We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Little Corner of the World”
Review of The Cornerhouse

The Cornerhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #2 of 14 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Paloma, Ometepe Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Perfect Little Corner of the World”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I live on Ometepe Island and we stop in the Corner House about once a week, usually for breakfast. Sergio and Gary make me my regular Mocha Helado...better than Starbucks! My favorite part about the Corner House is that it is the starship of friendships. We eat a delicious breakfast while visiting with friends and meeting new ones. Gary and Laura are wonderful hosts...friendly...entertaining...and knowledgeable. The ambiance is cozy, with great music, magazines, comfy seating, and free wi-fi for guests. What in the world did we ever do before the Corner House existed? Don't miss this little corner of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGypsytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
50
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I ate breakfast at The Cornerhouse the day we arrived in Moyogalpa which was more like lunch time. We had Jamaican tea, banana smoothie, the omelet/toast/potatoes meal. All 2 thumbs up. The next day we left Moyogalpa to tour the island. When we returned to Moyogalpa to take the ferry back to San Jorge, we only had 50 minutes before departure. We made a bee line to The Cornerhouse and we were so happy we did. We ordered the same breakfast and by the way we also tried the home made papaya jam and it was splendid. To drink we had an Americano and an Iced Coffee. When we realized we wouldn't have time to finish our drinks we asked for some to go cups and the waitress very kindly provided them. She was super friendly and made sure to get our order in and our food in time. If you love breakfast, you cannot miss the opportunity of eating at this restaurant which is also a B&B. We did not sleep here but, I'm sure it is a great place to stay judging by the reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at The Cornerhouse for three nights while visiting Ometepe and found it hard to leave.

One thing to note is Gary does not take bookings - he only has four rooms above the cafe and rooms are filled on a first-come-first-serve basis. We were lucky to be travelling in Nicaragua in the down season, given we arrived around 5pm in Moyogalpa and were fortunate that Gary had a choice of rooms available. I imagine we would not have been so lucky, had it been the busy season.

Each room is well appointed with at least one double bed (really comfortable mattress) & nice cotton sheets (not itchy), a private bathroom & overhead fan. There is no hot water, but given Ometepe is quite hot & humid, this was not a problem. Free filtered water is also provided & can be topped up from the downstairs cafe. Free wi-fi is also available as a guest, although can be intermittent as Ometepe experiences frequent power cuts.

Breakfast is also included in the room price and can be taken at any time of the day with various choices from the breakfast menu in the cafe. Eggs Benedict (my absolute favourite breakfast meal) is on the menu & exceptional (even by UK, OZ & NZ standards). And, the coffee is proper coffee (a rarity in Nicaragua....they seem to go for instant!!).

Gary is happy to chat and answer any questions you might have about Ometepe. He provides a useful booklet in each room, but has plenty more knowledge of the island, so get chatting to him.

We have already recommended The Cornerhouse to other travellers, and suggest you stay if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Gary and Laura always make you welcome.....great food and great company.....the hub of Moyogulpa! The world seems to gather there....a safe place.....a fountain of information for activities on Ometepe....

Room Tip: They are all good......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

All I can do is back up the amazing reviews this place is getting!

We were originally worried about staying here and stretching our (very tight) budget- but we are SO pleased we did! the room was lovely, no hot water or AC but didnt need either. the breakfast (Specifically eggs benedict) make this such a good deal! and REAL barrista coffee! wow. The staff are extremely helpful and informative on top of this.

Gary and laura work hard to make this place so great, with every success! I wish them all the best with future endeavours!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danye0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Was there on vacation, stayed 3 nights. Such a nice couple running this small coffehouse with 4 bedrooms. Great coffee and breakfast/lunch, wonderful music and atmosphere. Vegetarian food from Eco-farms. A bid noisy during the day as it is located on the main street, but was quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerti1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is one of the more expensive hotels on the islands, but at $35 for two including breakfast, it was worth every cent. The rooms are small, clean, well cared for and completely functional. No A/C and the shower stall in our room needed new tile or a coat of paint on the floor, but our corner room had a breathtaking view of Omotepe. But...what really made the stay special was the unbelievable food and the awesome, friendly and upbeat service of Sergio and Sydney, the two people who took care of us flawlessly. If you are craving a taste of home-cooked, hearty food from north of the border, look no further. Their carrot cake...divine. The scones...like my Mum's and the Eggs Benedict...worth every minute of the 8-hour trip from Ocotal. Don't get me wrong, as a traveler, I love my fill of local food, but as someone who lives here, their menu and culinary skills at cooking food from outside Nicaragua were like a dream come true. Thank you Sergio and Sydney!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the corner room overlooking Omotepe - it has the added bonus of cross breezes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twicerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Moreno
Hotel Casa Moreno
#3 of 14 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#10 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 42 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
The American Cafe & Hotel
The American Cafe & Hotel
#5 of 14 in Moyogalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Property: The Cornerhouse
Address: Main Street, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000-1, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us help you plan your time on Ometepe while relaxing in 1 of our 4 thoughtfully built rooms. The convenience of being in the port town of Moyogalpa, combined with the island knowledge of our staff will ensure a pleasant stay. In the morning, wake up to an espresso, fresh, organic juice and healthy breakfast made with ingredients from the island. Enjoy the island adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing