We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum trip”
Review of Museum El Ceibo

Museum El Ceibo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Isla de Ometepe with El Ceibo Museum
More Info
US$159.99*
and up
Ometepe Island Day Trip from Managua
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Day Tour of Ometepe Island
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Moyogalpa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum El Ceibo on Ometepe Island is a must see in Nicaragua with one of the biggest and best conserved collection in the country.The museum has two exhibition halls, one with pre-Columbian statues and artifacts and one which shows the history of the Nicaraguan coin. When visiting Ometepe, El Ceibo is the place to get to know and experience the Ometepe culture. El Ceibo is not just a museum, it is fun for all ages!
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museum trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

our guide was very friendly and well informed about the museum and the artifacts. He took alot of time with us explaining the history of what we saw.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    43
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Interesting Visit”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Initially we were due to visit petroglths on another part of island, but our driver said we would have a better experience here; I'm so glad he did. We got there early & there was a large collection of pre Columbian artifacts to see. Our guide spoke Spanish, but that was ok as it gave me some practice. I looked at the bad review on here, & wonder why someone would visit if they are not interested in the history of the island? My husband & I loved it & the collection was extensive & in amazing condition. A highlight of our trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ourfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A little out of the way, but the guide was very informative and the articles on display were nice. The building was air conditioned which was a pleasant surprise. Entry was $4.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“The Museum is an Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are so glad we did not speed right by the sign for this place on our one day excursion from San Juan del Sur to Ometepe Island. The museum is an absolute gem, filled with Pre-Columbian artifacts discovered at numerous spots around the island. The young guide who escorted us was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and his English was quite good. They also have some very simple paintings of birds for sale at the reception counter. The museum is a very interesting detour and well worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martensville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable ...”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

There are two museums here and we visited both. We had two English speaking guides taking my husband and myself through. They were patient and allowed us to take photos. Explanations were great and I was impressed by all the pottery and the money! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Del1564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum El Ceibo also viewed

Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Museum El Ceibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing