We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, laid back retreat”
Review of Charco Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altagracia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charco Verde
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our visit. This is a quiet place at the end of a gravel road, and on at least one night we were the only people in the restaurant/bar. We had a large cottage with 3 beds in it. Some of the waiters seemed curiously indifferent to us even after some good tips, but others were very friendly. We had hamburgers for lunch one day that were not very good, but had some other great meals. The beach/lake is great for swimming. The ladies in the front office were helpful and friendly. The Charco Verde lagoon is right next to the hotel and is kind of spooky after you hear the legend of Chico Largo. Do not miss the Ceibo Museum up the road- it doesn't look like much but it is an interesting place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank FoCo_80526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

This place was really cute, the huts were adorable, the washroom and rooms were pretty neat and clean. the ac was awsome and it has a beautiful settin at night. the only downfall is that wifi is only used by the entrance (front desk of the hotel) and i would have rather buffet for dinner.. instead of plated dinners. I think that a few of the food was over priced,, still tasted good though. and i wish they had more variety for american,, the food was very ethnic, which i love spanish food but i guess i expected more fries, rice,spaghetti or dishes. but over all. great beautiful place.. and the staff is amazing! they were jusss sweet. :) and i loved how they tried there hardest to acoomodate your food choices. It gets very busy during semana santa, so if u want a quieter atmosphere do go on days were its not a holidays for this beautiful country But this place is fun and a good experience.

Room Tip: bring your own toilet paper when coming, if your use to the softer type. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Three nights on the Island of Ometepe .This resort is very quiet with some nice lakefront cottages.The rooms are pretty basic but clean and comfortable and nice views across the lake from your patio.The resturant overlooks the beach and lake serves good food with quite a lot of choice.and is reasonable. .The wind was blowing for most of our stay so we did not venture out on the kayaks .The Island is not at all touristy which we loved and seeing howler monkeys in the trees outside our room was great..
Wifi good from the reception area only.
If you want some down time this is a good place to climb into your hammock with a good book.
This property was booked thru Nicaragua Adventure Tours.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow on the beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exbritjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Better than average food with a friendly staff. Room wasn't anything special but was comfortable, basic. Calmest beach on island and great setting next to preserve. Howler monkees soft waves and Tona put you to sleep. Open dining area/bar was a good place to meet fellow travelers. Centrally located on island not too far from anything. We found it to be reasonable. Glad we found it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in one of the lakeside cabañas for three nights and found the hotel to be extremely accommodating and beautiful. Staying here gets you free admission in to the nature reserve next door, and you fall asleep hearing monkeys and frogs at night. Really peaceful, great swimming beach, and they'll help you arrange tours to the sights around the island. Ask for Ari as a tour guide!

Room Tip: The lakeside cabañas don't cost extra as far as I know and are incredibly scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliceelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The food was cheap and taste good! The ppl there are soooo sweeet! It is a beautiful scnerey and the rooms were nice and clean'! Im defintly goin back!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1shesroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

When we arrived, we were astounded by how pretty the place was. It has a perfect view of the sunset over the lake and a beautiful small sandy beach. The cabin was really cute and the AC was working well. We headed to the restaurant where we had steak and fish at a really good price, and both were delicious.

Then, as night settled, things started to get bad. It didn't take long for us to realize that the power was completely out. The waiters brought out a few candles but we could literally see nothing but our plates. We were surrounded by darkness. Their backup generator was not working so we brought the candles back to our room.

Then we realized that not only was our room completely dark (besides candlelight), there was no running water. This meant: NO showers, NO toilet, NO sink, NO AC, NO light for at least 4 hours (they told us the latest the blackouts ever lasted was until 10pm)!!! Sweaty, tired, and in need to use the bathroom, we passed out on one of the beds waiting for the electricity to come back on. Six hours later (midnight), the electricity was still out and didn't come back on until 4am.

Needless to say, it was hard to sleep at all and our stay was very uncomfortable. We had to leave the room to sleep in a hammock because it was so hot outside.

However, the next day, the staff was very nice and apologetic about what happened. He apologized over and over, refunded half of our room rate, gave us an hour of free kayaking, and let us stay in the room for however long we wanted to before checking out. If it weren't for this excellent service, I would have rated this much lower.

Other things to expect: no hot water showers, quite a few bugs that fly everywhere, good tours (went fishing, it was fun), bilingual staff, wi-fi only in the reception

Room Tip: Get a room with a hammock in front of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mishaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 8 in Altagracia
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Altagracia
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Bullshark
Hospedaje Bullshark
#3 of 8 in Altagracia
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Miraflores
Hostal Miraflores
#5 of 8 in Altagracia
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charco Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charco Verde

Address: Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Altagracia
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Charco Verde Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Charco Verde Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing