We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Morgan's
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Paraiso(Isla de Ometepe)
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Altagracia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Playa Santa Martha(Isla de Ometepe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loma del Socorro(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$49
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$360
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
131
42
20
27
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
42
20
27
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily dinnercentral americahave a good timetree housedown to earthprivate casitafree coffeewatch the sunsetgreat place to stayoutdoor showermain areagreat opportunitycool placehorse ridingconception volcanomosquito netdorm room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Total party hostel. If you want to get drunk every night this is your place. If you want a place to sleep, I recommend the Santa Cruz Hostel up the road with same price dorms, a connected bathroom and WiFi.

Had a full hour convo with a guy about his binge drinking days at Berkeley. Nice guy, worried about his liver.

The architecture is cool though!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is one of my Top 5 favorite hostels in over 3 years of traveling. Yes, they have some bugs (it's Nicaragua after all) but the reason they have bugs is to keep the cabins airy and cool at night. The staff has all worked there for months which says a lot to me. They have a great hostel family atmosphere and are always willing to help answer questions. They do love to drink at Little Morgan's and there is no denying that. The food is surprisingly excellent as well. Breakfast to the family style dinners at night. It made our trip the island that much better. The pet pig was my favorite by far!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place is somewhat known as the party hostel of the Santa Cruz/Santo Domingo area. This is more or less true as there is a bar and a “party vibe”, but you can choose to opt in or out of this by staying in one of the dorms directly above the bar or in a more removed cabin.

This hostel seems to attract the kind of long-stay traveler who prides him or herself on being there for so long they can’t even remember arriving, but honestly haven’t done anything but sit around and drink beer and chain smoke for days or weeks on end. There are also the one-to-two day travelers like us who just wanted to be surrounded by some other people, as it seemed the other hotels in town were pretty much empty, save the bugs.

While the staff was very nice (MJ and Tom), we didn’t feel this place was worth $10 a night. Our room in one of the removed cabins had no door, and the frustratingly immobile wooden lockers that could be easily hacked open did not give us an extra feeling of safety or security. The mosquito nets had large holes in them and these were very important given the bug situation (large spiders, mosquitoes, gnats, lizards, beetles etc). There was also no wifi for guests on the premises.

The food was mehh, apparently the woman with the restaurant down the street does pretty well with the spillover from the hostel. We don’t know where else we would have stayed in this area, perhaps we would have gone to another part of Isla de Ometepe had we had more time. Overall, the prices are a bit high, we payed the same in San Juan del Sur for a spotless room with air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Little Morgans is a really beautiful property, with lush tropical trees and flowers surrounding the lakeside bungalows. I had a comfy bed in the bungalow, but 2 of my friends slept outside in hammocks to save money. Its a very outdoorsy place for nature lovers (also cold water showers only) so don't come here expecting a hotel. Swarms of butterflies scattered the path as I made my way to breakfast each morning. Amazing view of the sunset and volcano from the lookout in one of the bungalows.

Very friendly staff - the owner came and drank with us, and remembered all of our first names. One morning he found a beautiful turtle crawling through the garden and came to show us.

It was not very busy when I was there, but I was travelling with a group of 8. Maybe another 10 people staying there, so together we all had a good party. There was a huge storm one night and we lost power, so we all had to stay in the bar and get drunk by candlelight. But from the rooms you can't hear the noise from the bar, so you can have a quiet relaxing night if you wish.

Hire a bike and ride to the volcanic springs (Ojo de Agua). Or take a fishing trip with the staff who will help you cook it up for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleeson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

For the region they charged us quite more than average, for a bed full of dead bugs and bedbugs. The private rooms had lots of mosquitos and other insects while each mosquito net over the beds had holes in it. We even had scorpions and huge spiders falling off our shoes, so better check that! Each surface was covered in mosquitos. The staff was okay, but made kind of a superior impression, they were not locals, but travellers which spent half the day watching soap operas - how exotic. Sandwiches were totally overpriced (price of a lunch in a restaurant), but for the hike up the volcano we were dependent on that, such an exploitation of our needs. No WiFi, although internet was there for the staff (constant Facebook chat sounds while playing music in the bar).
The place is at the water, but hard to enter because it is totally rocky - huge spiky rocks. So you have to walk 15min to the beach anyway.

So if you want to party, get drunk, money isnt a problem and not mind insects. Go for it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews