We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take "Rey del Cocibolca" ferry at San Jose del Sur by Charco Verde”
Review of Charco Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altagracia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charco Verde
Alajuela
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Take "Rey del Cocibolca" ferry at San Jose del Sur by Charco Verde”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Traveling to the island of Ometepe can be a horrible gut-wrenching experience, or a very pleasant, relaxing one. It all depends upon which boat/ferry you take. The best vessel to take by far is called ""Rey del Cocibolca" ferry at San Jose del Sur located near to Hotel & Restaurante Charco Verde. 1) It's a shorter ride. 2) It's a larger vessel, and more comfortable, & 3) It has comfortable padded booths and tables, good food service & you hardly notice the wind and waves. On the other hand, the "Ferry El Che" to Moyogalpa port, (or any other of the smaller boats for that matter), will be slower and ... if you're prone to sea-sickness you could vomit the whole way (during the windy season). If you're staying in Moyogalpa, it's still a better choice to take the early bus to the port: "San Jose del Sur" near Charco Verde (between Moyogalpa and Altagracia). If you arrive at 7:00am you'll stroll onboard unhurried for the 7:30am departure. "Rey del Cocibolca" is 55 cordoba (about $2.75), and "Ferry El Che" is 50 cordoba (about $2.50)... so why not pay the extra 25 cents and get a smooth ride?!!!

Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

Room Tip: Get on board quickly to get a booth by the window!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank userme1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
32
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Ometepe is a beautiful, idyllic place with two volcanos, small villages, small museums. Charco Verde is an ecological preserve on the west coast about a half hour drive from the ferry port. Long walking trails where you see the long-tailed magpie jay, and hear the scary sounds of the howler monkeys. Hotel has a large open restaurant/bar on the beach. Good wait staff that speak English. Rooms are bare with benches for clothes, you get your towel with you key at check in; and no hot water. Rooms have air-conditioning. Wifi only at reception area. Tip I learned -zip your unpacked suitcase. I carried home a 2 inch black scorpion.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank devidee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Rooms are okay. Reasonably priced and a decent size. I was there with 2 friends for 2 nights. We left early both mornings so can't comment on breakfast. We only had dinner one night. The beef was tough and chewey and the fish was just ok.

We hiked up both volcanoes and the check in staff arranged a guide from NGO who are an independent group on the island and he was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael_in_Nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

At this time of year, it is windy! Rooms were spacious, bathrooms sufficient, though not very well kept up, and no hot water. The air conditioner set off sparks and a puff of smoke; thankfully, the overhead fan was sufficient. Loved the chair and hammock on the porch outside. Great sunsets and starts. The restaurant and bar were adequate. Staff was attentive and helpful - prepared a cooler of ice and beer for a trip into the ecological reserve next door. Great hanging out under howler monkeys (watch out below!), watching herons and egrets.

Room Tip: The rooms off the beach (i.e. 21-22?) are newer and modern - and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We went there as tourist not familiar with the area and seeking some guidance of surrounding sights or activities and since this is a secluded spot you do need some help arranging this from staff and need transport. The guest service lady was beyond usless. It was not a language barrier it was a lack of caring. She would not even arrange a taxi for us and sent us off on a wild goose chase to locate a local bus ( which never came). The food was stale and thrown on plates and staff had to be tracked down for refills and orders that was attached to a reality expensive cost considering how poor the food and service was. The accommodation was nothing special either. Visit the area for the beach for a couple hours yes but do NOT stay there and bring your own food!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altagracia hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We enjoyed our time here making the most of the natural amenities it has to offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful making our stay as comfortable as possible. The accommodations are quite basic but with a standing fan and the ongoing breeze helped keep our room cool without the need for air conditioning. We also had comfy chairs on the balcony outside our room which was great for reading in the evening and watching the sunsets too.

We stayed 4 nights and our last night was the pre-party for a two day 'End of the Mayan Calendar' event - trucks hauled in fencing, furniture, staging and lighting which were then set up all day long. Our tranquille Charvo Verde was transformed into a rave party with the pre-party lasting until about 1am with loud base-driven music and the first groups of revelers arriving for the weekend. As we had to get up early the next morning to leave the island, this did little for our beauty sleep and left a bit of a bad taste in our mouth.

That said, the location on the west side of the island can't be beat and the more rural charm of the property makes for a laid-back retreat.

Room Tip: That said, they are building new units which look very nice and modern but they are set back on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpecialK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This place was highly recommended by others.
But.... after arriving the disappointments started:
no hot water, well we can live without it, but the price should have included this basic amenity.
The air-condition quit after half an hour. We moved to another room. The cochroaches and giant ants had an unending line to the bathroom.
Waiters are there only for props. One night we were told the restaurant opens at night at 8:30. We went to eat somewhere else. Next evening the restaurant closed at 8:00, no clients. Totally illogical operations. A restaurant should be open when there are hungry guests.
Breakfast are very basic affairs also.
This was our first and last visit here.

Room Tip: There are better places to stay on this nice island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 7 in Altagracia
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 6 in Balgue
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charco Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charco Verde

Property: Charco Verde
Address: Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Altagracia
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Charco Verde Hotel Isla De Ometepe
Charco Verde Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing