that he wanted you to have the best stay possible. I chose to sleep in one of their two large dorm rooms with two other guys, Australians I think. They have several private rooms and hammocks on the second floor. The best part about the hotel has to be the view from the third floor. On a clear day you can see all of Volcan Concepcion and the dock in Moyogalpa. I sincerely wish I could have stayed longer, but if I ever come back, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philo13181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
409 reviews
12.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#2 of 20 in Moyogalpa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Life is Good
Hostel Life is Good
#4 of 20 in Moyogalpa
24 reviews
9.5 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: Feet From the Dock 50 | Rivas, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Hotel offers a full range of accommodations. Our most affordable option is a bed in one of two dorms that each sleep seven guests (there is one full size bed and five individual beds per dorm). There are ample toilet and shower facilities around the corner from the dorms. We offer four rooms with private baths and a balcony providing comfortable seating for a sweeping view of the active volcano, Conception. We have an apartment, or family room that sleeps 4-5 with private bath. All rooms have fans. There is also a secluded cabin in the garden with a seating area, AC, queen bed, and private bath. We have designed the hotel to afford you the privacy you may be looking for or the opportunity to mingle with guests from all over the world. Our decor will immediately set you at ease and you will find we have some of the most comfortable seating on the island. Our hotel is the most conveniently located just a few meters from the dock on the left. When you arrive tired from the boat after a long day of travel, you don't have to walk far or search for The Landing Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing