We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible! Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Ranked #1 of 8 Altagracia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

From the time we arrived, we were treated graciously. We stayed two nights and wish we could have rearranged our time in Nicaragua to stay longer. This was truely a highlight of our 10 day trip to Nicaragua and we would highly recommend this finca. The staff and hospitality was outstanding and the food was incredible. The rooms were clean and the hammocks were plentiful. Thank you to the lovely people who work hard to make this place so special.
The Paterno family from Portland, Oregon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaternoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We only stayed here for one night, with our second night on Totoco.

The island is humid and if you climb one of the volcanos, which each take 7 hours in 100% humidity, you will relish the luxurious rooms AC and breeze off the lake. The rooms are very nice, with wood slat shower floors and nice woodwork and tilework (gut-rehabbed in 2008).

The meals we had here were delicious and competatively priced. The filet minion was particularly succulent. In our estimation the meals (dinner and bfast were better than those at Totoco).

The view at Totoco is spectacular and worth a night, but for any nights after hikes or cycling, I'd recommend Finca San Juan.

If you can get a cab from myogalpa to your hotel with a stop at San Ramon falls worked into the price ($35-50), that would be ideal. Hike one of the volcanoes if you are sure footed. Take the chicken bus back to the ferry after your stay if you're over 6 feet as this will be memorable (and painful).

I'd recommend no more than 3 nights on the island, as Nicaragua has a lot of other interesting areas. If you are just planning on a relaxing getaway more time could be spent on Ometepe, we did two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_07_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed (two couples) mid December and I have to say it was the best two days of our trip.
We were first greeted by Ernesto, and then the owner, Cesar. Two of the nicest people you will meet. Ernesto accompanied us on a walking hike to the mineral springs and told us many interesting things about the country. Later, we had a wonderfully prepared family style dinner.
The food was delicious. We sat on the porch of our rooms in chairs and hammocks and watched the firefly show. Truly magical. The property is well located. Not a far drive to town. Yes, the road is rough getting in, but not impossible. But really, once we were there we did not want to leave. We took a drive the next day to see other places on the island. We also checked out other accomodations. This only affirmed that we had picked the best spot to stay.
Upon returning from our drive to town the second day, we had a lovely swim in the lake. The lake looked as if it would be a bit rough, but really it was wonderful! Saw a magnificent sunset with a Volcano view and then another fabulous dinner. Cesar kept us company at dinner and talked with us all about Nicaragua. Finca San Juan de la isla is a wonderful place. It is not luxury, but it is clean and comfortable, with excellent food, and fantastic hosts. You will feel like you are home and if you are like us, you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This place was amazing. The four of us were the only ones here, and we just stayed for one night, but it was definitely worth the trip. The drive into the property is pretty rough, we had a 4x4 vehicle so it was fine, but make sure you're prepared. Despite the bumpy ride, the trip in was beautiful - surrounded by a banana plantation and huge trees. We got there just as the sun set, and we were treated to a splendidly green scene with fireflies and a full moon. The word 'picturesque' could definitely describe it! :)

Cesar (the owner) came out to visit with us and he and his team cooked us an amazing dinner - the best steak I've ever had in my entire life. We sat outside enjoying the sounds of the waves, the crickets, and the rum :) The buildings were beautifully restored and the rooms were very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we had to get back to Managua the next day. Next time Cesar! :)

Note: there were definitely a few bugs - pack spray if you don't want to get bitten.

Room Tip: We just stayed in the rooms in the main building, but I think there are little cabanas you could ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynattirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here in August, and we had a terrific time. The property is a beautiful restored ranch right on the water. The trip down the dirt road from the main route to Altagracia will make you feel like you're really getting away! The San Juan also doubles as a functioning "finca," which is great for those seeking a non-intrusive, responsible tourism experience. From the hotel you can see the Vulcan Concepcion and look across Lake Nicaragua. Both excellent views.

We also can't say enough about the staff of the hotel. Marvin (head chef), Ernesto (manager and guide), both went above and beyond to facilitate our stay. The food was also absolutely amazing; fresh vegetables from the farm and fresh fish caught during the day. The guapote was especially delicious!

All in all, an amazing place and an amazing experience. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room, but you can rent a whole cottage for an extra $20/night. If you have the cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Rustic compared to larger cities, but absolutely gorgeous. Right on the water, with beautiful flowers. An actual working ranch, great food. Clean, with AC in each room. We had our own little hacienda. loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Staying at Finca San Jauan de la isla was a huge treat. It was so peaceful. We literally felt like we were the only people in the world there. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The showers were hot and had great pressure. We had amazing breakfasts and family-style dinners. The lake was perfect for swimming, the beach perfect for chilling, the scenery (volcanoes, lake, beach, lush trees/plants) was breathtaking. The only other people we saw were a couple of locals fishing. I spent a lot of time relaxing in the hammocks. After night fall, ligtning bugs twinkled in the darkness. Ometepe had so much character. It is a place like no other.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartbreakkid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
415 reviews
4.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
354 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
6.2 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
4.9 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 7 in Balgue
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca San Juan de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca San Juan de la Isla

Address: Empalme el Quino 200 mts norte. 2 km este., Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Altagracia
Price Range: £62 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca San Juan de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan de la Isla offers a beautiful scenery situated on the island of Ometepe. In this shelter visitors can enjoy the serenity, comfort, outdoor activities and adventure sports that Ometepe has to offer.In this place guests can relax in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the old hacienda, which dates back to the late nineteenth century and is now converted into a comfortable lodge with an enchanting rural country life and the beauty of the Cocibolca coast. San Juan de la Isla offers a variety of rooms and lodging options, as can be seen below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Finca San Juan de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca San Juan De La Isla Hotel Altagracia
Finca San Juan De La Isla Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing