We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's quiet.....”
Review of Hotel Castillo

Hotel Castillo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altagracia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Castillo
Ranked #5 of 7 Altagracia B&B and Inns
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's quiet.....”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Rooms are with private bathroom and only $15 for a double, but the bathrooms are in need of cleaning and redecoration. It's a quiet place and great to relax outside, they have a resataurant (but watch out for the tax/service charge!)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden area, rooms 13 and 14 are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altagracia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The "chico" on the ferry lied to me. When I said I was going to Hospedaje Ortiz, he told me that it was closed. This is a sleazy trick that is used by hotel touts the world over, and no one should fall for it, for forgive it. I had stayed previously twice at Hotel Castillo, in 2009 and 2012, I found it noisy and disagreeable; the room was cheap but everything else was sky-high. The advertised wifi was shut off at 8:00 pm, and at 8:00 in the morning I had a prolonged, bitter quarrel at the front desk, because they couldn't turn the wifi back on until the right person would arrive. Hotel Ortiz is great at basic level; Hotel Central, on the main drag, is nice and not prohibitively expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baqarah131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altagracia hotels

Long Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

A guy on the ferry offered us a good deal (12$ for a double room with private bath)
It is a good starting point when getting to the island. They have drinks and serve food. The bath room was pretty.

The noise level at night was very high due to a new bar that is facing the courtyard.

We rented overpriced bikes for the next day. Don't get them there as they are in bad shape and not worth your money. I even had to drive a kids bike.

The owners however were nice and let us deposit our luggage in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austrianangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We also got there because of a guy on the boat.

We had called and made a reservation for that night at hotel central. We told them we would get there with the midnight ferry from san carlos. They took my name and said everything was fine.

We met other guys on the boat who where going to hotel castillo and had taxi driver waiting for them at the port. We joined them and got to hotel central. Everything was locked and they would not answer.... so they took us to hotel castillo !

The room was clean and simple but had everything we needed at 1 am ! They tried to have us pay 30$ for the room, we said hotel central was just 18$ and they offered us dorms for 8$ each... and then when we got there he said : ok... what about a room for 18$ ! So we finally had a room... it means you can deal for the price !

Breakfast was cheap and good, wifi, rent bike cheap also, gave directions in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zosianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altagracia hotels
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Hospedaje Ortiz
Casa Hospedaje Ortiz
#1 of 6 in Altagracia
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 7 in Altagracia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Bullshark
Hospedaje Bullshark
#3 of 7 in Altagracia
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Villa Aller
#4 of 7 in Altagracia
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo

Property: Hotel Castillo
Address: Iglasia, 1c S; 1/2 c O, Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Altagracia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altagracia
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hotel Castillo Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Altagracia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing