We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of The Cornerhouse

The Cornerhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #2 of 19 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Best food in Ometepe if you are looking for some gourmet food. Obviously it's not typical Nicaraguan dishes but it was amazing to have some good that tasted incredible and reminded us of home! Loved the 2 eggs breakfast with poached eggs which we haven't had since being away! Also fab coffee! You really have to try this place if you are on Ometepe! Oh and the steak and chip salad! Yum!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pols_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
50
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My eggs Benedict with basil and sundried tomato was the best thing I ate in ometepe. My Only regret is that I had it on the way to my ferry and didn't find it earlier so I could go back and try the rest of their menu.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank ross w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely room, particularly compared with some of the doubles we saw in hostels here.

Comfy beds, decent shower and breakfast included in the price.

Convenient location on the Main Street but can be a bit noisy. We were exhausted so out like a light so didn't matter. Earplugs are provided in case you want them.

Nice little pack provided with ideas of things to do in the area.

Would recommend and would stay again when in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ImAlwaysOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

When we arrived this was one of the first places we saw. It looked the in place to be. We had a look at the room and decided to stay here. There are only four rooms above the restaurant which serves breakfast all day but closes at five.This is run by an English man called Gary and his Canadian wife.
The room includes breakfast but it seemed most people ate there. It included fab coffee. Smoothies, fruit, yogurts, granola but to mention a few with a signature dish eggs Benedict. I had this on my last day and it was amazing.
It also had some local products for sale and jams, honey and turmeric.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and i were passing thru Moyogalpa. We had some time to grab breakfast before our boat was leaving for San Jorge, and thought The Cornerhouse looked good. I ordered the 3 egg omelet and my wife had the hummus sandwich. It was supprisingly good and a perfect start to our day.

Luckely i should say, the wind and weather made it impossible to cross for San Jorge until later that day, so we decided to head back to The Cornerhouse. This time we had a coffee and the carrot cake - and we have to agree - its the best carrot cake we have ever tasted. We are both foodies and have traveled all over the world. Since we hadn't planned on staying in Moyogalpa, we didn't do any research here. So this time i flipped open my phone and read some reviews from The Cornerhouse - so now as we speak, we most definitely have to try that oatmeal coco cookie that everyone is raving about.

So that beeing said - if you are in Moyogalpa or just passing thru - please stop by the The Cornershop for a bite to eat.

K

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimorerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I absolutely loved this place. Although it is in town, it is not too loud. Rooms are clean and staff is wonderful. Food is excellent. Be sure to get the Eggs Benedict for breakfast. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahknour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecornerhouse_nica, Owner at The Cornerhouse, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review - it's encouraging to hear your positive feedback! We would be happy to welcome you back to The Cornerhouse if you find yourself back on Ometepe. Thanks again and all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami and other places
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I haven't stayed here but the adorable Sydney showed me the nice little clean and well appointed rooms. They were nothing special but fine, as were the shared bathrooms. It is, after all, a B&B.

What I can say is that the breakfast dishes were magnificent. I tried mine and my GF's, both were excellent. Mine was their version of eggs Benedict. It was grilled tomatoes instead of Canadian bacon (or whatever), the hollandaise sauce was excellent and flowing (I asked for more).

Sydney's service was excellent and very pleasant. This is a very nice little inexpensive restaurant in a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArbitraryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecornerhouse_nica, Owner at The Cornerhouse, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Sidney will appreciate your recognition of her hard work and passion for giving customers an excellent experience - we'll make sure she sees your review!
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Eggs Benedict (the tomatoes are amazingly good but the homemade lemon hollandaise sauce is the key ingredient!) and that you had a chance to peek at our guestrooms. Just to clarify for future guests, our B&B offers 4 lovely guestrooms, each with its own private bathroom.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming to back on your next trip to Ometepe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 50 in Isla de Ometepe
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 6 in Balgue
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mauro
Casa Mauro
#2 of 20 in Moyogalpa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Property: The Cornerhouse
Address: Main Street, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000-1, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us help you plan your time on Ometepe while relaxing in 1 of our 4 thoughtfully built rooms. The convenience of being in the port town of Moyogalpa, combined with the island knowledge of our staff will ensure a pleasant stay. In the morning, wake up to an espresso, fresh, organic juice and healthy breakfast made with ingredients from the island. Enjoy the island adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing