We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Isla Ometepe
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$120.00
More Info
from US$235.00
More Info
from US$1,120.00
More Info
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
560
158
34
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
560
158
34
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jorge ferry ride ojo de rent a scooter lake nicaragua laid back nice beaches santa cruz beautiful scenery horseback riding maderas volcano finca magdalena natural pool howler monkeys ometepe nature waterfall
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My family and I happened to travel to Ometepe Island on the Thursday before Easter (during Holy Week) which is the first of 2 statutory holidays leading up to the Easter Weekend. Wow. Trying to get the ferry from San Jorge to Moyogalpa on Omotepe was crazy. There was a lot of pushing and people budding in line to catch these small ferries. Hundreds of people pushing to get tickets. Then more shoving trying to get into the line for the ferry. Then - you guessed it - more pushing and shoving to get a seat on the ferry itself. IF you can avoid it - don't travel much during these days in most Central American countries!
With the ordeal of getting there over - we had a guide take us to some recommended spots on the island. We weren't overly impressed with Punta Jesus Maria which had a mediocre beach with some nice views. Next, we went to Playa Santa Cruz which was beautiful with shallow water where you could walk out very far and see both volcanoes.
Ojo de Agua was very, very busy. It was nice mineral water to swim in but overcrowded. I'm not sure if it's always like that but definitely crazy during Holy Week.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 588takak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We decided to visit Ometepe Island and stay overnight to get more of an experience. Booking the ferry was a little difficult as we wanted to take our own car over there and we soon discovered why it was difficult.... the car ferry only takes about 5 cars so space is extremely limited! But we eventually booked on a ferry. The crossing was very rough - Lake Nicaragua is well known for very rough weather and can have some phenomenal storms - the ferry was fine but it was choppy and people were being sick. The passenger ferries (lanchas) are even worse if you get seasick so if you go as a passenger, go on the vehicle ferry. It really was an experience - especially when we got to Moyogalpa and the guy on the ferry jumped in the lake and swum to tie the ferry up to the quay! We laughed.... no health and safety over there.

Moyogalpa was a bustling town and very vibrant in line with all the other towns we had visited in Nicaragua. We drove to Santa Cruz (a very easy drive along one main road) which is where we were staying and then visited Ojo De Agua which is a natural mineral pool that you can swim in. We wish we had more time to do one of the walks on the volcanoes but you do need to allow quite a lot of time for this so plan your trip carefully if you want to do this.

All in all a beautiful place and well worth a visit - like a little tropical island paradise.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed in each of the main towns on the island, and this was our favourite. It is the largest, but still very modest in size. More options for shopping, food, drinks, and accommodations! Also, there is no need to take a taxi from the ferry dock, as there is if you arrive at the other ferry landing.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

These days, calling this place Hawaii is an insult to Ometepe, but Hawaii decades ago and Ometepe today share a spirit and a lot more. We were only in Mérida and Cascada San Ramón, but this whole island has a vibe not found on the still wonderful ‘mainland’ - not even in places isolated like Laguna de Apoyo. Get here and stay for several nights.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mikeclarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

100% suggest people to go there. The island is amazing. The people are very nice except the ones that rent you their motorcycles- beware, the roads to Meridas is really bad so any scratches, they will make you pay even though they wont be fixing it.

The food is very good but dont eat in the main street. Go to Los Sodas Antojitos, William and his family are great.

In general, the island is its own entity, people are very different compared to the mainland and it feels like a jungle.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank C Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews