We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Finca del Sol
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Paraiso(Isla de Ometepe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Altagracia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Playa Santa Martha(Isla de Ometepe)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loma del Socorro(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$55
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$257
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gran Oceano(San Juan del Sur)
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
349
70
15
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
70
15
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo lodgewonderful hostscomposting toiletshot watereach morningeco lodgemaderas volcanostayed nightshighlight of our tripa wonderful staybreakfast was deliciousgoatworking farmfrench toastkeep in mindarranging transportationkayak trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at Finca del Sol for 4 nights and loved it! This was the best accommodations of our two weeks in Nicaragua. We enjoyed the Bamboo Lodge…spacious and comfortable for two people…definitely worth the price. Sheri and Cristiano are excellent hosts…friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Breakfasts are delicious…large portions, fresh local fruit, served in a beautiful setting amidst flowers and a view of the volcano. Their eco-friendly farm/lodging is to be commended. If you want to relax and get away from it all, this is the place to go! They will help arrange taxis and daily excursions, and the guides and taxi drivers are awesome. The views of the volcano and the sunsets are amazing. We would definitely return if we ever visit Ometepe again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCKlancpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Finca del Sol is one of the most beautiful places we stayed in Nicaragua. We were fortunate enough to secure La Luna for five days in February. Our lovely cabana had a beautiful view of Volcan Concepcion and every day we found the Finca's sheep grazing just outside our door. The cross breeze through the cabana made for comfortable sleeping and a nice temperature throughout the day.

Cristiano and Sheri are amazing hosts, from tips about what to do and how to get around, to questions about their beautiful Finca, it is apparent that they are there for their guests. Breakfasts at Finca del Sol won't soon be forgotten, beautiful fresh eggs with bright orange yolks, fresh herbs, fruit and bread made for a delicious start every day.

Another amazing thing about Finca del Sol is the interaction you have with the other guests. You have the option to share breakfast each morning with the other guests, in our experience we met several people that we ended up going on a kayak trip with and sharing a few meals. A really special way to engage with other travellers.

On our relaxing stay on Ometepe we swam at Ojo de Agua, walked along Santa Cruz beach, kayaked in the Rio Istian and just enjoying the enchanting surroundings of Finca del Sol and Isla Ometepe.

Thank you Cristiano and Sheri. Hope we are back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julienne_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was probably our favorite place we stayed in Nicaragua. Sheri and Christiano were fabulous hosts and very accommodating. The fresh, healthy breakfast in the morning is a must! While we were there we decided to hike up to the look out of Volcan Maderas without a guide. Sheri and Christiano gave us directions for a short cut through their property to the trail and it turned out to be an fun adventure. I would recommend a guide if you're skiddish about getting lost, but for us it was a climb up and climb down thing, you end up somewhere not to far from where you should be even if you get off the trail. (I'm pretty sure we started in the wrong place and came down in an even different place but ended up back where we needed to be). Sheri, also set up a half day cab for us with Eddie. He was great. I recommend it if you only have a couple days, because its the cheapest way to see the most on the island and Eddie is a great guide. At night we were in shortly after dark, as we were too tired from our daily activities to do much else, but the walk down to Santa Domingo for food and drinks is not long, just carry a light. The property is great at night. I haven't seen the stars that bright in about 6 years probably. Breathtaking! The hammocks were great for evening relaxation with the stars. We stayed in the Cabina de Sol. The cabins are wonderful, clean and have great airflow. Water was hot in the afternoon, but even at night it wasn't too cold. I would certainly recommend this place if your on Ometepe and looking to leave the grid, which I also recommend doing.

Room Tip: Cabina de Sol was perfect for two people and much more space than we needed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My boyfriend and I were greeted by Edi, the happiest cab driver ever, who was willing to oblige our detour to Ojo de Agua before even us checking into Finca Del Sol. Although our cabin 'Sol' was adorable and designed beautifully, the cross ventilation was lacking and we would suggest booking the larger cabin located at the top of the property where the sunset and volcano can be seen and the breeze was reported to be stronger. Sheri and Cristiano were gracious hosts who arranged our hike of Concepcion and prepared delicious breakfasts for us in the mornings.

Be prepared, you are visiting a farm and insects and bugs should be anticipated but this should not be a deterrent. Also, you are not in close proximity to a lot of restaurants and so we found ourselves walking 15-30mins to some delicious, well-worth-the-walk restaurants. Bring a headlight as it becomes very dark. Alexis, our guide on Concepcion, is a great guy and the best guide you could ask for. Finally, be sure to read the story of how Finca del Sol came to be as it is a great story that any traveler will appreciate.

Room Tip: The red cabin has the best view and breeze, followed by the blue cabin.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihearttraveling029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights. We should have booked a third (and avoided our rather less relaxing night in Moyagalpa). The bungalows were very cute. Well constructed, designed, furnished and well tended. Sheri and Christiano were fantastic hosts. We really loved the breakfasts. This is definitely a place to kick back and relax in. Be prepared for the composting toilets. They are clean and they were fine but possibly not to everyone's liking. Sheri and Christiano also have the only road bikes on the Island which definitely come into their own over the heavy mountain bikes available elsewhere now the paved road has been installed. For a relaxing, welcoming stay with great views we would absolutely recommend a stay at Finca del Sol.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallAndySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews