We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Cruz Hostel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Paraiso(Isla de Ometepe)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Altagracia)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Playa Santa Martha(Isla de Ometepe)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loma del Socorro(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
26
38
11
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
38
11
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomvolcan concepcionconception volcanoamazing viewsdelicious foodislandcabshammocksometepenicaraguafanojokayakingtravelers
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Love, love love this gem! First off they had a solid wifi connection, you can put everything from bike rentals, meals, water bottle refills on a tab, so you can spend your cordobas on drinks at Little Morgans. My room slept 6+, but i had the room to myself after 3 guests checked out. The staff are extremely friend and outgoing. I loved having the wild life surround you, the beautiful view of La Concepcion and Las Maderas, I ate soup for dinner almost every night and the chicken soup had different local fresh veggies each time, to keep me regular. My room and sheets were cleaned frequently, the bathrooms and showers are lovely and made from local rocks and stones and were also cleaned frequently. You can get your laundry cleaned on site for cheap as well as get a "taxi" to explore the island. The common area, had tables and hammocks and was very welcoming! Id stay here again and again....also Super cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doll-Face-Thrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Finca Santa Cruz. The property has options ranging from dorms to double private rooms. We opted to stay in a double private room - No. 8 - and found it good for our needs. Private bathroom, clean sheets, two fans. The AC wasn't working, but we were informed of that ahead of time and they took the price from $25 usd/night down to $20 usd/night. At $10 apiece the place is a bargain and we found the air temperature cools down at night so AC really isn't that necessary.

The real value lies in the restaurant, views and the amount of stuff you can do in/around Santa Cruz. The town is centrally located between the volcanoes, so if you want to climb either one, it is a short walk to the base of Maderas and a quick drive to Concepcion. The hotel will set up tour guides and it cost us $15 usd/per person, which is a fair deal in my opinion. Maderas is a big volcano with a maze of trails and one could easily get lost. It is an 8 hour round trip hike and not for the faint of heart, but climbing down into the crater and swimming in the lake is an amazing feeling. Worth the leg burn on the way up.

The hotel also rents bicycles that were all in good shape and across the street there is a place that rents dirt bikes for $30/day, which we did and it was worth every penny. We circled the island that Maderas is on. I will say that the roads are more like rock roads than dirt and as a first time motorcycle rider, it was a bit challenging. Still, we got through and had a great time.

Other attractions in the area include the Agua de Ojos, which is a natural spring - great for hotter days. The waterfall near Merida is a short drive and the lake is a 3 minute walk. There's also a place not far down the road that rents kayaks and windsurfing gear.

There are other restaurants in the area, but the hotel has the best selection and quality in town. The omelette is amazing and so is the veggie curry. You really can't go wrong and the price is right. Most meals are around $4 for large plates of food and beers and drinks are cheap as well. Do check out Desnudes, the taco shack down the street toward the lake on the left heading toward Santo Domingo. Oscar is an expat and he and his wife run it. Very good tacos and he's full of helpful information.

Staff was friendly and helpful. We were actually going to move hotels to another part of the island, but just ended up staying a 3rd night at Finca Santa Cruz because it is easy and centrally located. They'll also fill up your water bottles for about $.40 usd, which is a pretty good deal.

The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because the water to our room shut off twice and once for about 8 hours. We talked to the staff and it came back on, but that was a little inconvenient. Room No. 8 is the only standalone private room though and none of the others seemed to be having issues. We were told it was something to do with the pipes running out to it. Fair enough.

Overall I highly recommend the place. Go and stay if you go to Ometepe - you'll have a great time!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem similar. No. 8 is located a little away from the property, but all others are right there.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed near Santa Cruz on Ometepe for just over a month and had many meals and drinks at this restaurant. They have a nice selection on the menu and the food is always good. As some have complained in other reviews, it can be slow (depending on how busy it is), but that is the same most places on the island as the food is always freshly prepared from scratch, so expect to wait longer than you would in US, Canada or Europe. Such is the way of the island and Nicaragua - No hay prisa! It is worth the wait, and why should anyone be in a rush here? I don't know :)

Our favorites were the Sopa de Vegetales y con Pollo (Vegetable and Chicken Soup) - huge serving!
Also the Chicken Stirfry, Garlic Chicken, Salsa Jalapeño con Cerdo (Pork with Jalapeño Sauce)... but everything we had was good, even the Papas Fritas (French Fries) too!

We had friends visit us and stay here, so we saw the rooms - they are clean,nice, and very reasonably priced to any of the comparable accommodations on the island. The private rooms have private bathrooms, and there are great views to be had from some of them. Hammocks and free wifi in the dining area.

The staff work hard to accommodate people and their needs by arranging tours, renting bikes, motorbikes and scooters. This was personally and also observing their interactions with many guests, as we were here alot during our stay. There are not many people that speak English on the island, but here they are striving to have their staff learn. The manager speaks English quiet well and is on-site many hours of the day. They have someone available to assist people 24 hours.
There is a tremendous view of Concepción volcano and the bay of the lake from this location.
It is located a short moto or bus ride from Ojo de Agua, kayaking, guided hikes of Concepción and Maderas, and the bus stop is right at the entrance. The buses run many times daily (except Sunday) to/from Moyogalpa and other places on the island.

Although we rented a house for our longer stay, we would stay here on a shorter trip and also recommend staying here for all the amenities they provide as well as the level of service and effort to serve people well.

Room Tip: There are private and shared dorm rooms with a view right outside your door that you can request.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achinookinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in room nr.3 with our parents who came to visit us. While some of the other dorms and rooms are quite hot (tin roof) and to avoid, this one is not and has a perfect view on the volcano and was just overall the best dorm we had on our trip through Latin America so far. For 8$ per person (sleeps 5 people) this is a great deal although we strongly recommend eating somewhere else more local to spread the wealth and to save on your budget. Food is anyways much better at e.g. Maria's Comedor (also Hospedaje) around the corner (come with some time, everything is prepared super fresh by Maria's daugther). Maria is a show herself.

Breakfast is also really good when you go downhill 5-10min in the direction of the beach (e.g.first Beach Shak Comedor to the right recognizable with a fruit stand and a super nice beach location).

Room Tip: Room number 3 with private bathroom (sleeps 5 people in bunk beds) with best view of the volcano
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We did not stay here. We stayed down the road, but ate at Finca Santa Cruz probably three times for breakfast and had dinner 6 nights.

There is a lovely view from the restaurant and some of the rooms have incredible views from the porch.

We thought the food was very good. The servers were very friendly and very attentive. We spent two or three hours there some evenings as we had no internet where we stayed. We would have drinks and use the internet, then eat dinner. We also met some interesting people there.

We would not hesitate to stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews