We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large lot, lots of privacy, very nicely built cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Finca del Sol
Ranked #1 of 4 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Great place to say in Ometepe. The owners Christiano and Ana were extremely helpful, proving the most detailed information available on the island. I really liked the large grounds, and all the space between the cabanas, my cabana had a view of the mountain. I was on a short trip so every information counted (ferry schedules, where to rent a motorbike, transportation to the lodging). We stayed in the the orange bungalow with a queen bed and 2 bunk beds. It was the largest of the 3 cabanas they have. I wish I could have stayed longer. A very peaceful place.

Pros:
- They only have 3 cabanas so they really take care of you and have great information.
- The cabana's are located far from each other so you can have privacy. The lot is huge.
- I could see the Constation volcano from our cabana.
- The bungalow was spacious, and it had amenities that were useful - such as a water jug in the room, chairs inside and outside the cabana, hammocks.
- Hot shower was available. (depending how long the first shower is, you may need to wait a bit until it warms up again for the 2nd person). Nice large shower.
- My flight from NY was cancelled from due to storm and I lost 2 days of my vacation, I told them asap and they were very understanding of the situation.
- cabana was nicely decorated, and very comfortable.
- Cabana was spacey,$55 for 2 people (off season).
- fireflies at night were amazing.

Cons:
- private transportation from San Jose to Santa Cruz was $20 (2 people) $25 if from Motogalpa, and from Santa Cruz to Altegracias was $20. That seems to be the going rate for the island, and you would be helping out the local business. But I thought it was kind of high for the distance.
- the common area is in the back of the lot, more likely you will spend more time in your cabana that the common area.
- it's an eco lodge and the toilet is a compost toilet where you use chaff instead of water to flush the toilet. There was no smell and I had no problems.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matatu7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was a great place to just relax, read a book, pet the farm dogs, and watch the cloud changes over Concepcion and the amazing colors of sunset. My husband and I were on our honeymoon, so we didn't feel the need to do much more than swim in the lake and walk down the street for some grub at local restaurants. The binder in the bungalow was very helpful for understanding the area and for recommendations. Finca del Sol was obviously a labor of love and I'm glad it was recommended to us by friends. Thanks to Sherry for helping us with our rides!

Room Tip: The Bamboo Lodge offers the best views and a nice big covered porch area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Finca del Sol was one of the highlights of our trip to Nicaragua! The only regret my boyfriend and I had was not being able to stay longer. Our cabin was beautifully decorated, clean and the price was very much reasonable. Cristiano and his staff were professional and accommodating. He was kind enough to recommend activities for us to do as well as coordinating them. After spending an afternoon at Ojo de Agua, we returned to our cabin for massages that Cristiano had scheduled for us. We awoke the next morning to fresh coffee and a healthy breakfast where we chatted with other guests. By then he had already arranged to have Jaime - our guide - meet us for our hike to Cascada Jerusalen. He even arranged for the taxi's back Moyogalpa & from San Jorge to Granada. We were so thankful for all of his assistance, he truly helped to make our stay in Ometepe a memorable one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights while visiting Ometepe in early May. We had a wonderful time! From the start, everything worked out great. Christiano, the owner, helped coordinate travel from the ferry to the B&B, with a stop at Ojo de Aqua for a refreshing dip in the water and a tasty lunch.

We stayed in the Bamboo lodge, which was spacious, comfortable, and had wonderful views of the sun setting behind Concepcion. There was also a great sense of privacy and it was very peaceful. Christiano was there to welcome us as soon as we arrived and provided a great overview of the property and surrounding area. There was also a binder filled with information about where to eat, what to do, and how to get around. This was very helpful. We had dinner the first night at the farm "next door," which features a brick oven for pizza. We loved it so much we went back on our third night.

One of the best parts of staying at Finca del Sol is breakfast in the morning. It was prepared fresh everyone morning and absolutely delicious!

The location was great for getting around the island. We stayed relatively local, taking a short hike up Maderas the first day and walking to Balgue on our second day. We spent the afternoons in the hammocks outside of our cabin.

We would recommend Finca del Sol to anyone traveling to Ometepe and would certainly stay there again if we're lucky enough to get back!

Room Tip: All of the cabins looked very nice, but we were very happy to be in the Bamboo lodge. It seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GretchenJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We loved staying at Finca del Sol. The location is great, easy to get to and convenient once you get there to come and go to the beach and the little town of Balgue. We were most impressed by the bungalows made completely from natural materials on the property such as adobe, thatch etc. Also each bungalow has privacy and a great view towards the volcano as well as all the comfort you need. Shower was great with plenty hot water and beds are very comfy. We loved seeing the sheep that live on the farm, grazing and playing in front of our bungalow. Christiano our host made a good breakfast which was served in a great little spot in his garden which is most tranquil and idyllic. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicaraguaYogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at Finca del Sol with my partner for 3 nights...

It's a very unique vibe, 3 unusual cabins set amongst an organic farm and gardens. Ours was a bright blue cabin, and was very spacious, comfortable bed and mosquito net.

The owners Sheri and Christiano are welcoming, and are very happy to talk about the lodges, the area and how the place came about etc..

The composting toilet was an interesting vibe, but all part of the experience, which i might add we enjoyed very much.

Breakfast was totally homemade, and included pancakes, french toast, ripe fruits and grapefruit juice. We also tried the coffee and thought it was pleasant.

For lunch or dinner there is not a restaurant on site, however there are good options fairly locally. We ate great fresh pasta and bread, washed down with rum cocktails at Cafe Campestre, which is about a 25 minute walk down the hill from Finca Del Sol.

We also enjoyed a night of Pizza at Zipiliote, again about 20 minutes walk from the FDS. It's accessible either from the top of FDS or from the main road side.

By day, we hired bikes from just outside the entrance to the Finca, and spent our time exploring the beaches and little lunch places around the area. There is a great little natural spa with good food and drink options about a 20 min ride from FDS. The setting is great and the water so clear.

We totally loved Omitepe in its entirety, along with it's wildlife, great organic produce and amazing views. It's a great place to cut yourself off and enjoy the countryside of Nicaragua.

There are hiking and kayaking excursions available on the island, and Sheri and Christiano are happy to book these ahead of time for you.

Great place! Thanks!

Daniel and Gavin

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danibroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at Finca Del Sol, in the yellow cabin (El Sol) for four nights in May 2013. Every part of the communication and organisation with Cristiano and Sheri went smoothly; from the email communications in advance, to the taxis (Eddie on Ometepe and Pedro in San Jorge) and tour guide (Efraim) they arranged for us. Everyone was helpful and friendly, and as a result our trip was as relaxing and stress-free as we'd hoped. And they have three really sweet-natured dogs, which is always a pleasure when you're missing your own four-legged friends!

The cabin was clean and comfortable, with fly screens ant the window and mosquito netting around the bed. This enabled us to keep the windows open all night, and take advantage of the breeze (we needed it; it was HOT). As others have said, the composting toilet was fine: a little different, but you quickly get used to it. And although there is solar-powered hot water available, I found the room-temperature 'cold' water to be perfect for the time of year.

Cristiano's breakfasts were generous and delicious (huge bowl of fresh fruit salad, plus pancakes/omelette/crepes depending on what he has to hand that day), and he had a big, chilled, and much appreciated bottle of Tona (beer) waiting for us every day when we arrived home from our activities. There's also a supply of free clay-filtered drinking water provided in each cabin.

The views of Concepcion volcano from each of the cabins is spectacular, and the whole property feels spacious and tranquil. Every night (except the night following our Maderas trek, when Cristiano ordered a food delivery for us) we walked down to the beach (turn left at the Finca Del Sol gate, then turn right when you reach the T-junction) every night for dinner at Los Cocos Comedor restaurant, which we'd thoroughly recommend. Their prices are low, the food is great, their homemade lemonade is the best I've ever tasted, and they are a lovely family.

We also highly recommend Efraim, who guided us on our Maderas hike, and Eddie the taxi driver.

We hope to return to Ometepe one day to tackle Concepcion, and would definitely stay here again if on that side of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#4 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca del Sol

Address: | 350 m. East of the Crossroads in Santa cruz, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol Guesthouse offers three beautiful bungalows set on the foothills of Volcano Madaras, near beach, hiking and restaurants in the village of Santa Cruz in the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Tours, breakfast and massages available on-site. Volcano Madaras hikes start from our backyard! Food produced from our organic farm and locally sourced whenever possible:-) Spacious bungalows have everything you need to be comfortable including hot water and sunset views of the volcano. Bungalow feature orthopedic mattress, mosquito netting, private bathroom with hot water, fans, screened windows, DVD player and purified drinking water. A sustainable, Eco-friendly option with off grid power (no blackouts) and dry composting toilets. The property has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Finca del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing