We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Remote" but updated and gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Ranked #1 of 8 Altagracia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I definitely felt away from it all at Finca Dan Juan de la Isla. You can definitely get a sense of what the place used to be like, but it has been perfectly modernized. It has all of the character of an old plantation, but with new, gorgeous furnishings. There are so many places to spread out: hammocks, rocking chairs, swings, the beach, the common room.....My bedroom was simple but with a strong fan and air-conditioning which was VERY much needed. With AC on full blast and the room totally darkened, it took about 3 hours to feel "cool." But that's not a reflection on the hotel - it's just Nicaragua at 100 degrees! Staff was very sweet, but knowing Spanish is almost a must. The only irritating thing were the gnats. That's nothing the Finca could have helped - they are just everywhere outside, until the sun goes down. Try to snag a hammock that is positioned near a good cross-breeze. No bugs in the room, though, so that was excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

You are not near altagracia nor Santa Domingo, once you can get that through your head, you will so appreciate the beauty of the finca. The water ,sand, island in the distance makes it ideal. The staff is very nice, but you need to know Spanish, the food is surprisingly very good.

Oh the cabanas are nice and clean, but if anyone has a bug phobia , your in trouble.
Again, this is a fantastic b&b!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatoraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at Finca San Juan de la Isla with our young children and had a great time. The location on the island is beautiful - there is not another place that we came across where you can have a stretch of beach to yourself and the finca is relatively centrally located (if you have a car) to explore the island. The food is the best that we had during our stay in Nicaragua (we are vegetarians so our perspective is limited by this) - be sure to try to the refried beans with plantain chips and the huevos rancheros which comes with an incredible home-made salsa. The buildings of the finca are beautiful, although the rooms are basic. The staff is friendly and helpful. The one negative aspect of our experience (not a fault of the finca) is that there were a lot of gnats (evidently, March is a time when they are prevalent on certain parts of the island). The gnats do not bite and most of the time their presence did not bother us - however, on one night without a breeze, they were swarming with an intensity that made it impossible to be outside without being covered by them. We hiked to the Cascada San Ramon and kayaked the Rio Istian during our trip, both of which we would recommend. We also recommend the Cornerhouse restaurant in Moyagalpa (serves breakfast and lunch).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarsonFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Finca San Juan de la Isla was the perfect place to stay on Ometepe. I wish we had stayed more than two nights! The staff was hospitable and friendly, accommodations were perfect, food was delicious, and location was gorgeous. It felt like we owned the whole place. Do not miss out!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Finca is located about half a mile down a rough track by the shore of the lake. This was not a problem because we were transferred from the port and back by the Finca staff. The rooms are in attractive garden areas, and ours was a detached cabin, with a private shady patio at the front. The room was built in traditional style, but with good facilities.

The most enjoyable aspect of our stay was the lake view from the open sided dining areas and the thatched covered viewing point, from which a wonderful collection of birds and butterflies could be seen. Also, if you walked along the lake shore, local residents could be seen fishing, washing clothes and the children playing games on the beach, and occasionally horses and cattle coming down to drink. Access to the lake to swim was from the sandy beach, it was shallow for some distance out,and the water was warm, if a little wavy.

The food was quite good and the service friendly, but we seemed to have different staff serving each meal, and it wasn't always clear, because of language difficulties, just what we were ordering or getting.

Having seen the other accomodation, further along the beach, that were by the road, and less private, we would certainly return to this in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Very nice and cozy place. Marvin (Hotel maneger) really takes good care of you, makes good food and coffee. :) its a quit area with beautifuk nature and monkeys.
Just a 20 minute walk from the amacing laguna.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We took the ferry from granada to ometepe altagracia port which was very relaxing in a lounge chair for four hours with great views (it runs only mondays and thursdays).

PROS: The farm is located on a biological reserve about a 10-15 min drive from the ferry terminal, and 10 min or less from the town of Altagracia. This is the only luxurious resort with hot water (variable lowish water pressure), air conditioning, flushing toilets and very clean rooms that were screened and relatively bug and mosquito free after an extensive internet search.
It is right on a gorgeous beach with warm fresh water lake and waves on a sandbar that seems to go forever. There are views of the volcano and nature and banana trees and amazing grounds. The resort has monkeys, beautiful wildlife and flowers and is very relaxing.
We went horseback riding on the beach and resort which was incredible and rented bikes (they had good quality bikes) to the Aqua de Ojo natural swimming hole which was well-worth it.
We booked a hike of Volcan concepcion with the guide but despite being fit avid hikers - this was more like rock-climbing with a steep ascent and was tough on the knees down but was still beautiful and scenic.
The food was not cheap but was reasonably good and fresh and natural. It was of good quality and clean as we did not get sick from the food, ice or water served to us.
The tour and hiking guides arranged by the hotel were very good, friendly and spoke english well.

CONS: the organization over the internet was not great in terms of arranging pick up and required a few emails and a phone call.
Despite emails with Cesar, I never met the owner Cesar but met in passing for half a day, the manager who never told me his name. We briefly met him as he was repairing the wifi and thought he was the wifi repair person or one of the tourists on our second day. It took a while to figure out he was the manager and when he subsequently asked us how our food was - he did not seem to care when my husband told him his grilled chicken kebab was raw and we did not see or talk to him afterwards that night.
There did not seem to be any other english-speaking staff on site to help us or give us directions or let us know when or where to meet our hiking guides. One of the resort hiking guides who accompanied us on the drive in from the ferry was great, super friendly and helped us for one night but we were on our own for the rest. The manager was young and spoke english well - but was not helpful or friendly. He seemed to care more about the young tour groups and ignored everybody else - we got the sense that he did not feel we were important enough to talk to nor was he particularly friendly or welcoming to anybody older - including a retired couple who had a room with a malfunctioning air conditioning for two nights in a row, wanting to be relocated and could not speak spanish. They were even more upset they had to wait over an hour to even order food as the small tour group was given priority. As there is no transport in/out of the Finca - one had to rely on the resort for all the tours, transport and guides and food which were much higher priced and considerably more expensive than outside the resort. Plus breakfast was not included nor was drinking water which added considerably to the expense. This may have been worth it if the resort was more organized, had better service and more friendly and helpful english-speaking staff like the incredible hiking guide that we met on our first night. Arguably the most beautiful, well-located, clean, comfortable relaxing resort on the island - and I don't mind the expense and normally don't think service is such a big deal but it was enough of a deterrent on this visit. I would not go back unless the organization and service improved and was somewhat more welcoming.

Room Tip: the family lodge was great and very roomy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousqueries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altagracia
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
415 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
6.2 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
123 reviews
4.9 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 7 in Balgue
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca San Juan de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca San Juan de la Isla

Address: Empalme el Quino 200 mts norte. 2 km este., Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Altagracia
Price Range: £62 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca San Juan de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan de la Isla offers a beautiful scenery situated on the island of Ometepe. In this shelter visitors can enjoy the serenity, comfort, outdoor activities and adventure sports that Ometepe has to offer.In this place guests can relax in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the old hacienda, which dates back to the late nineteenth century and is now converted into a comfortable lodge with an enchanting rural country life and the beauty of the Cocibolca coast. San Juan de la Isla offers a variety of rooms and lodging options, as can be seen below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Finca San Juan de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca San Juan De La Isla Hotel Altagracia
Finca San Juan De La Isla Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing