We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco Friendly Lodge”
Review of Finca del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca del Sol
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eco Friendly Lodge”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My family of 8 adults was taken aback when we first arrived at Finca Del Sol when they found out there would be no air conditioning for 2 nights! Sheri found us two additional small fans to use in two of the cabanas. Unfortunately, they did little good with the heat at night and little air flow through the cabanas from outside. The porches had great breezes, but the windows just didn't catch the breeze. I must say Sheri and Cristiano have a wonderful little eco farm! The cabanas are decorated beautifully and the bathrooms are very nice with plush towels. It was all very impressive to know they have built these cabanas by hand with materials from the island. I rented these cabanas due to the overwhelming excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. I felt Sheri was not happy that we had chosen, on the spur of the moment at the dock in San Jorge, to use a local guide not on her guide list, who turned out to be awesome. He didn't speak English, but we fared just fine with communicating with him. Breakfast...starts at 7:15...felt we were imposing when we showed up early to enjoy hanging out with each other in one central location while waiting for breakfast....didn't mean to make her feel rushed, but we like to get up and get started early while on vacation. We actually thought we would use the wi-fi while waiting, but no one could get it to work on their devices either morning. The walk to the reception area wasn't a bother and I rather enjoyed the little pathway. In order to receive a 5 star rating, I feel they need to upgrade the cabanas to have better lighting, bedside tables or shelves, and most importantly fans that will generate more air movement for each bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogersla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snpOmetepe, Owner at Finca del Sol, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hello

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed our nature lodge / eco farm. It has been our pleasure to supply the plush towels, orthopedic beds, mosquito netting and all the little decorations that add to the overall ambiance of the cabins. As we do not advertise, or state in anyway that we have air conditioning on our website it is unfortunate that you were a little warm. In addition to the thatch roofing and adobe walls, most times of the year there is a stronger breeze that filters through the windows and keeps the cabins quite cool. With all due respect your family was quite a bit older and may have enjoyed something with a little more comfort like the a/c. One of the beautiful things is that Ometepe has something for everyone, from hammocks, dorms, basic hotel rooms, Eco lodges, farms to hotel rooms with a/c. In my humble opinion, when choosing a place to vacation it may be important to review websites and ask for more details if you have any questions.

It was only a matter of curiosity that I asked if your driver/guide spoke any English as I could see that you were struggling with the language when you checked in. As everyone is free to choose whom they would like to tour the island with we just want to see you happy and assist in anyway necessary to make your trip nice in Ometepe.

At Finca del Sol we are happy to offer complimentary wifi in the breakfast area between the hours of 7:15 – 5pm. (Our staff arrives at 7 am and in that time they need to clean up the floor, set the table, prepare coffee, fruit and generally get the kitchen ready for the guests to arrive for breakfast. It is easier for them if they do not have to work around anyone else.) With the wifi in mind it is important to recognize that it is dependent on the signal we receive from our provider. Sometimes we have a very good signal, other days slow. Depending on your personal device and the number of devices trying to connect at one time it may or may not work. That is one of our realities living in a remote island in Nicaragua. As most of our guests are here to unplug, rejuvenate, climb the volcano,have a horse ride on the beach,get away from all the stress in the western world the internet service does not seem to be much of a priority for them We are however sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you for your visit.
Kindest regards, Sheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    68
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
254
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place was a great get away that felt like a home away from home (except this home is much more amazing!) We rented two cabins at the last minute and Sheri and Cristiano were very sweet, helpful, and accommodating. They were perfect for our group. The property actually practices sustainable initiatives like solar power (which is available at night too because they have battery storage), composting toilets, as well as they produce some food on the finca. Like I said, Sheri and Cristiano were very accommodating, our breakfast and lunch plans kept changing accidentally and they were very helpful in meeting our needs. The packed lunches were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Had a good 2 night stay at Finca Del Sol. Sherri and Cristiano are great hosts. The rooms are nice and clean. Great to see Eco friendly places especially where water is so precious around there. We did not eat here but the food we did see did look amazing. They helped us booking taxis which was very helpful!!! Beautiful spot and would love to go back again!
Glen & Andrea

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glen_Doucet1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perquin, El Salvador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights in the yellow cabin. The cabin was comfortable, cozy, and well appointed, with a nice bathroom (complete with a very clean and eco-friendly composting toilet), hammocks, mosquito netting over the bed, and a tv with DVD player. The best part, however, was the orthopedic bed, which was by far the best bed I've ever slept on. Sheri and Cristiano were wonderful hosts, welcoming us in and giving us tips about the island, and even coordinating a hike on nearby Maderas volcano. Throughout our brief stay, it was very apparent how much the owners had thought about their guests and their comfort. I would highly recommend Finca del Sol for any travelers to Ometepe and I hope to get back one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend and I (in our mid 20s) stayed at Finca del Sol in the blue cabin. Immediately, we were greeted with hospitality from Sherri, offering us waters and introducing us to her family of pets. The cabin was clean and well kept. Living here for just those couple of days, made me cognizant of how wasteful one can be. Sherri, Christiano and the staff do a great job of showing that you can live sustainably AND comfortably. There is free drinking water in the cabin and a TV/DVD player. We took advantage of the hammock and lounge chairs outside of the patio to gaze at the stars at night; with little light pollution, there were thousands of stars to behold in the clear sky. Even more, there were hundreds of fireflies putting on an awesome light show for us on ground. During the day, there was an awesome view of Volcan Concepcion in the distance. When my boyfriend became ill, Sherri was very hospitable; with a background in Holistic nutrition, she brewed up an herbal tea and offered us bread and some lemons to ease his illness. They offered great recommendations on restaurants and were able to organize tours/taxis with ease. We enjoyed our stay at Finca del Sol and highly recommend you stay there as well! Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed in the Bambu Cabin with 3 of my friends. It's a magical spot overlooking majestic Volcan Concepcion. It was the perfect tranquil homebase for exploring the natural wonder of Ometepe. The cabin was spacious, clean, and beautiful, and the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. We had a fabulous time hanging out in the hammocks or lounge chairs sunbathing or watching the sunsets, or nighttime sky. The hosts prepared us a delectable breakfast everyday and helped us feel completely at home. The TLC they've put into their property is inspiring. I loved their coffee, homemade bread and jam, omelets. I especially loved watching all the hummingbirds buzz around the flowering vines at the beautiful breakfast area!

Sheri was very mindful in accommodating my friend with food allergies. The cabin is also an easy walk to other restaurants and a long beach. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccapatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Finca Del Sol for 4 nights. The cabinas had great character, were well looked after and were cleaned every day. The bed was very comfortable and there was a TV with a DVD player to watch movies on. The grounds and views were beautiful and the staff friendly and helpful. We had breakfast one morning and it was delicious, filling, healthy and prepared with love. We felt safe and comfortable. Lots of bugs despite the screened windows so bring your camera and bravery!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Cruz Hostel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca del Sol

Property: Finca del Sol
Address: | 350 m. East of the Crossroads in Santa cruz, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol is a lodge on the foothills of Volcano Madaras, near beach, hiking and restaurants. We are Eco-friendly with off grid power (no blackouts) and dry composting toilets. Bungalow with orthepedic mattress, mosquito netting, private bathroom with hot water, fans, screened, DVD player and purified drinking water with incredible sunset views of volcano & lake. Located in the tropically forested UNESCO Biosphere Reserve (wildlife) we offer a comfortable and private lodging experience. Our property is 13 Acres, and has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. Located in the UNESCUO Biosphere Reserva you have an opportunity to view howler monkey, parrots and a variety of other interesting critters, flora and fauna! We welcome you to our refuge created in harmony within nature. An excellent location for those interested in exploring nature & the beauty that surrounds us, from the volcano to the river, to the beach, the possibilities are endless. We are located just after the split in Santa Cruz! This is a growing tourist hub for the island and offers many restaurants, motorbike rentals and is close proximity from the beach and kite-boarding school. If you choose to hike - Maderas Volcano begins from our back yard. Finca del Sol is also located in the tropical dry forest and a perfect place from which to explore the Maderas side of the island - where you can find kyack trips up the river Istain, ride a horse or explore forests/jungle, fauna and flora. The cabins are Eco friendly with comfortable with double or queen beds, mosquito netting and private bathroom with hot water. Each cabin has its own private porch and garden setting with comfortable chairs and hammocks boasting fantastic views of Volcano Conception and Lake Cocibolca! Our bungalows are equipped with 21' screen with a DVD player and selection of films in English, fan, security box, daily maid service, purified drinking water, clean and hygienic composting toilet system and solar powered.Included in the rate is access to WIFI, complimentary beach towels,and concierge services. We organize tours up both volcanoes, horseback riding and massages for our guests, as well as put them in contact with other local activities. Our organic breakfast is optional, boasting things like an Mediterranean omelet, homemade bread and fresh tropical fruit salad. Your hosts speak English, Spanish and Italian. If you are looking for something a little different than the usual hotel experience, opt for the adventure, break the mold and dive into all that Ometepe Island and Finca del Sol has for you! See you on Ometepe!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing