We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vegan meals, super friendly staff, and beautiful location”
Review of Finca Samaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Samaria
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing vegan meals, super friendly staff, and beautiful location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a grueling bike ride where I thought I was going to pass out due to the heat, my wife and I stumbled upon this amazing place. The rice and vegetables with tofu we had was huge and out of this world, and the place is completely eco-friendly. Would definitely recommend it. :o)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacecadet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but we did have a really wonderful stir fry with rice and tofu (they make their own tofu too!), it was all a surprise because we were just on a bike ride around the Ometepe island, but then we suddenly we found this sign on the road saying "beach" and we went that way, and suddenly found the Finca Samaria. They took care of the bikes while we were down at the beach and having lunch, and we would have got a couple of loaves of the bread they make, but it was getting late and almost night, but we did try some and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This place if absolutely outstanding. We just wanted to spend two days in Samaria and got stuck for ten days. The rooms are basic but very clean and you will get the best gallo pinto on the island by Doña Norma, the owner of the finca. Don't miss the sunsets with a "Flor de caña" rum and a peaceful atmosphere in the neighboring restaurant-bar "Samaritano". They also prepare good and fresh food mostly with homegrown ingredients and have a big, beautiful beach.
The yard at the finca and the beach at the bar has been recently renewed and given a new inviting face.
If you try to get in touch with the owners Doña Norma and Toño, try the following numbers:
(505) 88 24 22 10 and
(505) 86 36 48 86

Room Tip: Bring a moskito net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Staying at Finca Samaria was a great experience! The food was delicious, the atmosphere was welcoming, and Xavi was very helpful in securing us a guide for our hike up the volcano. I definitely recommend spending your time here in Ometepe!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merpitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Finca Samaria and we had a wonderfull stay.
Rooms: don't expect hotel standard,but they are clean. The domain of Finca Samaria is wonderful: near the sea, nice panorama's, bar,..
The owners (Spanish/Polish) are incredible nice. I learned fishing with the owner, we enjoyed great cocktails in the sun, we went horse riding with the owner,.. The location is off-road, so you have to walk 5-10minutes (or take a taxi), but it's more than worth it! This was a hidden secret in Isla de Ometepe.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

me and my two friends (3 girls) somehow found this place online before they were up on trip advisor- we got there and Fell in LOVEEEE beautiful view/ your own private beach/ a bar which is right there! the people who own it are amazing. The BEST mojito I ever had in my life. They went and picked the mint from their garden it was incredible.

Magda and Xavi truly care for all their guests and help out anyway they can! Magda makes the best food as well! Going to Finca Samarai is like going to your second home, you could stay forever.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Finca Samaria is more than a hostel, it's a fully functioning farm with guest accomodations. The proprietors go so far out of their way to make you comfortable and their cooking is delicious and reasonably priced. They really make you feel like part of their family.
There is also another restaurant/bar just down the beach that offers seriously excellent grilled meat and vegetables grown from their own garden. Best of all, Xavi and Magda know all the local people and will put you in touch with the best trail guides, honest cab drivers etc. Plus their kids are awesome, always running around causing a ruckus but you will enjoy their presence. There are animals all over(it is a working farm) and they'll even let you try your hand at milking the cows if you like.
The only warning is that accomodations are a bit primitive - if you are used to all inclusive resorts with air conditioning and room service, you may be put off by drawing water from a well and washing your clothes by hand. Still, it is clean and sanitary if a little shabby. Personally I had no problem with it and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone, and would come back myself. Plus its suuuuuuper cheap.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyogalpa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#1 of 2 in Balgue
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca Magdalena
Finca Magdalena
#5 of 5 in Balgue
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#10 of 18 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca del Sol
Finca del Sol
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Samaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Samaria

Property: Finca Samaria
Address: Calle Cementerio Esquipulas 300m al lago, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family hotel with 5 rooms, are located within a typical Nicaraguan farm in front of the lake with its own beach. All rooms have a private bathroom and fan. We have a restaurant / bar where you can enjoy international dishes and refreshing drinks. For a taste of nature and tranquility with views of the beach and the volcano. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Samaria Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing