We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finca del Sol is a great choice on Ometepe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Finca del Sol
Ranked #1 of 4 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Finca del Sol. Our bungalow was clean and spacious located in a beautiful corner of the property. The shower had plenty of hot water, the best of our two week trip. The breakfasts are delicious and filling, and served in a beautiful garden where we took lots of photos of the flowers and vegetation. Sherie was always cheerful, knowledgeable, and helpful, telling us about hikes and other local attractions as well as lining up taxis for us. The corner store, restaurant, bike rentals and other hotels in Santa Cruz are an easy 5 to 10 minute walk up the street. All the good reviews I read about this place were true.

Room Tip: There are only 3 bungalows, each sleeping 3 - 4 people so make your reservations early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgrif2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Well maintained, "rustic" B&B with more than the expected creature comforts. The grounds were a delight and the breakfasts delicious. Lots of butterflies and little critters. Don't bother them and they won't bother you. Owners on site and more than willing to assist helping arrange guides for hiking, transportation or suggesting activities. Not for everyone but if you enjoy "glamping" you will definitely enjoy any one of the three cottages here. Be advised that one of the cottages does not have hot water.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank gdeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just returned from a great trip to Nicaragua where we spent three nights at Finca del Sol. Sheri and Christiano, the owners, were gracious, attentive, and knowledgeable. The price was GREAT. They provide extensive information (put those guide books away!) for all questions you have--and they leave you alone to find your way if you want to do that. We stayed in the two cabins--they were beautifully furnished. The commitment to sustainability--seen in the food, the bathrooms, the construction, the use of solar power--is a strong statement on their part about what matters. They are clear on the website about the match between their place and the needs of their guests. Read it and once you commit, you will be delighted you did.

And Ometepe is amazing. So much to do...and a lot of just relaxing. It invites you to slow down.

Room Tip: The blue cabin has a better view and nicer breeze and great hot water. But either of the two cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Sheri and Christiano are wonderful hosts. We enjoyed three peaceful nights at their beautiful retreat. The farm is off the main roads, but centrally located where it is quiet and peaceful with lots of open space for the kids to run around. We could visit and pet the sheeps and goats. We even had a nice view of Volcano Concepcion. Kids thought the cabin was really neat and adventerous and didn't even care about the composting toilets. I thought the cabin was super clean and comfortable. It was a great experience into eco accommodations. We loved the homemade breakfasts and having the help of Sheri to arrange island activities and having restaurant recomendations. Ometepe is a must on any visit to Nicaragua and Finca del Sol makes it that much more special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveler671126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed in the yellow Sol cabin for 2 nights. The cabin was beautifully constructed from local materials, with stone floors, a big bathroom (composting toilet is no big deal and didn't smell at all) and a comfortable bed with mosquito net. Lots of thoughtful details in the room, like a guide to the island and actiivities, a laminated wildlife guide and ferry schedules. Reception is a 5-10 minute walk away up a hill, so you can't exactly pop by to ask questions and it's good that almost everything is covered in the info in the room. Breakfasts were delicious, and the guide Sheri arranged for a hike to the scenic viewpoint on the volcano was excellent. (The hike took about 3 hours, including frequent stops as the guide talked about plants, farmland and animals - not particularly strenuous but I was tired afterward anyway because of the heat!) A kayak trip to the Rio Istiam was AMAZING - so many beautiful birds! Biking to the Ojo de Agua was also a nice outing.

The Hotel Santa Cruz restaurant was a 5-10 minute walk away with a fairly wide menu and tasty food. El Encanto seemed to be closed when I tried to go, but others reported having eaten there...very mysterious!

As a solo traveler, if I had it to do over again, I might try to stay in a lower-priced, more modest place in Santa Cruz, Balgüe or Santo Domingo. I can see Finca del Sol being amazing for a romantic getaway, especially the more luxurious cabins higher on the hill. The Sol cabin was roomy and very nice, but didn't have much of a view and it was too buggy to sit outside. Still, I very much appreciated how organized and informative Sheri and Cristiano were, and what they've done to build this place off the grid is inspiring. As is Ometepe - don't miss it!

Room Tip: The Sol cabin was fine, but the others seemed to have better views and more of an outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The reviews on Trip Advisor led us to book 3 nights at this placet and we are very happy we did. Sheri and Christiano have made a special place at Finca del Sol. From great comfortable unique eco accommodations to a great homemade breakfast our stay was very memorable. The grounds are beautiful and the service is excellent. We stayed in the "La Luna" cabin and very pleased. Relaxing on the hammock was so nice while being visited by Daisy and Bessy the two friendly goats. Dinner at El Encanto our first night was excellent. A visit earlier in the day to Little Morgan's for lunch and a cold Tona was great. On our second day Sheri/Christiano arranged for a guide for our volcano trek to Maderas. Efriam our guide was english speaking and excellent and made the pace comfortable. The hike took 8 and half hours return. The Maderas volcano hike is a very muddy and at times steep hike (and wet given you are in the clouds). The next day we elected to rent bicycles and wheeled our way to Merida then back to Madelegna and then to Ojo del Agua and return the bikes to Santa Cruz before 6:00 PM. No doubt a full day experiencing/blending with the Nicaraguan culture. Dinner at the Hostel Santa cruz was very good. Our host arranged for reliable taxi service back to Moyogalpa for the ferry back to the mainland and onward relaible taxi service (Pedro) to Granada. We would highly recommend a stay at the Finca del Sol....you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: While the Bamboo may have been the preferred choice the "La Luna" was very, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

When we got to the ferry terminal we were an hour early but the times we were given were wrong so we made it just onto the 11am ferry. You have to pay a 10nc tax on entry to the port and 45nc for the ferry which takes about an hour. It was quite cloudy over the lake and we had a little rain. When we got to Ometepe the weather was good! We stopped for a quick drink and found our taxi driver which I had pre booked. He took us to Finca del sol but on the way stopped at Ojo de Ogua so we could have a swim and some drinks.

Ojo de Ogua is a natural spring water swimming hole and it is amazing! Well worth a stop! You can relax in the pure clear water and also order fresh coconut milk or cocktails! You pay a small fee to enter and it is really worth it. There is also a restaurant there but we didn't get a chance to try it out as our taxi had another job on later that day.

Finca del sol - we arrived at finca del sol and were very impressed! There are 3 private cabins and we had chosen the bamboo lodge. They are set in beautiful grounds surrounded by wildlife with an amazing view of volcano conception. It's an Eco friendly place and the cabins are powered by solar energy, everything is recycled, the produce they use is grown here or locally and have compostable toilets. The cabins are off a really high standard, lovely comfortable beds, hammocks outside to chill out in. The breakfasts here are amazing too! They make all there own bread and the food we had was delicious. They also helped us organise the trips we wanted to do.

We were exhausted after after our afternoon drinking so had a long nap. Woke up when dark and went out to find somewhere to eat.

We found a place to have some drinks and eat called Hostel Santa Cruz. A nice wooden bar with fairy lights and large solid wooden tables. It also had wifi which was cool. We just chilled out here for the evening drinking beer. We tried out the food very reasonable and tasted good, easy dining.

Sunday 15th December

After an amazing breakfast, omelette with parmesan, basil and tomato. Toast from the homemade bread and a fruit salad we got ready for out hike.

We decided to do the 4 hour hike up Volcano Madaras to the lookout and the petroglyphs. It was a good cool day to do it on, but must admit I was quite worried about my fitness levels. Our guide was really nice and he met us at Finca del sol. He took us to the base of the cloud forest and showed us lots of wildlife, plants, birds, cappuccino monkeys, petroglyphs - carvings in volcanic rock from the last explosion. It started off quite level, as we passed through fields & forest's. You have to pay a 25 nc entry fee to the trail and we had booked our guide through Finca del sol which was $24. As we got into the forest it started getting steeper and more slippery. It was really exhausting and tough. It felt great once you reached the view point though. It took us an hour and a half. We sat up there for about half an hour recovering before we started the journey back down. It's quite slippery and dangerous trying to get back down at first but not as exhausting! Glad we did it as the feeling is great afterwards!

When we got back we decided to take a walk down to the beach for a dip. Didn't stay too long as it's not as appealing with black volcanic sand and lake water and then it started raining to we nipped into a local restaurant for some lunch.

Los CoCos Comedor very simple menu typical Nicaraguan cuisine, the guy didn't speak any English but was very helpful. I ordered Chicken ( that was as detailed as it got) Gerard ordered beef. The food was lovely, my chicken was nicer, grilled tasted fantastic served with rice plantine and salad. We also tried some of the homemade chocolate.

That evening we went for a few drinks at Little Morgans which is also a bar, we climbed the tree house to the top floor view point and had a drink. It was very busy in there lots of travellers and people who looked like they had been there for years. Got invited to eat a communal lasagne, but declined and also got invited to there full moon beach party the next day.

We left to find a restaurant called El Encanto which was a bit of a walk away off road in the pitch black. But it was in darkness when we got there so we went back to Hostel Santa Cruz instead.

Monday 16th December.

We decided to do the Kayak tour of the river Istiam. It was a fantastic trip, we got a taxi to Merida at Caballiot Mar, it's only 8km away but the road is awful and extremely bumpy. ($15 taxi each way) we kayaked to the lake which is a good strenuous hour around the side of Volcano Maderas. The views are fantastic of both Volcanos. When we got to the lake our guide took us around and we saw lots of birds a couple of turtles but unfortunality we did not see any alligators. The trip was great though and we were out for a good 3 hours. (Trip $25 each) when we got back to Caballiots del Mar our lunch was waiting and it was amazing! Fried fish freshly caught with rice, salad & plantine. Highly recommend and make sure you stay for lunch and order fish!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 51 in Isla de Ometepe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 7 in Santa Cruz
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 7 in Balgue
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca del Sol

Address: | 350 m. East of the Crossroads in Santa cruz, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £38 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol Guesthouse offers three beautiful bungalows set on the foothills of Volcano Madaras, near beach, hiking and restaurants in the village of Santa Cruz in the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Tours, breakfast and massages available on-site. Volcano Madaras hikes start from our backyard! Food produced from our organic farm and locally sourced whenever possible:-) Spacious bungalows have everything you need to be comfortable including hot water and sunset views of the volcano. Bungalow feature orthopedic mattress, mosquito netting, private bathroom with hot water, fans, screened windows, DVD player and purified drinking water. A sustainable, Eco-friendly option with off grid power (no blackouts) and dry composting toilets. The property has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Finca del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing