We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddha Bliss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca del Sol Ecuo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buddha Bliss”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This little hideaway is just what the doctor ordered. Self sustainable eco-village of 3 huts provides intimate privacy, beauty and a chance to reconnect with nature. Homemade breakfast, central location to climb Isla de Ometepe and a great host to point you in the right direction for your holiday itinerary. Ask about the woodfire pizza nights, an experience to remember.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katejillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    67
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
254
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

These adobe, sun powered cabinas are beautiful. We stayed in the cabina named Sol. One can feel the labour of love that went into making this unit. There are no sharp corners in this round space with completely pleasing organic shapes. This is place truly deserves to be called Eco. The entire place is solar powered with a passive solar shower and composting toilet. These folks knew what they were doing; it is all artfully done and functions nearly perfectly. It is a matter of walking the walk. Sheri and Cristiano obviously take walking lightly on the earth seriously. The breakfasts were excellent and plentiful. I enjoyed the added bonus of visiting with other guests at breakfast.
The paving stone road is great for walking and we found getting to the restaurants recommended by our hosts very pleasant. And I heartily embrace their choices. By following their advice we had great meals on the island.
Yes, it is a hike to reception and the breakfast table, but it is a charming 350 metres.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at Finca Del Sol for three nights (Sunday-Wednesday) with my special lady friend it was exactly what we were looking for in Ometepe. The road from Moyogalpa to Santa Cruz is now paved (apparently it did not used to be), so the cab ride was pretty quick from the ferry landing. The property has three private cabins available to rent and we had a beautiful view of Volcano Concepcion from our hammock by the front door of our cabin. Sheri and Christiano were extremely helpful and even prepared gluten free breakfast for my girlfriend. The cabins were exactly as advertised and they also provide a tank of fresh and filtered drinking water in our room, which we had no problems with. Restaurants and beaches were in walking distance (10-15 min), and we hiked up Maderas one day, which is directly accessible from the property. There are plenty of bugs around, but the netting surrounding our bed did a great job keeping everything out of the bed. Little Morgan's is across the street, which was an interesting place to grab a drink. the only reason all of the ratings are not 'excellent' is because it's a rustic place and so it can only get so clean! But everything was very well done and very clean.

Would definitely go back to Finca Del Sol, Sheri and Christiano were very attentive and were so helpful with arranging day trips and transportation during our stay. Ometepe is a true gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our 3 days and nights with Sheri and Christiano, the dogs, and the flock of goats and sheep. The setting is ideal for nature-lovers because each cabin is in the dry forest but the villages of Santa Cruz and El Madronal are within easy walking distance. And so are the beaches. The cabins are rustic-looking but very comfortable and clean inside. The Italian-style tile was a nice touch and really made the bathroom very attractive and elegant. Nice touch! We really enjoyed the wide porch of our cabin, the Bamboo Lodge, with its comfortable chairs and hammocks. We spent hours sitting there observing beautiful Ometepe. This lodge has a spectacular view of Volcan Concepcion and the lake. But, I think we would have enjoyed any of the 3 lodges. Very good breakfasts in rustic but comfortable setting. Great advice from the friendly and helpful hosts. Magpie-jays are your constant companions here. Parrots fly overhead regularly. Iguanas always close. Highly recommended for nature-lovers. Special thanks to hosts

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest cabin, Bamboo Lodge, with biggest porch. But all looked nice and in lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingToucans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed a month ago in the larger caban and it was wonderful for our family of four! Our children (4&6) had a great time exploring the area and lounging around in the hammocks. Our place was very comfortable and was well designed. They do provide a yummy breakfast and is a great way to start off the day.
Sheri set up transportation from the ferry and back and it was all very easy and comfortable. From here, there are plenty of restaurants to walk to and if you want, it was easy to get around by bus with (understandably) very limited times. Sheri can also set up very reliable transport around the island for the harder to get to areas.
We are glad that we made it to the island and had a chance to stay at such a relaxing and charming place.

Room Tip: The larger cabin has a great view looking out onto two sides of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in November during a short trip to Nicaragua where we thankfully made it to Ometepe. Sheri and Christiano were friendly and very knowledgeable about the island and the activities that were available to us. We stayed in the lower cabin and but wished we had booked one of the other cabins that were set up higher on the farm as there wasn't much of a breeze where we were. A larger fan may have made it more bearable though I understand they operate on solar power that doesn't always cooperate. Breakfasts were great and staff was helpful, especially our driver Eddie who drove us all over.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Finca del Sol and loved it. We stayed in the Bamboo Cabin Lodge which I highly recommend out of the 3 options. It is beautiful inside with a lovely tile floor, nice tile details throughout the bathroom and plenty of space with fresh air flowing through the many windows. No AC but you hardly need it with all the windows (plus there is a small fan which we used at night to keep us cool). The two hammocks on the porch are ideal for relaxing in the morning after one of Finca del Sol's delicious, filling breakfasts (french toast, pancakes, or eggs with a big bowl of fresh fruit). It was nice to have the cleaning service daily- our little home was always clean when we got home from a day of adventuring around Ometepe.

Sheri & Cristiano were lovely hosts. Sheri helped us rent a motorbike just outside Finca del Sol's gates. The men we rented the bike from were very nice & helpful and it was a great way to see Ometepe. Sheri also helped us organize our hike of Volcano Maderas, with a very nice tour guide named Efrain. The hike is amazing and very easy to arrange from Finca del Sol. Sheri & Cristiano have a beautiful space: flora & fauna galore, great views, with good access to restaurants and the beach in Santa Cruz (easily accessible by foot). Enjoying breakfast in their outdoor garden space every morning was a great way to meet other travelers and hear about their favorite parts of Ometepe. We can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Bamboo Cabin Lodge is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 6 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.3 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 42 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca del Sol Ecuo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca del Sol Ecuo Lodge

Property: Finca del Sol Ecuo Lodge
Address: | 350 m. East of the Crossroads in Santa cruz, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol is a lodge on the foothills of Volcano Madaras, near beach, hiking and restaurants. We are Eco-friendly with off grid power (no blackouts) and dry composting toilets. Bungalow with orthepedic mattress, mosquito netting, private bathroom with hot water, fans, screened, DVD player and purified drinking water with incredible sunset views of volcano & lake. Located in the tropically forested UNESCO Biosphere Reserve (wildlife) we offer a comfortable and private lodging experience. Our property is 13 Acres, and has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. Located in the UNESCUO Biosphere Reserva you have an opportunity to view howler monkey, parrots and a variety of other interesting critters, flora and fauna! We welcome you to our refuge created in harmony within nature. An excellent location for those interested in exploring nature & the beauty that surrounds us, from the volcano to the river, to the beach, the possibilities are endless. We are located just after the split in Santa Cruz! This is a growing tourist hub for the island and offers many restaurants, motorbike rentals and is close proximity from the beach and kite-boarding school. If you choose to hike - Maderas Volcano begins from our back yard. Finca del Sol is also located in the tropical dry forest and a perfect place from which to explore the Maderas side of the island - where you can find kyack trips up the river Istain, ride a horse or explore forests/jungle, fauna and flora. The cabins are Eco friendly with comfortable with double or queen beds, mosquito netting and private bathroom with hot water. Each cabin has its own private porch and garden setting with comfortable chairs and hammocks boasting fantastic views of Volcano Conception and Lake Cocibolca! Our bungalows are equipped with 21' screen with a DVD player and selection of films in English, fan, security box, daily maid service, purified drinking water, clean and hygienic composting toilet system and solar powered.Included in the rate is access to WIFI, complimentary beach towels,and concierge services. We organize tours up both volcanoes, horseback riding and massages for our guests, as well as put them in contact with other local activities. Our organic breakfast is optional, boasting things like an Mediterranean omelet, homemade bread and fresh tropical fruit salad. Your hosts speak English, Spanish and Italian. If you are looking for something a little different than the usual hotel experience, opt for the adventure, break the mold and dive into all that Ometepe Island and Finca del Sol has for you! See you on Ometepe!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Finca Del Sol Ecuo Lodge Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing