We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing lodge surrounded by natural beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca del Sol
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing lodge surrounded by natural beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Finca del Sol and loved it. We stayed in the Bamboo Cabin Lodge which I highly recommend out of the 3 options. It is beautiful inside with a lovely tile floor, nice tile details throughout the bathroom and plenty of space with fresh air flowing through the many windows. No AC but you hardly need it with all the windows (plus there is a small fan which we used at night to keep us cool). The two hammocks on the porch are ideal for relaxing in the morning after one of Finca del Sol's delicious, filling breakfasts (french toast, pancakes, or eggs with a big bowl of fresh fruit). It was nice to have the cleaning service daily- our little home was always clean when we got home from a day of adventuring around Ometepe.

Sheri & Cristiano were lovely hosts. Sheri helped us rent a motorbike just outside Finca del Sol's gates. The men we rented the bike from were very nice & helpful and it was a great way to see Ometepe. Sheri also helped us organize our hike of Volcano Maderas, with a very nice tour guide named Efrain. The hike is amazing and very easy to arrange from Finca del Sol. Sheri & Cristiano have a beautiful space: flora & fauna galore, great views, with good access to restaurants and the beach in Santa Cruz (easily accessible by foot). Enjoying breakfast in their outdoor garden space every morning was a great way to meet other travelers and hear about their favorite parts of Ometepe. We can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Bamboo Cabin Lodge is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    66
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
250
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Finca del sol was beautiful and very relaxing. Sheri and Christiano were amazing hosts and set up all of our daily adventures including hiking the volcano, kayaking and renting a taxi for the day. It made out trip so easy and logistic free. They have spent so much time making their land into an oasis for their visitors and it shows. The property is lovely and the food was great! Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Finca del Sol for two nights in November and had a great time. Our friends stayed the year before and it was the only place we wanted to stay in Ometepe. Sheri and Christiano are wonderful hosts, super helpful, and cook a mean breakfast. The cabins are super private, which is nice. The location is perfect and in walking distance of a great restaurant, the lake, a small market for beers and drinks, motorcycle rental, etc. If you're going to Ometepe this is where you should be staying.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vudores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I were fortunate to escape the frigid temperatures of our season and land upon Ometepe Island for a siesta of sorts. Sheri and Cristiano were delightful hosts as were their dogs, sheep and the very friendly, curious goats!
We treasured the privacy of our cabin and enjoyed the leisurely walk through the trees, bird watching on route for breakfast.
If a guide or a taxi was required for an outing, Sheri made the arrangements and a packed lunch was available if requested.
We have wonderful memories hiking, swimming, sight seeing and lounging in hammocks!
If possible we will go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was my first visit to Isla de Ometepe to participate in the Fuego y Agua endurance events that were occurring the first weekend in February 2014. From the very first message exchange I could tell Sheri and Cristiano were going to be amazing hosts, yet they still managed to exceed my expectations!

The photos and descriptions of Finca del Sol do not quite do it justice. Its location is perfect and easy to find with a purple-gated driveway that is just off one of the few paved roads (so you can easily use a taxi/car/scooter). A quick walk up the drive and you are transported to another world off the road to one that is incredibly serene and bucolic. There are sheep grazing and a variety of other animals (during my visit there were many birds and geckos even a friendly parrot!). It feels like life in harmony. As you continue up the drive past the cabanas (all situated quite far away from each other for ample privacy), you start to enter numerous gardens including a fruit orchard and ... my favorite ... orchids(!) and other tropical flowers. I loved getting to have breakfast in this beautiful setting!

Breakfast, by the way, was amazing each day. And for the day of the race (the one day I did not get to enjoy breakfast at the finca), Sheri left me a thermos of coffee (still warm and amazingly delicious... I'll admit I'm a coffee snob and had doubts) as well as a lemon and some island honey so I could make a sports drink (which came in handy at mile 20). So incredibly thoughtful! I should add a quick note that I do not use sports drinks - they can be obtained on the island - this is a personal preference of mine.

For the rest of my meals, there are a variety of places serving delicious foods at reasonable prices all within walking distance. Sheri and Cristiano will also help arrange food deliveries if you wish to stay and relax on the farm.

I would consider myself lucky to get to stay here again and would highly recommend Finca del Sol to any individuals, couples, or even small families/friends looking for a quiet beautiful place to stay and feel completely harmonious with nature.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staciers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at half a dozen places in Granada, Ometepe, and Little Corn, and this was our favorite. Our cabin was spacious, lovely, comfortable, and quiet, and most important it was OURS -- even though we only stayed two days, it really felt like home. There's nothing like waking up in the morning, strolling up the hill for a wonderful breakfast (the best breakfast we had in the country), lazing around in the hammock on our porch with views of Volcan Conception as goats and sheep walk by, and then walking down to the lake for a swim. If you want a place to relax (but still within walking distance of everything you need on Ometepe), Finca del Sol is for you. It's also the best value we found in the country. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in the blue "Luna" cabin and loved it. Comfortable bed with mosquito net, nice pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegardener26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Republic of California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were surprised, after reading the rave reviews on Finca del Sol, to find that it didn't really match up to what we had read on Tripadvisor. Normally the reviews totally line up, but this was for us, not the case. I felt like we were semi-camping but paying for more. There was a small area in front of the cabin to sit but in not very comfortable chairs. If you wanted to sit inside the cabin it was always dark. You must feel comfortable with bugs if you are staying here, and we were ok with that. Having to walk about 10 minutes on a narrow path in the woods to find your hosts to ask any questions you might have, and if it's after dark, is less than appealing. We found our hostess, Sheri, to be less than gracious....we almost felt like we were taking up her time. Although on their sign, when you arrive it says B&B, which implies it comes with breakfast, well it does, but you pay for it and you have no choice as to what you are eating. Also we found the time that breakfast was served 7:15-8:30a.m to be a narrow window of when you could eat.You'll have to fend for yourselves as far any other meals and when we asked for suggestions of where to eat, we were handed the book in the room to read. On the day we checked out, our cabin was being cleaned even before the early 10:00a.m. check out time. Maybe it was just an off week for the hosts, but with that said, this is the first time ever I have been disappointed in a highly rated place to stay on Tripadvisor and this is also my first less than stellar review I have ever written on any place in the world I have stayed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank useetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snpOmetepe, Owner at Finca del Sol, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay at our place. Although we cannot really pin point your complaint. Our website /emails indicate what we offer for breakfast, and that we book the cabins as a bed & breakfast at one price, and cabin only for a discounted rate. (for the people that do not require breakfast) We prefer to leave it up to the individual to decide if they would like to partake or not. There are signs inside the cabin, and it is also covered in our emails that we do not have a restaurant that offers a menu choice as we are cooking for 4 - 6 people daily. Our breakfasts consist of a rotating menu between omelette & homemade bread, pancakes, and french toast as a main plate & they include fruit,coffee or tea which seems to satisfy most of our guests.

Notably the majority of our guests are up early to hike the volcano, kayak the river, etc...so the time we have breakfast available is the time that suits most folks. Of course, if the time is too early and you want to sleep in (we all do sometimes) there are restaurants within a 5 -10 min walk in the area that will be happy to provide a breakfast later in the morning. Ometepe does not have a supermarket that brings a variety of food constantly, and we do the best we can with the ingredients we have on hand.

As far as value goes, most Eco lodges in Nicaragua are a lot more expensive, and we honestly feel it is excellent value for money. Our private cabins include DVD players & screen, orthopedic mattress, mosquito netting, hot water (2/3 cabins), private bathroom, private porch, WIFI in the common area (slow, but usually working), free movies, purified water, housekeeping service and a tremendous amount of privacy....Which can be difficult to find, given most places have a lot of rooms in order to turn a profit.

We have been given a lot of compliments on the book in the cabin that you mention, as it allows people to explore on their own without anyone trying to “sell you anything”. We have tried provide clear information on what is available in this part of Ometepe in regards to activities, restaurants, bus & ferry schedules, how to navigate the island, what you should expect to pay for things, etc... Everyone comes hoping for different things, some plenty of rest, others lots of activities, etc...and we embrace everyones right to choose what they are up for. If our guests have any questions, or need help setting things up Luisa, Cristiano and I are happy to be of assistance, and am sorry if you felt differently. The information on restaurants & things to do in the area has been placed there to allow you to have more independence. Thank you for your comment and we wish you safe & happy travels . kindest regards, Sheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 5 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.4 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 37 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca del Sol

Property: Finca del Sol
Address: 350 meters from the beach, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol is pleased to offer private, spacious, eco friendly cabins in peaceful surroundings ! Our property is 12.5 Acres, and has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. Located in the tropical dry forest within the national reserve. Here you have an opportunity to view howler monkey, parrots and a variety of other interesting critters, flora and fauna! We welcome you to our refuge created in harmony within nature. An excellent location for those interested in exploring nature & the beauty that surrounds us, from the volcano to the river, to the beach, the possibilities are endless.The cabins are Eco friendly with comfortable with double or queen beds, mosquito netting and private bathrooms. Two have hot water. Each cabin has its own private porch and garden setting with comfortable chairs and hammocks boasting fantastic views of Volcano Conception and Lake Cocibolca! Our cabins are equipped with 21' screen with a DVD player and huge selection of films in English, Spanish and Italian, night light, fan, security box, daily maid service, purified drinking water, clean and hygienic composting toilet system and 100% solar powered.Included in the rate is access to WIFI, complimentary beach towels,and concierge services. We organize tours up both volcanoes, horseback riding and massages for our guests, as well as put them in contact with other local activities. Our organic breakfast is optional, boasting things like an Mediterranean omelet, homemade bread and fresh tropical fruit salad. Your hosts speak English, Spanish and Italian. We are centrally located in the village of Santa Cruz, within walking distance to 13 small restaurants and bicycle rentals. We are steps away from the trail to Volcano Madaras, and 10 minutes walk from the sandy beach. We are on the public bus route making it easy to get around for all your explorations.If you are looking for something a little different than the usual hotel experience, opt for the adventure, break the mold and dive into all that Ometepe Island and Finca del Sol has for you! See you on Ometepe!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing