We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, but...”
Review of Isla Ometepe

Isla Ometepe
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Day Trip to Ometepe Island
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Moyogalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 August 2018

its beautiful. there are 7 really cool things to do.
if your in moyogalpa and you can afford it (I thinks its $30 bucks for a private room) stay at Soma.
It is incredible. Sarah is awesome. her kids are great

but...barter everything else. the local passtime is ripping off anything that moves.
Be especially weary about a short tour guide named George. if he cant rip you off, he will rob you blind.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ToniandGiorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"san jorge"
in 37 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 16 reviews
"ojo de"
in 37 reviews
"rent a scooter"
in 18 reviews
"lake nicaragua"
in 23 reviews
"laid back"
in 15 reviews
"nice beaches"
in 6 reviews
"santa cruz"
in 17 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 6 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 10 reviews
"maderas volcano"
in 11 reviews
"finca magdalena"
in 7 reviews
"natural pool"
in 6 reviews
"howler monkeys"
in 7 reviews
"ometepe"
in 167 reviews
"nature"
in 54 reviews
"waterfall"
in 46 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018

"Omatepe", meaning two mountains, is the largest island in Lake Nicaragua and is formed by two volcanoes rising out of the lake. The volcanoes, Concepcion and Maderas, are joined by a low isthmus to form an island in the shape of an hourglass. It has an area of 276 square kilometers. Its economy is based on livestock, agriculture, and tourism. Petroglyphs and stone idols are located on the northern slopes of the Maderas volcano, which is fascinating, and the folks there don't regard it as any big deal. Many of the residents simply stay there, in their own world away from Nicaragua, which is a lovely country in its own right. We were there for three days and really enjoyed it. Accessible only by boat, there is a ferry that travels to and fro several times a day. I was impressed that many of the folks there are resisting the push of the evil pesticide companies to invade their lovely home - there is a clear emphasis on permaculture and organic farming. I was pleasantly surprised and felt hope for the future when I learned this.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

If you want to run away from cities or if you want to spend couple days in cheaper place you should visit that island. There have so many hostels and rooms here you don’t need book a room before you trip. You can hike , swim, watch amazing sunsets, rent motorcycles or visit hot springs.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Opethowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Whether you're down for adventure or you just want to chill--or maybe get in a little of both--Ometepe is the ideal place. It has beaches, plenty of bars and restaurants, and, of course, two volcanoes to hike. You can also just rent a motorbike and/or bicycle and tool around the island, which is fun as well.

It's cheap and easy to get there from "the mainland". You can take a chicken bus from, say, Grenada (to Rivas) for practically nothing, take a taxi from Rivas to San Jorge (you shouldn't pay more than a few bucks a person--just grab a few other travelers and share a cab), buy a ferry ticket on the spot (for the equivalent of a few bucks, if I remember correctly), and that's it.

I highly recommend visiting Ometepe, as that was one of the highlights of Nica (hiking Concepcion, specifically).

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

At the suggestion of many fellow travelers, I visited Isla Ometepe for a few days during my Nicaraguan backpacking trip. While there, I found one of my new favorite hotels and met lots of amazing people. I was surprised at how big the island was, as well as the lake itself. You'll want to give yourself more than a couple of days to be able to enjoy the relaxing environment without feeling rushed.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isla Ometepe also viewed

Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Isla Ometepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing