We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cornerhouse
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Central(Altagracia)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$394
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Santa Martha(Isla de Ometepe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Paraiso(Isla de Ometepe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HulaKai Hotel(Playa Maderas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Surf Club(Playa Maderas)
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
85
16
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
16
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetgreat coffeeconvenient locationnoisy at nightlight sleeperomelettedelicious breakfaststayed here for nightsprivate bathroomearplugssergionicaraguaometepeferryislanddiscoconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Surprisingly, it can be difficult to find a fresh cup of coffee in Nicaragua, let alone cappuccinos or iced lattes, but not in Moyogalpa. Cornerstone always had fresh coffee grown from local coffee farms on the island and sourced all their produce and meats from local suppliers too. On top of all that, the food is perfect. Eggs Benedict, roasted vegetable sandwich, steak salad in that order... Yum!

I've spent more time eating and enjoying the company at Cornerstone than I care to admit. The food is outstanding and both the owners, Laura and Gary, truly care about providing the best service and food that they can to their customers. Gary and Laura are always a pleasure to be around and make you feel like family. They are both very knowledgeable about what to do, where to go, and who to contact on Ometepe. I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicaTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I live on Ometepe Island and we stop in the Corner House about once a week, usually for breakfast. Sergio and Gary make me my regular Mocha Helado...better than Starbucks! My favorite part about the Corner House is that it is the starship of friendships. We eat a delicious breakfast while visiting with friends and meeting new ones. Gary and Laura are wonderful hosts...friendly...entertaining...and knowledgeable. The ambiance is cozy, with great music, magazines, comfy seating, and free wi-fi for guests. What in the world did we ever do before the Corner House existed? Don't miss this little corner of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyGypsytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I ate breakfast at The Cornerhouse the day we arrived in Moyogalpa which was more like lunch time. We had Jamaican tea, banana smoothie, the omelet/toast/potatoes meal. All 2 thumbs up. The next day we left Moyogalpa to tour the island. When we returned to Moyogalpa to take the ferry back to San Jorge, we only had 50 minutes before departure. We made a bee line to The Cornerhouse and we were so happy we did. We ordered the same breakfast and by the way we also tried the home made papaya jam and it was splendid. To drink we had an Americano and an Iced Coffee. When we realized we wouldn't have time to finish our drinks we asked for some to go cups and the waitress very kindly provided them. She was super friendly and made sure to get our order in and our food in time. If you love breakfast, you cannot miss the opportunity of eating at this restaurant which is also a B&B. We did not sleep here but, I'm sure it is a great place to stay judging by the reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at The Cornerhouse for three nights while visiting Ometepe and found it hard to leave.

One thing to note is Gary does not take bookings - he only has four rooms above the cafe and rooms are filled on a first-come-first-serve basis. We were lucky to be travelling in Nicaragua in the down season, given we arrived around 5pm in Moyogalpa and were fortunate that Gary had a choice of rooms available. I imagine we would not have been so lucky, had it been the busy season.

Each room is well appointed with at least one double bed (really comfortable mattress) & nice cotton sheets (not itchy), a private bathroom & overhead fan. There is no hot water, but given Ometepe is quite hot & humid, this was not a problem. Free filtered water is also provided & can be topped up from the downstairs cafe. Free wi-fi is also available as a guest, although can be intermittent as Ometepe experiences frequent power cuts.

Breakfast is also included in the room price and can be taken at any time of the day with various choices from the breakfast menu in the cafe. Eggs Benedict (my absolute favourite breakfast meal) is on the menu & exceptional (even by UK, OZ & NZ standards). And, the coffee is proper coffee (a rarity in Nicaragua....they seem to go for instant!!).

Gary is happy to chat and answer any questions you might have about Ometepe. He provides a useful booklet in each room, but has plenty more knowledge of the island, so get chatting to him.

We have already recommended The Cornerhouse to other travellers, and suggest you stay if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Gary and Laura always make you welcome.....great food and great company.....the hub of Moyogulpa! The world seems to gather there....a safe place.....a fountain of information for activities on Ometepe....

Room Tip: They are all good......
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews